We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moega A Manaia Beach fales, Tafa Tafa Beach”
Review of Tafa Tafa Beach

Tafa Tafa Beach
Ranked #11 of 35 things to do in Apia
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Moega A Manaia Beach fales, Tafa Tafa Beach”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our extended family recently held our family reunion in Samoa, and one of our days was spent at the Moega A Manaia Beach fales in Tafatafa Beach, Upolu. What an awesome choice! The hosts - Aunty Mago and Mafa - are very friendly and were a pleasure to deal with. As soon as we arrived, they welcomed us all and showed us the facilities, including the beach fales, large dining fale and toilet/shower facilities. We were the only ones there and it really did feel like we were at a private beach! Mafa quickly arranged for the volley ball net to be set up and there was also ample space for a game of touch rugby for the guys. Overall a fantastic beach to spend the day with a large group, with fantastic hosts! Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank penny7800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kawerau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“one of my favourite beaches on Upolu”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice to find a beach you can swim at all tides. There are 4 fale operations along the beach, about 1 or so klms from the road.
You can stay the day or night ( or longer)
from right to left facing the water are
Maota maa 60 tala overnight with breakfast & dinner
Vaiula 60 tala " "
Brenda's ?
Moega Amanaia 50 tala overnight Breakfast 10/lunch 15 Dinner 20

all of them allow day visits and charge per vehicle / person
normally 5 tala per person or 20 per car and 50 for a van

you can get there on the Matautu bus for about 4 tala , the bus goes about 2 or 3 times in the morning from the flea market (you walk abou 15 mins from the bus to the beach) - ask the bus drivers which bus and where to get off

the beach is great and its nice being away from the road. It can get busy on the weekends
my favourite was Moega Amanaia - great facilities and very hospitable hostesses

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank amysmum578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“when you get here turn to the left”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

the orange fales on left...you will be greeted by lovely women...clean, friendly fales ...go when the tide is high so you get a decent swim...layed back, beautiful site

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hilde99_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise in Tafa Tafa”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were greeted by our beautiful hostess who allocated 4 beach fales with mats and pillows to relax in. She was very hospitable, keeping tabs on most things we did. We rang ahead and had a beautiful umu prepared for lunch. It was so easy, we just turned up with our drinks. There was also hot water for any of us if we required tea, coffee or noodles for the kids.
Unfortunately the rain decided it wanted to come out however it was still very warm. The water was beautiful to swim in. My 76 year old father enjoyed two 1 hour swims, something he would never do in NZ!!

Thank you for a fabulous day out :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to visit”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

wow this is real Samoa a must, the water is so clean and the sand so fine, we stopped for a nibble and drink

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BevCentralCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tafa Tafa Beach also viewed

 

Been to Tafa Tafa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing