We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Spot”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here. It has improved. It was quite good last time but even better this time. A bit tired and worn but spacious and comfortable. Cooler than down on the waterfront and of course less expensive. Breakfast is included and good. Tidy and clean. It is only a SAT$5 taxi fare to and from the town. I come to Samoa twice and year and these are my recommendations. Restaurants: On the waterfront you have Sails, Swashbucklers (Apia Yacht Club) and Paddles. Opposite the hotel you have Giordanas (say hi to Alex and Jill for me) and 50 metres down the road Scalinis. Up the road about 2km you have Cocobananas and next door The Curry House (Fijian Indian). These are my favourite restaurants. I also use another Indian restaurant opposite Farmer Joes supermarket but can't remember the name of it. 200 metres towards the waterfront from Farmer Joes is Treasure Garden Chinese restaurant..both of these are worth a visit. Bars: Cocktails On The Rocks/The Hole In The Wall is a great waterfront spot where you meet the local ex-pats, sea-dogs and old colonialists who share the latest gossip. At the Marina you will rub shoulders with yachties and cruisies and enjoy a beer at the Edge bar. Beaches: There is a tiny beach at the Salo Paulu??? marine reserve. A great place for snorkelling otherwise you need to go to the resorts. Drive from Apia East until you reach Liti Sani (you might want to stop off at Palau Cave??? for a swim on the way. Liti Sani area has four café/restaurants and a nice beach. Lots of young Aussies. 5km heading west and you have Seabreeze. Nice over the water restaurant to have a coffee or cocktail in a beautiful scenic spot. 20km west you have Sinalei Resort and Coconuts. Between them is a surfie resort and a bar/restaurant so there are 4 places to visit. On Saturday morning about 9am there is a dmeonstartion by the locql village on how to make food and plates and drink Cava. 20 mins west and there is Sa'Moana resort which has a great sea-water swimming pool and a small beach with its own coral garden. Drive west then north and you come to Aggie Grays beach resort....hope this helps...Chin Chin, Philip

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philipholdway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    98
    41
    13
    16
See reviews for
81
57
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We arrived in Samoa at 12.45am, we had a lovely lady waiting for us to drive to Insel Ferhrman, we arrived to a reception full of welcoming staff who where friendly and smiling, they carried our cases to our room, thank goodness for air conditioning.
Rooms are abit old fashion and need to be updated, but they where comfortable, cleaning is not up to scratch, no washing up liquid, no dish cloth, Kitchen, bathroom and toilet not cleaned daily with cleaners, dirty smelly mop used to do floors, bad smell left behind, towels and sheets clean.
Restaurant has lovely food, but no local dishes on the menu, we came to Samoa to try Samoan food. Staff are fantastic can not do enough for you, we had a wonderful stay, thanks guys.

Room Tip: We had garden view room, on ground floor, go for 2nd or 3rd floor for views, these's rooms all h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlp0963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Insel Fehrmarn a couple of years ago. Staff were obliging and friendly. Going on this experience, we elected to stay again. A sad mistake. Maintenance is apalling. The noisy fan took 2 minutes to fix using a knife from the dismal kitchen. The directory of services had been removed. The bath mat and wash cloths were removed after the first night and never replaced in our 4 day stay.
Each night there was a 'staff meeting' outside the lobby. Chatter and laughter continued until the last group of tourists had arrived at around 2 in the morning.
'Light meals' would have to be very light since since there were no utensils to use on the stove. The flowers in the room, towels on the bed of the previous visit had all disappeared. We were preparing to leave one morning when housekeeping arrived to service the room. We suggested they wait 5 minutes. When we returned 6 hours later they were just servicing the room. There was mould on the shower floor which could easily be wiped off. The bathroom ceiling was mildewed. This was highlighted by the rough coat of paint on the walls. Pity they like to paint over the plastic light switches, it makes them look even tackier.

Breakfast was the coup de disgrace. My partner still quips everytime he sees a 'banana muffin'. They seemed to be the 'piece de resistance'. Plates and spoons seemed to be in short supply. Milk beside the the cereals defied logic. You had to run around to the drinks area for milk. New supplies of milk in their carton were plopped on the buffet; but not opened. Milo was eeked out a few spoonfuls at a time in the same can. Insipid ice tea was provided beside the orange juice. I t looked like juice. Pity no label would have made things easier. Many buffet breakfasts provide top ups of tea and coffee. Sadly the wait staff felt more inclined to stand watch and wisk plates away than offer this service. The dining room receptionist was unsmiling and unwelcoming - merely demanding a room number.
Buffet fare was dismal. Yes, they had eggs a plenty, but little else. Pancakes had to be requested, they were not offered - too busy guarding the 'banana muffins'. Ham and sausages (hot dogs)were over salted and processed.
One morning we were pelted with a religious radio station . A tedious interview with constant 'amens' was over the top!
Other guests who tried dinner and lunch said the meals were excellent. These were not advertised and after the breakfast experience we shied away.
We love the pool; but had to chase the staff frequently to take away the 'closed for cleaning' sign. The sign would be there; but no cleaning in progress.
With Aggie Greys closed, there is no competition for package deal tourists. So sad to see a friendly happy place deteriorate.

Room Tip: As far away from reception as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlyingkiwiOamaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We'll me my partner and daughter stayed at insel for 8nights. When we arrived the man didn't even know who we were until 10mintues later then they had to get our room ready :/ the rooms were great. But the rates were abit too high for that. Our screen door for the balcony was broken. The bathroom is too small and needs a fan. The house keeper was a lovely lady. Breakfast was amazing. The Pool was awesome. Staff aswell bringing what we needed straight away. Doing laundry is abit annoying having to walk to the reception to get tokens. Kitchen in our room was disgusting. But everything else was great. Air on was brilliant. When we first arrived I thought the toilet was blocked but apparently that's how it is.. Water half way through the bowl lol. Don't think we will stay here again. But thanks to all the staff. Godless.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our stay at the hotel was pleasant, certainly enjoyed the air conditioning. The restaurant was good and the chef did a great job at catering for our vegetarian needs. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we would stay there again. I would suggest a better system for cleaning the rooms, rather than asking guests whether they wanted their room serviced - instead just do it every day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 727Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Insel in July 2013 and loved every minute. Every staff member was great, they are all very friendly and nothing was a problem at all. The chef in the restaurant went out of his way when we asked for things not on the menu. We ate at the restaurant almost every day and we love the place.
The pool is great, the gardens well maintained, our room was very clean, plenty of hot water in the shower, everything in the room was fine including a great bed and even the maintenance people who are constantly updating the hotel were pleasant and worked only during the mid day period.
Check in and check out was very quick and smooth with no dramas. The free Shuttle bus was great and so was the excellent free breakfast.
My wife and I will go there again next year and we are already looking forward to it.
Many thanks to everyone at the Insel for making our time so enjoyable and perfect.
This is one of the few hotels that is very safe in Samoa. Its away from any possible landslide, Tsumami, rivers, its built on solid rock and its built from concrete so it has withstood all earthquakes and cyclones. Many thanks to all for a great holiday - Gary & Chris

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garychris1426473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

our experience at this hotel was not nice, the room had a bad smell, the fridge was very load and had no shelves inside, the toilet ran continually, and there were coach roaches .
Watch out - Our transport from the airport to ferry on to our other hotel was Polynesian xplorere be warned they over charge, in total we were charged nearly 900.00 tala if we had taken taxis it would have cost just under 400.00 Tala so let your friend know they over charge

Room Tip: don't use Polynesian Xplorer for transport, as they over charge, from airport to hotel 111. Tala...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pommyjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apia hotels
2.0 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
2.7 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#15 of 30 in Apia
154 reviews
5.2 mi away
Samoa Tradition Resort
1.0 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insel Fehmarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insel Fehmarn Hotel

Property: Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Address: Cross Island Road, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Insel Fehmarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Insel Fehmarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Insel Fehmarn
Insel Fehmarn Apia
Insel Fehmarn Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing