We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE HOTEL”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Do not stay here this hotel is SOOO dated most thing in our room didn't even work! , we had soggy toilet paper on the floor of our bathroom when we arrived and even after asking the cleaner to clean this up and still remained there the hole 7 days of our stay making me look closer at how UNCLEAN our room was. Staff have no idea about what the hotel offered and did not offer and I while trying to book there rental car I kept getting told that to talk to a certain person but no one could tell me where that person was despite the rental car just sitting there unused for the hole time. the staff were very rude toward guest and when we went to leave there where a number of things charged to our room which we did not have or use and took a VERY long time to get it sorted out

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    98
    41
    13
    16
See reviews for
81
57
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Otaki, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent safe, restaurant was good, bit more pricey then most places around town, but was great food overall. The pool was always clean, tidy and always open for a swim. Overall the place was great and we had a lo t of fun, eve at the hotel , so I really do think its a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and all rooms on the 2nd floor were great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ema G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent staff,a credit to their employer. Some of the best food I have eaten in the restaurant. Internet connection poor. Didn't watch TV because reception was appalling. Clean & tidy but building maintainance definitely required.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Christine is fabulous and the true definition of what a Hotel Manager should be. The property is pretty shabby. It is very clean but really needs an urgent paint job and some heavy maintenance on some of the structure things. It basically needs to be modernised and the owners need to fork out money to make money
Hope Christine and her awesome team get paid well because they deserve it. The housekeeping staff are gorgeous and actually care about your comfort. Meals are pretty good but there are so many places nearby so you can eat anywhere
The rooms are dated and please get a remote for the T.V. lol its a pain to get up on holiday:) Great movies that are free
Oh yeah got an amazing brief on what the hotel has to offer when we first arrived and it was so welcoming and very professional. Really
Really wrapped with our stay there. Everyone relaxed and they do everything to make your stay positive.LOVE SAMOA, Beautiful place, lots to do

Room Tip: There are no lifts and we were on the 3rd floor, so stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

During our visit for Apias Independent day celebration we stayed at Insel, we enjoyed our time on the island along with the help of the friendly staff of Insel. the rooms were clean and well kept by maid services each day. Food is great and delicious from their continental breakfast to dinner menus in the evening. Fun pool parties every evening with the bar always being open. the hotel is very convenient to town, hospital and local stores which is just a few steps away. Thank you to the management and staff of Insel Fehmarn Hotel, we look forward to next years trip. Alofaaga mai S.O.F,.I.A.S.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAYAIEROME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My family had a good stay at insel, but only because the staff(christine,trish) made our stay very good. The only thing it is very out of date,simple but clean. The pool was out of order,which made our stay hard. We were looking forwards to the pool. I would stay their again but in a better room.thanks.First timer to samoa.

Room Tip: Don't go budget, spend a little more for comfit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My family and I stayed at Insel 4 days (end of April 2013), and had a wonderful time.
Thank you to Christine and staff for your warm and welcoming service - something as simple as a warm smile goes a long way.
The rooms are spacious, perfect for a big family as we had connecting rooms.
I would definately come back and recommend great location, great value at an affordable rate.
Fiona Onetaka

Room Tip: connecting rooms for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apia hotels
2.0 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
2.7 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#15 of 30 in Apia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#10 of 30 in Apia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.2 mi away
Samoa Tradition Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insel Fehmarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insel Fehmarn Hotel

Property: Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Address: Cross Island Road, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Insel Fehmarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Insel Fehmarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Insel Fehmarn
Insel Fehmarn Apia
Insel Fehmarn Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing