We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Friendly & Roomy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Friendly & Roomy”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Lots of room. Own cooking facilities. Bit dated and worn but clean and comfortable. Good for price. Breakfast included was good. Accross the road is a fantastic Pizza restaurant called Giordinas. Down the road 100 metres is a great Italian restaurant called Scelinis. Up the road a couple of KMs is a good curry restaurant. If you miss the shuttle a taxi to town is cheap and plentiful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipholdway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    99
    41
    14
    16
See reviews for
82
58
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Penni-Girl Productions was in Apia for the Teuila Fest. and Raggamuffin concert with a group of entertainers from American Samoa. We stayed at the Insel and were treated to such great service. The staff was friendly and professional and always had those beautiful Samoan smiles to greet us. Special shout outs to Tricia in reservations, Christine & Fili at the front desk, Palo in the restaurant, and Sa'o for driving everyone around. Thank you Insel, you are now the official hotel for Penni-Girl Productions!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penni-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

After reading the previous reviews we were prepared and were not expecting a top end resort. The fabric of the hotel is a little tired but we couldn't fault the welcome or the service. The full buffet breakfast included was a great start to the day and the pool always spotless. We found the meals at night very tasty and the kitchenette in the room handy for the evenings we cooked our own dinner. The staff during our 12 day stay couldn't have been more helpful and we used the free shuttle in to Apia several times. A good, quiet area with in walking distance of town if you are active. They did have trouble, though, at checkout processing our Mastercard - luckily we also had Visa which worked.

Room Tip: Garden room patio gets hot from the concrete drive outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KmagsatCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Of the three hotels we stayed at this was by far the best. Initially we weren't too impressed. The fittings and rooms were a little dated. TV had no remote. It was clean!

We had complimentary breakfast. This was nice but after five days of the same menu it lacked variety.

As our trip went on and trying other hotels we really appreciated Insel friendly and efficient staff. As well as the peaceful and pest free location. Security was excellent. It was close to town, with a shuttle service every two hours. Parking was right out in front of building.

Great views from the third floor. If it was refurbished it would be excellent! Would stay there again.

They provided self service laundry facilities. A reasonably private swimming area with a decent size pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I traveled to Apia for work reasons. As a result I was only there for 2 days, but the Insel Fehmarn staff made sure I had a lovely stay! They helped me a great deal with organising transport to appointments around town and any other questions I had. I also really enjoyed the buffet breakfast where the scrambled eggs, pancakes and fresh local fruit was a highlight.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CarloIacovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Satyed 4 nights at this Hotel. On arrival at the Airport no shuttle service and then were informed that we were not booked into the Hotel. It finally got sorted once they decided which room we were going into.
- Shuttle Service was not running on the days we requested
- Pool Closed for maintenance
- Rooms - filthy. On check had to ask for clean sheets and a toilet roll
- Breakfast a joke
- Watch their Taxi fares

Would not return to Samoa as I found them quite rude. They should be glad of the Tourist dollar coming into their Country.

The only upside - I returned with a "Tan"

Room Tip: It would appear that everyone stays at Aggie Greys
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trotted_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in a 1st floor room (garden view room) for 8 nights. The place was clean and tidy and a reasonable price. We found the free hotel shuttle into the town centre useful; when it wasn't running it was a cheap 5 tala taxi ride into town. The staff were always very friendly and obliging. The rooms were serviced daily. We found the room kitchenette to be very useful when we didn't feel like going into town for lunch. A good (free) breakfast was served daily. The range of food offered was more than adequate. We spent a lot of time swimming and relaxing poolside. Don't expect 5 star luxury but if you want a clean and tidy room with most of your home comforts then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Our first floor room well away from the road was quiet and had a good view all the way into downtown...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank John-Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apia hotels
2.7 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
2.0 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#15 of 30 in Apia
154 reviews
5.2 mi away
Samoa Tradition Resort
2.7 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#10 of 30 in Apia
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insel Fehmarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insel Fehmarn Hotel

Property: Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Address: Cross Island Road, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Insel Fehmarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Insel Fehmarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Insel Fehmarn
Insel Fehmarn Apia
Insel Fehmarn Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing