We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Affordable Stay in Apia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Affordable Stay in Apia”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is my second stay at Insel Fehmarn Hotel in Apia and I would stay again. The quality of the food has always been great, and it was even better this time around. You know when the food is good when the locals frequent the restaurant. All the staff at the hotel are brilliant and incredibly helpful. The rooms are dated but they are clean and house keeping is always happy to improve your stay.

The staff at the front desk are always polite and helpful and make sure that you get to where you need to go, they also look after you by making sure you don't pay more than you should for a taxi fare. They also have a complimentary shuttle that goes into town 4 or 5 times a day and drops you off at the Samoan Tourism Authority. You can also be picked up from here to get a lift back to the hotel. They will also help you to make sure you have confirmed your ride to the airport for your trip home. You can also buy LavaSpot internet cards from the front desk and coverage is pretty good on the 2nd floor.

The complimentary breakfast was excellent and filling. There was always fresh fruit, toast, freshly baked muffins, pancakes, French toast, eggs, bacon, sausages plus Samoan and regular porridge. The Insel Iced Tea was excellent and just what you need on a hot day.

This is not a resort, but more like an old fashioned family run motel with the benefits of having lots of staff on board to help you out and keep the place clean and orderly.

If you want a resort, there are plenty of other choices in Apia.

But for the prices they charge for rooms, this is an ideal place for short and long term work and research stays, also great for large and extended families. The Superior Room is great as they have new and quite air conditioning units, the garden view rooms are a little noisier. All rooms have fly screens to keep the bugs out but a few mosquitoes make there way in, however, room service has insect repellent. Small ants are about but this is a hot and humid Pacific Island so you will encounter these all over the islands irrespective of where you stay.

The pool area is small but comfortable with a shaded areas with tables to sit and read. There are also tennis courts that gets regular use by guests. The hotel is surrounded by gardens so you get to see some of the local flora and fauna not far from town.

Overall, an affordable and comfortable stay in Apia.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor superior room as they have new air conditioning units which are super quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori_NZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    100
    41
    15
    16
See reviews for
82
60
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kapolei, Hawaii, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My family and I really loved our experience. Rooms are dated but well worth the money. Suggest you get a 1st floor room if your not able to walk up stairs to the 3rd floor due to no elevator. There is a staff member name Palo in the dining room that has made our trip great due to his helpfulness and service.

Thanks again Palo.

Insel Management: give this Palo a raise and have him run your hotel.

Room Tip: Thanks again Palo
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Perfect service nothing was too much trouble there and love the door opening you got and the warm welcome on entry. could not hav asked for a better plac to stay on our 5 days in samoa and the staff are a credit to their owners of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you dont want to get hooked into the resort mentality this place offers clean comfortable affordable accommodation.
The complimentary breakfast exceeded expectations providing cooked as well as continental options.The hotel provides a shuttle service 2 hourly into Apia but also has a rental car for SAT90 per day (left hand drive which makes overtaking 'interesting').
Our maid was lovely and the staff were very helpful though sometimes tending a bit towards optimism in terms of time frames eg for delivery of internet access cards. The room was large (2 double beds)with both fan and air con, a kitchenette and outdoor furniture on individual porch. The local beer, Vailima, was delicious and the most affordable drink option being very reasonably priced in the hotel restaurant. Felt the restaurant menu could have had a few more snack type options eg bowls of wedges.
There is a local convenience store right next door and an excellent curry house 5 minutes drive/ 20 minutes walk up the Cross Island road.
The hotel has a pool which appeared well maintained - toward the end of our stay this was closed for maintenance but the hotel had arranged for guests to be able to use the Aggie Gray pool instead. Excellent snorkelling available at Palolo Deep Marine Reserve in Apia which was only a SAT5 taxi ride away.
The Giordanos Pizzeria across the road became a home away from home (best pizza outside of Italy!) They even provided me with a plate of coconut free of charge when I said that I hadnt yet had any on this stay.
We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissTinkerbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a 3 star hotel by Australian standards. It is a hotel which is neither new nor old. It is however, a very good hotel in many ways. First and foremost it is clean and comfortable. The bed was great for a good nights sleep, and I stayed for 12 nights. I found the food was very good and particularly enjoyed the steak and seafood.

But to my mind the outstanding feature was the staff. You would be indeed a very hard marker not to give them a big wrap. Everyone from the reception staff, the room service staff, the wait staff in the restaurant, the bell hop guys, everyone, were so helpful, friendly and of good disposition. They went out of their way to assist and help, so what more could you ask for? They deserve everything that comes their way and more. It doesn't seem right to single any out so I wont, they were all very very good.

The owner Adele not only runs a very good hotel, but is a singer par excellence. If she is there one night when the music is on, get her to sing "Crazy" .

After a 12 night stay, I was more than happy with may Samoan accomodation

Room Tip: I stayed in a top floor room, nice balcony and good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Insel.Thankyou for all help and hospitality from all the staff.Everything from the rooms to the food and staff was good.Friendly housekeepers.
Central to everything.We remember you especially when celebrating Samoa's 50 years Independence.We had a great time! So coupled with you warm welcome and stay has been a memorable trip.Thankyou once again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

what can i say, i really love going to this hotel.
its close to everything and down town.the rooms are comfortable and homely.there is a kitchen in the room and you can cook your own food and small fridge.the rooms are always clean and the staff go out of there way to help you all the time.
every day the house keepers come and clean and do your room and the girls are so honest and happy.
i have seen another review of this hotel and can i say that i have left valueables out and never once in all the times i come here > has anything been touched or taken.i left chocolates out for the cleaning staff last time and they didnt even touch them.
i have a family and the kids love the pool and we all love the buffet breakfast in the mornings.if there is something not there , they will do there best to get it.
i have stayed at other hotel in samoa and for me .....this is the hotel i return to when i come back.
for its service, honesty, and the staff are always happy and really go out of there way. it is really value for money and we love coming here.
a big thankyou to christine , who always goes out of her way to make everyone happy and really enjoy there stay.
they even have car hire now at the hotel , which was only 90 tala , which was a great car to travel around the island .
we will be coming back for sure ,

Room Tip: rooms are all good that we have stayed in. very honest staff that go out of there way for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tevaga76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apia hotels
2.0 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
2.7 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#15 of 30 in Apia
154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#10 of 30 in Apia
245 reviews
5.2 mi away
Samoa Tradition Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insel Fehmarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insel Fehmarn Hotel

Property: Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Address: Cross Island Road, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Insel Fehmarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Insel Fehmarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Insel Fehmarn
Insel Fehmarn Apia
Insel Fehmarn Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing