We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robert Louis Stevenson Museum

Robert Louis Stevenson Museum
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This was the poet's home for the last few years of his life and his burial site.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The museum house is very nice and has many interesting items on display. The best part of the visit was the Kava Ceremony and island entertainment. The sourounding grounds and native flowers are beautiful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    251
    53
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

It was definately a step back in time. We were suprised to see so many of his original books just laying around inside different parts of the house.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tandk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

It was really educational and inspiring as it taught us a bit more about how to treat people :) teach about the family and showed how long a person can live on for could see how good he was to samoan people and the host we had was amazing and beautiful

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tamla w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Museum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

It was amazing, educational, and very fun. We saw many antiques. It was beautiful. I really enjoyed learning about the family and where he lived and how he lived. It was inspirational. We learnt things we would've never found out and all while we had fun. Our host we had was absolutely amazing. She was funny and told us many stories.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ParyseStyPayHorLikSn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dont have one
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“brilliantly preserved house and museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Really worth a trip to this beautiful house. Very friendly and knowledgable staff guided us around before we walked up the hill to RLS's resting place for sunset.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lusquee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Louis Stevenson Museum also viewed

 

Been to Robert Louis Stevenson Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing