We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
279
117
31
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
117
31
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pancakes garden fales budget hotel hire cars pool table medical elective place to stay air con swimming pool home away from home interesting people family room security guard cross island road every morning taxi rank breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quiet location a 20 minute walk from Apia sea front. Good choice of restaurants within walking distance. Car hire is available on site and the staff are more than happy to book tours etc. Although our room was double booked for 1 night of a 6 night stay, Claus the hotel owner was brilliant in providing alternatives and could not have been more helpful. The staff were so friendly it was a pleasure to stay. The breakfasts were excellent and nothing was too much trouble if an extra helping was requested. The kitchen was available to prepare your own meals. The rooms, although basic were clean and comfortable however the pillows were poor and there was a shortage of electrical sockets. Always find it frustrating when WiFi is extra and it was not available in the room. Nonetheless would not hesitate in staying again if revisiting Samoa.

Room tip: Chose an air condition room with ensuite
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Talofa lava Peter,

Faafetai lava for your kind review. Your positive comments regarding our staff and breakfast is very much appriciated. I will certainly look into the issue with the pillows you mentioned. All the best and once again thank you for staying with us.

Regards


Claus Hermansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018

We couldn't have asked for a better experience at the Samoan Outrigger for our 6 week medical elective. The family at the Outrigger truly create a home away from home environment and the hotel is a mere 5 minute walk away from Tupua Tamasese Meaole Hospital. It is a 5 tala taxi ride into town and within walking distance of many local restaurants.

The staff are outstanding, incredibly helpful and knowledgable about the local area. All of the front desk staff are happy to call taxis or help with enquiries at other locations throughout our trip (thanks Nevah!)

We stayed in one of the upstairs triple share rooms which was lovely and spacious. The rooms are cleaned daily and the shared bathroom facilities were kept in excellent condition.

The included daily breakfast is fresh and delicious each morning. There is a barbeque and kitchen to cook evening meals if you wish to do so. We also rented our hire cars through the front desk without a hitch - great, reliable cars at competitive prices. Thank you Claus for organising so many day hires at the last minute for us - we greatly appreciated it!!

If you are planning a trip to Samoa there is no better place to stay.

Fa'afetai lava!
We will miss you all

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Talofa Holly,

Thank you so much for the nice card you left behind and for this wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure having you guys here. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Samoa. We wish all of you all the best.

Faafetai tele lava,

Much alofa

The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Relaxed atmosphere and good facilities. Maybe a 5 tala taxi ride to town. Staff were super helpful and you can rent a car directly from them, highly suggest this as a taxi tour for half the day is the same cost as renting a car. The pool was a nice feature and was well kept and clean. Definitely recommend for travellers and couples who want a cheap, clean and central accomodation.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Krish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear Krish,

Faafetai tele lava for your kind review. It was our pleasure to have you guys here. All the best and please visit us again.

Regards

Claus Hermansen
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Perfect Stay

We stayed in the Hotel for 9 Days and we really loved it!
The House is so beautiful with high ceilings and old history pictures wich are really interresting to look at.
The Staff is so amazing kind helpful and loveley. Especially Judy helped us to organize Trips and gave us all advices we needed. The Staff is absolutely gorgeous and we would stay in the hotel again for sure. They have a nice pool and a beautiful garden with fales too.
We really recommend to stay here you will feel like home away from home.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank alexandrajasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear Alexandra,

It was a real pleasure having you here. Thank you so much for choosing the Samoan Outrigger Hotel and for taking the time to upload this wonderful review. Your positive comments regarding Trudy has been forwarded to her and she sends her regards.

Faafetai lava

Regards

Claus Hermansen
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

We were quite pleased with our stay here. The front desk receptionist was very friendly & accommodating, especially since we walked in without a reservation. She even gave us a great suggestion for dinner within walking distance. They still had a room available with air conditioning, which was a treat. Breakfast was nice, beside a pretty little garden & pool. My husband remarked that he kept expecting Miss Marple to sit by us with her knitting. The only drawback was that our room seemed to be below the office, so there was quite a bit of walking and chairs moving since they were working. Otherwise it was great.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lmiller808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Talofa Lmiller,

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The old colonial building certainly provide us with a very unique atmosphere.
We are aware of the timber flooring and do our best to keep the noise down. Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding breakfast, pool area and our garden. It was our pleasure having you guys here.

Faafetai Lava,

Regards

Claus Hermansen
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews