We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the hotel and love Samoa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a fantastic time in Samoa and great stay at the outrigger. The staff were friendly and it was nice and quiet so had a relaxing time after a busy day out. Food and drinks were good would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 404 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The Samoan outrigger was just ok. Nothing great but its not bad. The lowlights were I wasnt too pleased with the cleaness of the pool. I may of got bites from it. Some rooms have aircon, others dont and the aircon was way way too loud when it was on ... A downer if your a light sleeper, which im not, So that in itself is an indication of how loud it was! Dont leave the hotel unless you taxi as it may not be safe. dogs roam around the street that are dangerous But the highlights are the staff are nice and accomodating. Its good budget accomodation.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahshmerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Talofa lava,

Thank you for reviewing our property. In December (2011), January and February 2012, which is our slow season we had lots of improvements done here at the Outrigger. Some of these improvements are:

Installation of new main pump to improve water pressure in the whole building.
Installation of new pool pump, which improved the water flow in the pool.
New and larger deck around the pool/breakfast area and new pool lounge chairs.
We renovated all rooms with ensuite and AC. Part of this renovation was to install new split AC units (We only have 1 room left which we didnt manage to do before the busy season. This room is up for renovation in November 2012).

Over the past 4 months we have been handing out "Feed Back Forms" to all our guests and we are getting very good comments. So I was very surprised to see this review. However I appriciate that your stayed here 1 year ago (October 2011).

We keep trying to improve our property and when slow season starts in a few months more improvements will be done. Some of these improvements are also based on the "Feed Back Forms". However I do believe that you would find the rooms and the surroundings improved since you stayed her last time.

Once again thank you.

Yours sincerely

Claus Hermansen
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Staying at the outrigger was great, it was a perfect spot to relax, it was nice and quiet, and staff there were friendly. Only a 15 min walk to town or 2mins in a cab. Also car hire was available and most importantly vailimas from the bar.

Room Tip: the fales were great, very quiet despite being relatively close to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mijnvakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

the owner Claus was amazing, we were not happy with our room so he arranged at no extra cost to us better situation. He was very pleasant and could not have done more. The grounds were very tidy. the traffic noise was not so bad, good restaurants nearby. look out for the dogs, they are a problem.

Room Tip: air-condition rooms are very small, and it is a long walk into town. shared kitchen is good and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger with our two sons aged 2 years and 5 months for 4 nights when we first arrived in Samoa.

We had the family room and it was beautifully clean and spacious, with a fan to help keep cool. They provided a portacot which was essentially brand new (no cotton cover sheet though - so bring your own). Our room had a fridge in it which was really useful for keeping food (ants can be a problem in Samoa) and as they provide a kitchen and BBQ for guest use it made it a great place to stay if you were on a tight budget as you could avoid eating out all the time.
The beds only had foam mattresses (rather than innersprung) on wooden slats which my husband found very uncomfortable and he found it difficult to get a good nights sleep as a result. I am much smaller (and lighter) and was fine with the foam mattress provided. Also, Claus rearranged some bookings so that we could stay the 4 nights that we wanted, which was much appreciated.

The location was OK, it was a 3 tala trip to the wharf or 5 tala into town so is close to central Apia. It is on the cross island road, which was a little noisy at times but on the plus side it was walking distance to a supermarket, ATM and two good restaurants (Giordanos and Scalini's). The swimming pool was great, clean and in good condition and the gardens were lovely.

There was some building work going on in the grounds which made putting the little ones down for their afternoon naps a challange on the first day, but the next day I had a polite word to the builder and he knocked off for lunch as I had told him that I had just put the toddler down to sleep - so I found them very accomodating. The rooms were kept clean, and were serviced (beds made, clean towels, rubbish bins emptied) while we were out for the day.

The staff were excellent - polite and friendly and they also provided local knowledge. We hired their car for a day trip and Celeste on front desk recommended a beach to us that met our requirements for "beautiful and deserted" (BTW it was Tafatafa beach, we spent a half day lounging in a beach front fale, swimming and playing football with our son on the big grassed area then went on to Lalomanu). She was also very sweet with my boys, and made us feel very welcome. They provided an upright car seat free of charge, which was older and in poorer condition than what would meet safety standards in NZ but was better than nothing. If you are picky or very concerned I would bring your own.

The breakfast was nice and we never left hungry, but was not as extensive as I had elsewhere. The pancakes were yummy, the papaya porridge a new experience (also yummy) and they even served us breakfast late on the day we arrived (we had got in at 1am and so didn't wake until 10am)... this was appreciated.

When researching for our trip I noted that some of the earlier reviewers complained about barking dogs waking them at night - this happened to us too. But stray dogs are very common in Samoa and so I'm sure this is not a problem unique to the Outrigger, but it is worth noting that it didn't happen to us elsewhere.

Overall it wass an great base for our few days in Apia and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laidbacknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We recently stayed at the Samoan Outrigger for two weeks and were more than satisfied with....the cleanliness, the daily delights at breakfast, the warmth, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, the daily joy of returning to a fresh made room with different blossoms placed in our room. We would be happy to return....in fact we did! This is not a "flash" hotel, but is very clean and well run. Thank you for a grand holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeLy346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

"Stayed at the Outrigger once again and had a wonderful stay. 100% clean rooms, great facilities and friendly staff who are always ready to assist you. Breakfast is good with lots of fresh fruit and with a daily special such as eggs, fruit cocktail, pancakes etc. Will definitely return again."

The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and believe in doing all possible to make your stay and enjoyable experiece, they even have a car rental service that make life so easy.
We had a great time and are already planning our next trip to the Outrigger and Samoa.

Room Tip: This trip we stayed in an upstairs room which was more like a Hotel suite pleanty of space to spread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
1.4 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.2 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 29 in Apia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#15 of 29 in Apia
159 reviews
17.6 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
409 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoan Outrigger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Address: Cross Island Road | Motootua, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Apia
Price Range: $55 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samoan Outrigger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is located in Motootua only 15 min. walk from downtown Apia and only 5 minutes walk from the national hospital. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel offers budget accommodation "with a touch of style" Clean and affordable rooms with ensuite and without ensuite. We also have traditional Samoan garden fales overlooking the swimming pool. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is surrounded by a lush tropical garden. All rooms with ensuite and AC renovated in February 2012. Come and enjoy a cold Vailima on our new pool deck.WI-FI available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Samoan Outrigger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Hotel Apia
Outrigger Apia
Apia Outrigger
Samoan Outrigger Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing