We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but tasty”
Review of Bistro Tatau

Bistro Tatau
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Smart casual dining in cool air conditioned comfort. Full bar and the most extensive wine list in Samoa served by professional wait staff. Global roaming menu with daily specials sourced from local suppliers and markets. Are you by yourself? - No worries - welcome, we have a table just for you. Have a group of up to 40 for sit down? No problems - come on in and enjoy our private/ VIP dining room. Unique menus created for your special events. All food allergies and dietary preferences catered for. Decor includes a wide range of Polynesian artworks on display. It doesn't get better than this!
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Expensive but tasty”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This restaurant would probably be visited only on special occasions for most. Its not cheap and the portion sizes are that of high end restaurants overseas but, it is definitely worth a try.

The food was tasty and the choices are plentiful. Desert would probably have to top the night having had a peanut type cake.

Tasty food, nice design, attentive service and very nice owners. Overall, a great restaurant to try.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Enelenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    43
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best in Samoa!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ross and his partner have made Bistro Tatau the premier restaurant in Apia. The food and service are first-rate and they have a wonderful wine list. Also, one the few places in Samoa that actually pours a "regulation" mixed drink. Yes, it's a bit pricey, but you defintely receive a first-class dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KBG93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A restaurant fit for celebrities”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't expecting huge culinary delight in Samoa so Bistro Tatau took me by surprise. I was delighted to find a 2007 Framingham Riesling on the wine list. The delicious creamy texture and stone fruit notes had me wanting to go back and clean out their cellar for days after dining. The waiters here are well presented and barefoot. Once again they were attentive but I must say they were the most polished hospitality staff that I came across on the island. The food was also exceptional. I don't think we are the only ones who think this place is the best because a couple of celebrity chefs were spied dining here later in the week....

Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Quality dining experience in downtown Apia”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I ate here on Friday night as we had heard so many great things. Having spent nearly two weeks in Samoa we decided to spoil ourselves and satisfy our craving for some real fine dining food.

We were not disappointed. From the moment we entered, the service was attentive and friendly without being overbearing or intimidating. We dined in the company of our 2.5 year old, who occupied himself with his iPad (no parenting tips required - he had eaten his diner earlier). Although we were probably not the clientele they were used to, we felt welcome.

I always find it hard to chose one dish, so settled on two entrees - coconut crumbed prawns with mango chilli jam and a pork belly salad. My wife ordered a vegetarian ravioli. All the dishes were perfect. The pork belly salad was almost a main size and perfectly balanced, making for a deliciously light yet highly satisfying meal. Dessert was also sublime, a banana and caramel substitute for a sticky date pudding.

Prices are at the higher end for Samoa, but on par with western establishments here at home. 40 Tala for entrees or around 60odd for mains. 28 for dessert.

A great night out. Very happy we chose to go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank koizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Never disappointed with the Bistro”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I dine at the Bistro every time I am in Samoa and can not rave enough about this restaurant. Easily the best fine dining establishment in Samoa. The food is deliciously fresh, and the service impeccable. On this last occasion I went with my sister and she was amazed with every aspect of her dining experience here. Though not cheap (compared to other restaurants), I agree it is definitely good value for money if you're looking for something a little more special :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penny7800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bistro Tatau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing