We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to stay in Apia!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lynn's Getaway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lynn's Getaway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Apia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay in Apia!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I agree with all the other reviewers; Come here to be treated like family in an old colonial house and have Samoa's equivalent of Jamie Oliver cook for you! We stayed for one night in Aggie Grey's in the city before heading to Savai'i. When we returned to Apia we stayed for three nights at Lynn's and we would choose them over Aggie Grey's any day!!

It reminded me of a a 1930s hotel where some guests were longstayers such as foreign doctors, professionals and civil servants whilst others were there as tourists to take in the culture. You all sit and have meals together and dinner time is sociable and relaxing.

Paulo, their chef, is one of Apia's best kept secrets. He cooks good, honest home cooked food with great care. If you want to sample proper Samoan food (and not the tired buffets pushed out in bigger hotels) then come here. Though if your palate is less adventurous, he can cook anything you fancy. He always serves everything with a lovely selection of healthy salads and vegetables too.

Lynn's is perfectly positioned close to Robert Louis Stevenson's home and a few of Apia's really good restaurants too. The area is cooler and cleaner than the rest of Apia as well and we could easily walk to the city centre.

My partner is Samoan and therefore a harsh critic but he gave the place the biggest compliment a Samoan can. He said, " I'll recommend my family stay here when they come over again!!"

Thank you to Lynn and her family and Staff for making us so welcome!!

Room Tip: The rooms are variable, i think. We were on the ground floor but if I had the choice I would prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwicarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemarie2685, Front Office Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you both for the review, I will keep in mind for your next visit to place you both upstairs. For future visit and look forward to accommodate any family members. Thanks heaps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    27
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
46
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just stayed at Lynn's and really enjoyed it. We had been booked for 1 night only but turned up 1 night early, hoping that they'd be able to accommodate us. and they could. They gave us the 'Master Bedroom' (which sleeps up to 4 people), which was huge and the private bathroom was almost as big as our lounge area at home (ok, this is slightly exaggerated, but still...) and has a huge balcony as well. The only downside was that this room is overlooking the adjacent Supermarket & Bakery as well as the properties driveway - which is being used for deliveries. If you're a light sleeper after 2 nights you know when the deliveries are coming in at night...
Besides that everything was perfect, as my partner was not feeling good on the day we had to check out they even let us stay as long as we wanted to w/o having to pay for day use or late check-out. Thanks for that again!

Paolo , the chef, does incredible meals - he even changed his plans for dinner on the night of our unexpected arrival as we don't eat meat and he had already prepared a beef lasagne. He just added a vegetarian option. And he made me Poke!

Altogether it was a great experience - just try to avoid the Master Bedroom if you're a light sleeper...

Room Tip: Room No. 1 (Master Bedrom) can be rather noisy at night, try to go for another room on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank absolut_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn N, Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have spent the last 12 months working in Samoa and six of those months living at Lynn's guesthouse. Without exception it has been a superb place to live and is as good for short stay accommodation as it is for long stayers like me. It is clean and well kept, the house staff are always friendly, trustworthy and incredibly helpful. The resident chef provides some of the healthiest meals you can find in Samoa with a buffet each night. The breakfasts are as impressive.

Wireless internet is all prepaid with the quality good enough to skype home on, and the pool (fenced for kids) is a great way to beat the heat. Having a supermarket and ATM next door is particularly helpful too. I have seen plenty of happy guests come back from island tours that Lynn has scheduled for them and I have no complaints about the cars that they have organised for me. They were reliable and cheep.

Its not one of the big name hotels in town, but they won’t welcome you into their home and treat you as well as Lynn does either. For value and atmosphere it wins hands down, short or long stay. If I could give it a rating of 6 green circles I would!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemarie2685, Front Office Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. It was great having you stay with us. All the best for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a family get together and luckily for us chose Lynns Getaway. It was absolutely perfect. The lovely ladies Pina, Farte and Polollo cook breakfast, clean and go out of their way to help you. Paulo the chef takes great delight in producing the most delicious ( and reasonable ) food for the evening meal. He was always asking us what we wanted to eat and was keen to have feed back. All we could say was " delicious, extraordinary, wow, amazing " between mouthfuls.
Everyone was very friendly and we quickly knew the names of all the other guests. The rooms were clean and the airconditioner very efficient.Lynnes Getawy is a reasonably priced hotel that offers great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xanthosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemarie2685, Front Office Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. Hope to have you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aotearoa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Once again faafetai Lynn, Rosemarie, Fata, Pina, Palolo and Paul I had a fabulous holiday. People you just can't get better value for money anywhere else in Samoa. For those who prefer smaller family friendly accommodation rather than a resort, and european food (keeping children in mind) at truly affordable prices - Lynn's should be your first stop. The hotel has a mini-mart/supermarket next door and it is a 3 minute car ride into town and has public transport at the door. I can't wait to return to visit with my Samoan sisters next year. Fa

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quiet and from the balcony you can keep an eye on your peekanini's in the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiladydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemarie2685, Front Office Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi, thank you so much for taking your time to post us this great review. Hope to have you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
197 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Decided to spend some time in Apia and see what was there. Saw the good reviews of Lynn's and thought I'd give it a try. I'm very glad that I did. It's a great place to stay. The room was large, with en suite, and very comfortable. I agree with the other reviewer who said that the food was terrific - especially what Paul cooks in the evenings. You can just pay 25 Tala and join the buffet dinner - fantastic. Plus, there were many friendly people staying there short term and longer term who were great to share a meal with. Highly recommend Lynn's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemarie2685, Front Office Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi , glad that you enjoyed yourself here. Thank you for the great review, Paulo and the girls thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived and were upgraded to a very large room. Very special character with wooden floors and tables and very high ceilings. The bathroom was also big, with two sinks, shower, toilet and jacouzi. The service and wood were excellent. Very friendly staff. As with most places in Samoa, it was very noisy. They were building next to the hotel so there were quite a few lorries and cars. There are also the roosters who wont let you forget they're there, day or night, but that's everywhere in Samoa/Savaii too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn N, Front Office Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apia hotels
0.2 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.6 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#10 of 31 in Apia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.2 mi away
Samoa Tradition Resort
1.1 mi away
Pasefika Inn
Pasefika Inn
#17 of 31 in Apia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynn's Getaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynn's Getaway Hotel

Property: Lynn's Getaway Hotel
Address: Salenesa Road | Motootua, Apia, Upolu 1561, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lynn's Getaway Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the busy corporate, holiday-maker, and long term student. Lynn’s Getaway is the perfect retreat. Located 2 minutes from the National Hospital. Rooms for the long term student or enjoy luxury amenities such as spa, LCD TV, and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lynn's Getaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynn's Getaway Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing