We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just outside of town”

Palolo Deep Marine Reserve
Ranked #6 of 35 things to do in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just outside of town”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Make sure you don't go there at low tide or probably half low tide. You have to walk across the reef to get to the spot and it is quite treacherous on the reef. Reef shoes highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pcraggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    113
    43
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good for city activity”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We couldnt get to Savaii as it was stormy, so we decided to come here as it was in town and close to where we were staying. We had snorkelled around Samoa but never in town. We had a great time but bring your own snorkel gear as they dont have much to hire.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best snorkelling in Samoa”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Located just past the harbour, we arrived early and although we had issues getting change (4 tala each for entry), the staff were informative and friendly. We hired reef shoes and we were very glad we did - we waited until low tide passed and had to walk out some of the way. We navigated by the four poles which marked each edge of the under water dropoff
We saw some amazing fish and shells, this marine reserve was comparable to the Great Barrier Reef in the Whitsundays.
Remember your reef shoes and don't expect much in the way of amenities - but that's not the main attraction anyway.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice spot but facilities crude for the entrance fee charged”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The reserve is close to Apia which is a big plus. Staff were not very welcoming. Nevertheless it was a nice place to relax after wandering around Apia. The coral shore was very hard on palangi feet; but the locals didn't seem to mind at all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FlyingkiwiOamaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
558 reviews
280 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Best snorkelling we found close to Apia”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were there early and by ourselves and got no guidance from the girl on the gate. We were initially unimpressed, but other tourists arrived who had been there before and advised us to go further out past the pole and it was much better. The coral is quite impressive and there is a good variety of fish and about 15-20 metres visibility.Tide was about 2 hrs past full when we decided to give it away as the water was getting shallow over the coral.

We returned the next day on a fuller tide, but there was more current and conditions were choppy so not as enjoyable.

I expect it would be difficult to access on a low tide.

4 Tala each - but bring correct money if you arrive early.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ActRegular_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palolo Deep Marine Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Palolo Deep Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing