We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel!!!!”
Review of Amanaki Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amanaki Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were only able to stay two nights 2oct-4oct ,myself son and husband, only because the other seven nights we wanted to stay were booked out, so we spent the other nights at Tanoa which is virtually next door.
Its a cosy hotel not too big, but the rooms are big and and clean, had two double beds, the aircon is a bit noisy and TV reception not so great,but these are so minor.We were in room 16 on the ground floor, right across from the pool,my son loved it.
The pool and restaurant is great and the staff are welcoming and so friendly, you can tell its a great restaurant when its busy and locals eat here too.We ate here for dinner most nights (love the fish with baked potato) beacuse the food is good and prices are reasonable in comparison to the other hotels and eating places, same with alcohol, (Vailima Tower if theres a group of you).
I travel to Samoa at least once a year and I hope Amanaki's wonderful friendly service and prices dont change to much, brilliant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownrufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Amanaki for 5 nights and were very happy with the stay.

The room was absolutely huge, with 2 very comfy double beds, clean and modern, with hot shower with good pressure.

The air-con was very effective, but a bit noisy. Small TV, bad reception, but did get BBC World news.

Lovely little balcony overlooking the nice pool.

The staff were absolutely great, so friendly and helpful, they really made the stay.

Breakfast was fruit, toast, cereal and tea/coffee which was free. Then there was hot breakfast options that were reasonably priced.

The restaurant was great, we ended up eating here every night during our week in Apia. The menu was varied, great value for money, good decent food. It seemed really popular, with tourists from other hotels, and local people all coming there to eat.

Cocktails were also reasonably priced.

Location was about a 10 min walk to the main street, though taxi's were so cheap, and given the heat i would get a taxi anyway.

We visited Aggie Greys hotel, nice and historically charming (and did a good latte in the little coffee shop) but it wasn't anywhere near as friendly, welcoming and homely as Amanaki.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we came back to Apia.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

First impresstion is always what i look for in a hotel, affarid that wasent the case with us. We booked 2 rooms & clearly in my emails said that i would like it to be next to each other, reason been is that my kids would be in the other room.....arrived given 2keys 2doors apart, explained that i couldn't have my kids so far from us, told that the rooms i requested are not next to each other and they were fully booked, ask if i could cancel cause they didn't live up to what we agreed on, i was told that i will have to pay a cancelation fee which i personaly think it was unfair, it was 5.30am & didn't have the energy to argue, stayed for a week and first few days were fine but half way through our stay house keeping would forget to swep our floor,handtowels, facecloth,bathmat etc
I honestly felt like a nagging mum having to ask for things, requested an iron didn't get it till the next day oh and the hand towels were never recived untill they did our room up the next day.
If you order room service after 10pm they charge you $5tala.
The rooms were very roomy & clean, pool was great, great location Michael the receptionnist was very helpful, the staff in the restaurant were fantastic, and they do have good food we got bored of breakfast, was the same thing every morning.
I was dissappointed cause it was recommened by a friend.
It made me wonder if they didnt do our rooms properly cause i complain about the rooms on arrival. We thank everyone for the sevice, will i stay there again? No!

Wish them all the best.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmanakiHotel, Manager at Amanaki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Ianneta,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Amanaki. We are obviously disappointed that there are aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations.
It was a surprise to hear that housekeeping hadn’t swept your room and forgot to replace your towels half way during your stay. It is our standard policy that all rooms are serviced daily and towels to be changed daily unless guests request otherwise. We sincerely apologize for this mishap and addressed these issues with our housekeeping staff so that this does not happen again in future.
With regards to your comments made in reference to your booking, if you kindly refer to my email sent on the 3rd July 2012, you would see that mentioned is the room category layout on each level stating that the two Standard rooms you were requesting is separated by two Deluxe Rooms in between. As you had responded the following day confirming that you still will be booking two Standard Rooms, we had then taken this as confirmation that you are aware of the layout and still would like to proceed with your booking.
We are a small 3 1/5 star family owned hotel who have just been operating for 2 years now and we try to do our best to keep the standards and service up to our guests expectations, therefore we do regret to hear that your expectations were not met and we apologize for the bad experience you had.
We appreciate your comments as it helps us to try and improve on issues raised. Thank you for sincerely for staying at the Amanaki Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights - The staff were amazing, very friendly and attentive to detail. The food at the restaurant is delicious, beautiful swimming pool, rooms new and spacious and very clean. Beautiful setting - across the road from the sea and palm trees, yet only 5min walk from the markets and town. Appreciated the air con even though it was the cool season! It was a very stressful time as my 16month old son was admitted to hospital but the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay as pleasant as possible. I would highly recommend Amanaki

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We flew into Upolo at around 7pm and opted to stay a night at the Amanaki Hotel so we could have a look around Apia before moving on to Lalomanu Beach. It was a very good decision. The Hotel is very clean, new, and well presented, the staff were friendly and welcoming and the food in the restaurant was excellent and well priced. We would have liked to have stayed longer to make the most of the swimming pool and grounds. Our room was on the top floor and we enjoyed sitting on the deck with a morning coffee looking out over the swimming pool and towards the sea. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, it was excellent value and a thoroughly enjoyable experience. T

Room Tip: Higher floors have views over the pool and out to sea. There don't appear to be any 'bad'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our group of 20 stayed for 7 nights at Amanaki Aug2012. I would highly recommend this property, its extremely comfortable & clean, the staff are professional and super helpful! And Joana @ front office knew us all by 1st name basis which was impressive in itself and her service and pleasant demeanour was a treat. I have visited Samoa 4 times and so far this stay at Amanaki has been the most pleasant hotel experience. Given the family own fishing boats we were lucky to enjoy fresh, beautifully cooked fish each day. The location is fantastic, taxi rank across the road or an easy walk to town. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, down to the fresh flower arrangements upon arrival. And the all important air con was essential after a hot day out and about. The pool area has stunning tropical gardenms surrounding it and the pool was always crystal clear and well maintained. I would definitely stay here agin on my next visit. Thankyou Amanaki :)

Room Tip: The 3rd floor - top floor room have a beautiful view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RinaPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here on the last night of our 15 day cycle Samoa adventure. It was so good to have an exremely comfortable king size bed, modern bathroom facilities, air con, fridge and kettle. We were on the ground floor and our decking area was adjacent to the large swimming pool. The restaurant on the premises had very good meals at a reasonable price. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Corner room (11) on ground floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endora27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apia hotels
0.2 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.6 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 29 in Apia
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#15 of 29 in Apia
159 reviews
3.1 mi away
Samoa Tradition Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanaki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanaki Hotel

Address: Beach Rd | Sogi Peninsula, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Price Range: $76 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amanaki Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Amanaki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanaki Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing