We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good for short stay"”
Review of Amanaki Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amanaki Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“"Good for short stay"”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

First impresstion is always what i look for in a hotel, affarid that wasent the case with us. We booked 2 rooms & clearly in my emails said that i would like it to be next to each other, reason been is that my kids would be in the other room.....arrived given 2keys 2doors apart, explained that i couldn't have my kids so far from us, told that the rooms i requested are not next to each other and they were fully booked, ask if i could cancel cause they didn't live up to what we agreed on, i was told that i will have to pay a cancelation fee which i personaly think it was unfair, it was 5.30am & didn't have the energy to argue, stayed for a week and first few days were fine but half way through our stay house keeping would forget to swep our floor,handtowels, facecloth,bathmat etc
I honestly felt like a nagging mum having to ask for things, requested an iron didn't get it till the next day oh and the hand towels were never recived untill they did our room up the next day.
If you order room service after 10pm they charge you $5tala.
The rooms were very roomy & clean, pool was great, great location Michael the receptionnist was very helpful, the staff in the restaurant were fantastic, and they do have good food we got bored of breakfast, was the same thing every morning.
I was dissappointed cause it was recommened by a friend.
It made me wonder if they didnt do our rooms properly cause i complain about the rooms on arrival. We thank everyone for the sevice, will i stay there again? No!

Wish them all the best.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmanakiHotel, Manager at Amanaki Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Ianneta,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Amanaki. We are obviously disappointed that there are aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations.
It was a surprise to hear that housekeeping hadn’t swept your room and forgot to replace your towels half way during your stay. It is our standard policy that all rooms are serviced daily and towels to be changed daily unless guests request otherwise. We sincerely apologize for this mishap and addressed these issues with our housekeeping staff so that this does not happen again in future.
With regards to your comments made in reference to your booking, if you kindly refer to my email sent on the 3rd July 2012, you would see that mentioned is the room category layout on each level stating that the two Standard rooms you were requesting is separated by two Deluxe Rooms in between. As you had responded the following day confirming that you still will be booking two Standard Rooms, we had then taken this as confirmation that you are aware of the layout and still would like to proceed with your booking.
We are a small 3 1/5 star family owned hotel who have just been operating for 2 years now and we try to do our best to keep the standards and service up to our guests expectations, therefore we do regret to hear that your expectations were not met and we apologize for the bad experience you had.
We appreciate your comments as it helps us to try and improve on issues raised. Thank you for sincerely for staying at the Amanaki Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    61
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
74
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights - The staff were amazing, very friendly and attentive to detail. The food at the restaurant is delicious, beautiful swimming pool, rooms new and spacious and very clean. Beautiful setting - across the road from the sea and palm trees, yet only 5min walk from the markets and town. Appreciated the air con even though it was the cool season! It was a very stressful time as my 16month old son was admitted to hospital but the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay as pleasant as possible. I would highly recommend Amanaki

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We flew into Upolo at around 7pm and opted to stay a night at the Amanaki Hotel so we could have a look around Apia before moving on to Lalomanu Beach. It was a very good decision. The Hotel is very clean, new, and well presented, the staff were friendly and welcoming and the food in the restaurant was excellent and well priced. We would have liked to have stayed longer to make the most of the swimming pool and grounds. Our room was on the top floor and we enjoyed sitting on the deck with a morning coffee looking out over the swimming pool and towards the sea. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, it was excellent value and a thoroughly enjoyable experience. T

Room Tip: Higher floors have views over the pool and out to sea. There don't appear to be any 'bad'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our group of 20 stayed for 7 nights at Amanaki Aug2012. I would highly recommend this property, its extremely comfortable & clean, the staff are professional and super helpful! And Joana @ front office knew us all by 1st name basis which was impressive in itself and her service and pleasant demeanour was a treat. I have visited Samoa 4 times and so far this stay at Amanaki has been the most pleasant hotel experience. Given the family own fishing boats we were lucky to enjoy fresh, beautifully cooked fish each day. The location is fantastic, taxi rank across the road or an easy walk to town. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, down to the fresh flower arrangements upon arrival. And the all important air con was essential after a hot day out and about. The pool area has stunning tropical gardenms surrounding it and the pool was always crystal clear and well maintained. I would definitely stay here agin on my next visit. Thankyou Amanaki :)

Room Tip: The 3rd floor - top floor room have a beautiful view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RinaPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here on the last night of our 15 day cycle Samoa adventure. It was so good to have an exremely comfortable king size bed, modern bathroom facilities, air con, fridge and kettle. We were on the ground floor and our decking area was adjacent to the large swimming pool. The restaurant on the premises had very good meals at a reasonable price. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Corner room (11) on ground floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endora27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Easy 10 minute walk to town centre or taxi stand over the road. Nice pool situated in beautiful garden. Simple but adequate breakfast supplied with option to purchase cooked breakfast. Large refurbished rooms and views of sea from upper floors. Good service. Suitable for a base to explore Apia area but no lagoon swimming nearby.

Room Tip: Ground floor if access is and issue or top floor for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

You have to like a hotel where the receptionist knows you by your first name - and really, everything else seems to fall into place after that. From our "talofa" (Samoan for welcome) from Ioana on arrival, we were made to feel like family.
Price wise for the rooms, it presents great value!
Our 7 night stay was in one of the ground floor units, with direct access to the pool - open from 7am to 10pm, and even at night with people in the pool, the room was deadly quiet. Maybe it would have been nice to have net curtains for some privacy, but this is only a minor point.
As with a lot of the South Pacific hotels, there are small ants around - but just keep your food covered up or in the fridge.
The bed was comfortable, shower and bathroom spotless - the ladies making up the rooms were bright and cheery.
The restaurant is wonderful - the cost of dinner and drinks was about WST (the local currency Tala) $50 with soft drinks, a bottle of white wine puts you back about WST $60. A NZ steak was WST $20. The food is plentiful and varied, and obviously popular with heaps of locals eating there at all hours. Sit outside, under cover and you get a pretty good view of the harbour.
One thing to remember though when you visit Samoa, cut back your pace by two thirds, and you will make the most of your stay at the Amanaki!!

Room Tip: For those who like a quiet room, considering proximity to the pool, try the ground floor. We were i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apia hotels
0.2 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.6 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#15 of 30 in Apia
154 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#10 of 30 in Apia
245 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanaki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanaki Hotel

Property: Amanaki Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sogi Peninsula, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amanaki Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Amanaki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanaki Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing