We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience”

Galusina Village Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galusina Village Resort
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An experience”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I will start off with the staff here are lovely and very friendly.
Meals are also nice, although eggs on toast is what you will get for breakfast daily.
The rooms on the other hand are not what I expected and a bit disappointing.
I loved the sound of crashing waves while lying in bed, but I couldn't get onto the rooms balcony as the glass door was jammed and when staff finally got it opened we found the fly screen door was also jammed.
There is NO hot water! This was a bit disappointing as after a long sweaty day i was hoping for a warm shower to refresh, but unfortunately there was was only very cold water which was a bit of a shock to the system.
We found that the room also had an awful musty smell coming from behind the bed, which turned out to be a water leak in the wall and was surrounded by millipedes (which kept coming back).
Also when we turned on the air con millipedes kept falling out of it.
This resort is a minimum 30 minutes from Apia and an hour from the south side beaches (the ones with sand).
Make sure you bring plenty of bug spray as mosquitos run riot around the resort!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nik22192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Not sure what is going on with this place. Expected us to pay in cash, even though booking info & website clear about credit. Receptionist dug old ATM machine out of draw in other room but apparently no-one could be found to use it. I assume they dot have an ATM connection. In the end we have to pay with AU$ Unfortunately we wasted a whole afternoon & missed out on going to Piula cave pool because we were waiting to settle the payment.

We had organised a wake up call at 7 am & breakfast at 7. 30. We got a wake up call at 5 am and no breakfast at all because the cook left and didn't return.

The tiny pool was half full of dirty water.

Apart from that, the room and the price was great. Good menu & food, though many things on it were unavailable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are very close to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Elzie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Apia hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I truly recommend Galusina as the place to stay if you are in Samoa to do some sightseeing, island tours or visiting family and friends.
Having just returned to New Zealand from a weekend away I have nothing but high praise for the Galusina management and staff.
The location was truly beneficial in the sense that you are not too far away to quickly drive into Apia anytime you need, but not too close either to be overcome by the business.
You also have the luxury of being in a true Samoan village environment while still having unlimited privacy, peace and quite.
Galusina has exceptional service, mouth watering food- full of Polynesian flavour, deluxe comfortable rooms, and a million dollar view of the Pacific Ocean at your doorstep.
If I was an author Galusina would have provided me with the perfect retreat and inspiration to complete a series of novels.
It's just a great place nestled away in the backdrop of lush native Solosolo plants and trees.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwi rover w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apia, Samoa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

what a lovely place to have stayed in....perfect for the traveller that is looking for peace and comfort. I was looking for a place in which I needed to get my work done without any hustling and bustling of town and this resort was the perfect place for that. If you are one of those people looking for a place to do some real thinking, retreating and an escape from the outside world this place is perfect for you as it was for me.

Room Tip: rooms at the top floor have the best views.....although I have no photos but you have to stay there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This resort is between 20 - 35 mins east of Apia depending on road conditions (which vary greatly at times). We stayed for 3 nights as a group of 4 friends. It's pretty new and the rooms are lovely and spacious with quiet air conditioners and very comfy beds, TV, balcony etc. The interconnecting rooms are not particularly sound proof however (understatement lol!). The layout of the complex is more like a hotel/motel/apartment and there are no grass/soft areas anywhere in the resort. Its all concrete and decking. It has a lovely spacious open deck/restaurant/pool area but the pool is very very small, quite deep and with no steps so to get out I had to hoist myself up.

The complex is literally right on Main Island Road which is not too bothersome really because Samoa doesnt have a huge amount of traffic (yet) and so the road is quiet at nights which is when it particularly matters to me. The pool deck sits right above the road; you could not get the deck any closer to the road if you tried so it was a little strange relaxing in the pool and hearing vehicles and "beat box" buses drive past almost below us.

I also didnt expect that the sea would be completely unswimmable with big dumping waves that break onto the steep sea wall and that there would be no beach. If you booked this resort hoping for beach, sand and swimming, you would be very disappointed. You do however have a view of the waves and ocean from your balcony and the communal deck.

Food was average; in Samoa (where Samoans run resorts) they seem to fry everything and vegetables (other than starchy ones) are scarce - this resort was no exception.

The owners/managers were very friendly and staff provided friendly service. When we came to pay, they didnt accept Visa or EFTPOS and we had nowhere enough cash which was frustrating so we had to meet up later in town and hand over our $$ which worked well enough but could have easily been a disaster if we were on a tight time schedule.

The location lets this resort down in my opinion. Sorry no photos as all of mine of this resort have other people in them.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ripeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apia hotels
0.0 mi away
Samoa Tradition Resort
0.0 mi away
St Theresa Samoa Retreat & Accomodation
0.0 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#10 of 30 in Apia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
0.0 mi away
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
#14 of 30 in Apia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galusina Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galusina Village Resort

Property: Galusina Village Resort
Address: Main Island Road | Solosolo, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Galusina Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galusina Village Resort Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing