We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent and refreshing”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We have travelled to Samoa on numerous occasions and have stayed at many hotels in and outside Apia and say every time we go, its an adventure and go with an open mind and all the hit and misses. You get alot of beautiful smiles and head nodding at many of the hotels and restaurants, but many times your not really understood and communicating information to you isnt always a strong point. So you just go with it.
But ! There is a But .We found the Tanoa which has been renovated and a new owner to be great and refreshing, to find service which exceeded our expectations was a new experience and the food was great .Theresa the manager was helpful and informative about the hotel and seemed to be well versed in hotel tourism and customer service. If you have any concerns ask to speak to her she was great . We stayed in rm 120 and it was clean and had everything you would need, this hotel is close to Apia town but still far enough out not to be to noisy.We intend to return on our next trip and stay here. Hve stayed at both Aggies and though one maybe iconic and the othermay have immaculate surroundings,Tanoa service,room and food quality as a whole package was great. It also had nightly entertainment which we enjoyed and the whole hotel has a buzz to it. Also Litia Sini review to come but if going to stay at Lalomanu check it out its also really great accomodation and superb home cooked meal buffets.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownrufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandyuppie, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind, encouraging and motivating words. Rest assured that your review will be shared with Theresa and the rest of the Tusitala Team. As hoteliers, it is heartwarming to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we had made a difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    261
    96
    24
    20
See reviews for
197
140
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The hotel has been recently renovated and standards are high. The rooms are well cleaned, contain all the necessities and are with working air conditioning for the hot days and nights. Admittedly, the placement of the air conditioner in our room - blowing right onto your head while sleeping - was not the best, but this was fine once I worked out how to angle the fan directly downwards.

Location of the hotel is great. Far enough away from Apia not to be bothered by noise, but close enough that you can walk into the centre within minutes. There is also a large carpark if you're brave enough to hire a car and explore the island.

Staff are friendly, with the pool-side service a blessing for those looking for a seriously relaxing holiday, but not necessarily efficient. Now I'm all for "island time" but we asked for a wake up call on our last day, and instead got a phone call informing us that our airport transfer was waiting. Similarly, when taking an order in the restaurant the staff seem to want to put on airs by attempting to memorise orders. This simply led to confusion... drinks orders were mixed up and meals arrived with meat undercooked (medium-well?) or with incorrect sauces, etc. Seriously. Write my order down. I'll be more impressed that you got it correct than I will that you 'memorised' what I wanted.

Speaking of food, despite previous reviews on trip advisor, we ate twice in the hotel restaurant and were disappointed each time. Meat from the lamb shank had to be pulled off the bone, and the pacific fish was overcooked. The silver lining was that this did cause us to venture out, and the Sails restaurant down the street (up toward the street) is phenomenal. Highly recommend dinner there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandyuppie, Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor for us. It is through honest feedback such as yours that we learn and are able to improve on the services, products and facilties we offer.

Please be assured that we are taking your concerns on board- the wake up call and our food and beverage teams' service and creating the products being served.

On a positive note, thank you for your compliments on our room cleanliness, our poolside and the friendliness of our team. These are sources of motivation and inspiration for all of us.

Again, thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again on any of your future trips to Samoa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

This was my second trip abck to the Tusi since the reconstrcution in June this year. I am a long time traveller to Samoa and have stayed at the Tusi off and on, in all its reincarnations since 1991.
I was most impressed in June 2010, when I last stayed here, and my hope was that the hotel would not slip back into the old ways. There is still some building work going on at the front of the property and that will improve the hotel more when finished, I would hope.
Rooms are still excellent, obviously cleaned well and conscientiously, not the old slap dash way! Food is top notch at both the pool bar and restaurant, I did not use room service but would imagine it to be the same quality!
Staff are very good and the pool area and bar are most inviting.
But, it is not all magic! There is a need for more staff at peak times in the restaurant, on my second day after waiting 20 minutes to be served for breakfast, I gave up and went to work. I did not even bother to eat breakfast again that week, at the hotel.
The other BIG drawback for business people is the internet service at the hotel. It is the MOST expensive I have ever known $100.00WST per day! (About $45.00AUD). Even that would be acceptable if it was a good service. But it is slow, one file of 1MB took more than 2 hours to send and then the internet dropped out, so the mail did not go. The service is unreliable and drop outs occur often. Considering that at the many internet cafes around Apia, the cost is a few WST per half hour, for broadband connection, paying 25 times the price for such slow intermittent service is a rip off to a large degree.
I will stay at Tusi in future as the hotel location suits and the hotel in general is excellent! I will, however, only use the hotel internet in an emergency and will use the nice little internet cafe I used to go to.
If you decide you want to hire a car don't necessarily accept the one on offer from the hotel. I find their hire cars to be almost double the price of the company i usually use, Funway Rentals, and the cars are the same so no reason other than gouging tourists! Also be careful, if you make the car hire agreement specify RHD otherwise they will lump you with LHD and that is dangerous as they now drive RHD as standard.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandyuppie, Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Thank you very much for your kind and encouraging words. It is great to hear that we are on the right track, doing something right in providing another choice of quality accommodation in Apia. With regards to your concerns, rest assured that these will be taken on board for us to improve on. We will look into improving our internet pricing and speed as well as staffing at the restaurant as you have observed. Again, thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

From the moment we arrived to the time we left, we were treated like royalty. The staff were gracious in attending our needs . . nothing was a problem. Special thanks to Flora, Josie & Teresa Sing who helped make our stay one to remember. We'll be back !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StoneyAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We stayed at the Tanoa Tusitala for 5 nights over the time of the Samoa Jazz and Blues Festival. Our room was spotless and serviced daily. The pool area was spotless as well. The only negative was they needed more staff over this time as the staff in the bar and restaurant were run of their feet and very stressed, they were also working long hours. I think if this event is going to be held annually then the hotel needs to look at hiring more staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised to find the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel to be a world class hotel worthy of comparison with similar 4 star Hotels anywhere. We have recently spent 3 nights here. On arrival they were using a temporary reception area in what is to become the kids club but during our stay they put the final touches to their new reception building and opened it. This is a Hotel that would not be out of place on Denarau Island in Fiji and may even lure tourist to Samoa instead of Fiji. This is unsurprising really as the hotel is owned by Fiji’s Tanoa Hotel group so they are well aware of what is required in this region. I would not be surprised if this particular Hotel is the jewel in the Tanoa crown.
Even thought as far as the accommodation wings are concerned it is just a remodelled version of an older Hotel that bore the same name (Kitano Tusitala) if you were unaware of this you would swear it was a brand new Hotel. All furnishings, fittings, lighting etc is of a high quality and the rooms just ooze a tropical ambiance. To attract tourists to stay away from one of the beach resorts they had to get it right first time and that is what they have done. The huge King beds are blissfully comfortable, the rooms are huge as are the spotlessly clean bathrooms, there is plenty of wardrobe space and the Air conditioning is quiet and efficient as you would expect something made by Panasonic to be. The big flat panel TV’s are very good and there is a surprisingly good selection of channels. As a previous poster has mentioned check to see if the fridge is turned on & I turned ours up to make it colder to store our water & wine in.
They are still building a large Restaurant complex to seat 200 people but until that is completed there is a stylish swimming pool (that we never saw anyone in) with an attractive Bar (saw plenty there) at one end and a similarly attractive Restaurant at the other end of the pool. The menus are interesting & varied and the food is generally very good with the noticeable exception of cooked fish which unfortunately they overcook – sadly a common problem the world over. 2 minutes less is all it would take and I wouldn’t need to have commented. The raw fish Samoan Oka marinated in Coconut cream & lemon juice is to die for and the Chocolate fudge cake with the liquid Chocolate erupting from the centre is wow….I can still taste it!! Heaven!!
As we found on our last visit to Samoa this is a nation of genuinely friendly and courteous people and the service in this particular Hotel was so very friendly we couldn’t fault it. Regardless of where you were; nothing was too much trouble and a cheerful greeting was always offered.
Apia is the tidiest of the nearby Pacific Island capitals so it is a nice place to stay and have a walk around and there are some good Restaurants there. We had a brand new Hyundai IX35 rental car from Blue Pacific so we were able to drive the 45 minutes to Lalomanu Beach or it is only 20 minutes to the beach near Coconuts and there is a nice Restaurant on the beach next to Coconuts where you can just wander down to the beach for a swim afterwards.
If you are thinking of trying Samoa it is well worth it and this is a nice Hotel to stay in. A good trip would be to combine this Hotel, Sinalei & Liti Sini at Lalomanu to get a real taste of Samoa. Even better to include Savaii as well! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed here during the Pacific Arts festival in 1994 with a lot of friends. The hotel was great then but I understand it has deteriorated since then. However new owners (Tanoa) have taken over since the fire last year and the place is now palatial. I loved everything about it. the rooms are clean, cool and luxurious with new tile floors and bathrooms, all wood and etched glass fittings, large TV screens, efficient air con. I understand they are still renovating some rooms but you just have to ask for the best and you'll get it. The pool area is pristine and the staff are wonderful. On my first night they got us up dancing learning salsa at happy hour. I look forward to returning especially as friends staying at Aggies complained that it was too crowded. A lot of Aucklanders were in town for the tsunami Memorial week. I agree with the guy above that when you go to Samoa best to check your palagi ways at the airport or you wont enjoy the way of life which is after all what you come to Samoa for. Leisurely shuffling through the heat. why worry. No hurry, I only have videos no photos.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtinanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.5 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
2.4 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#10 of 30 in Apia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
19.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Property: Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Apia
#4 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to central business district and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There are 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and children’s pool, 2 restaurants - Tamarind & Deck Bar restaurant, 4 conference facilities and 2 *courts floodlit tennis courts.There is also onsite tour and transfer desk, a mini convenience & gift shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing