We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Insel Fehmarn Hotel(Apia)(Great Value!)
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Samoan Outrigger Hotel(Apia)(Great Value!)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Samoa Tradition Resort(Apia)(Great Value!)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dave Parker Eco Lodge(Apia)(Great Value!)
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveler rating
335
284
104
27
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
284
104
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeck barkids poolduty managerfiafia nightflea marketspecial thanksrooms are spaciousthe general managerlittle thingsclose to townair conditioningbuffet breakfastnice poolaggie greysnew zealandthank you so muchapia town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 774 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Samoan hospitality is legendary - even the little black and white cat greeted us warmly. We stayed there for 2 nights, fore and aft of a trip to Savai'i. Location is great, a quick walk from the Apia main centre, across the road from the waterfront. The rooms are spacious (either 2 x doubles or 2 x kings) and separate shower/toilet from the handbasin area. They were very pleasingly laid out and furnished with wicker chairs and crisp colours - we felt right at home. It's just been refurbished, so it does pay to double check that your fridge is turned on and your alarm clock is turned off :-)
Overall, we really liked this hotel, we were transient so didn't try the pool or restaurant, however for a quiet restful night prior to Samoan ingress or egress, the Tusitala hits the spot. Just on that - it's about 45m to the airport, so count on that and about 50 tala each way for your friendly taxi driver - 60 to the Savai'i ferry. And try the wee cafe with red chairs down the alley for good coffee (Italian owner) and oke.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Revamped and refurbished rooms - top quality. In center of Apia within walking distance of sea front, markets and restaurants. Food at this hotel was excellent quality and about same price as in New Zealand. Lovely pool although not huge, pool area was laid out nicely. Staff were very good and spoke good English, very friendly and helpful. In the middle of building extra accomodation when we stayed so a bit noisy as Samoans like to rise 'early' but we would definately stay there again once it is completed as it looks like it is going to be a fabulous complex.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cohenschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I have been staying at the Tusitala, then Kitano Tusitala, now Tanoa Tusitala, during my more than 50 visits to Samoa since 1991. Have tried other hotels but did not like any of them. I was a little sad when I heard that the hotel had burnt down in September 2009 (Ironically on my birthday). When I heard that the hotel had been taken over by the Tanoa group I was very pleased. I have stayed in Tanoa hotels in Fiji and have been impressed by them and was looking forward to staying at the "Tusi" once more! Luckily, my visit in June 2010, coincided with the unofficial reopening I ended up being the first guest staying here and am quite chuffed with that!
The service from the manager down is so impressive! With anyone who has stayed in a hotel in Samoa before, and you only have to read the comments from anyone to see that most are the same, you will know that service, cleanliness, availability of essential requirements etc etc, are NOT high on the list of priorities in Samoan hotels usually. Tanoa Tusitala has set a new benchmark for ALL Samoa hotels. Admittedly, there were few guests so staff were easy to find and eager to please, but it is obvious that the training provided to these staff is top class and that the traditional "Can't really be bothered doing anything for you" attitude is gone. After having to stay at other hotels since the fire at the Tusi, I appreciate even more the improved conditions now provided by the Tanoa group.
The rooms have been completely refitted, gone are the tired old cane furniture, musty curtains, worn and stained carpet and uncomfortable beds. The room in which I stayed is completely tiled on the floor, the old bath/shower combo is gone and a much brighter cleaner shower is installed. All fittings are new and in the right place (No more hot tap on the left in the basin and hot tap on the right in the shower, causing endless confusion and freeze or burning in the morning)
The beds are comfortable with plenty of pillows, the tables and chairs are good, the large screen TV is very nice and there are 6 -7 channels which you can actually view, as opposed to the old days when there was static on all channels and no one could fix it.
Breakfast was good, a nice selction of a la carte, however they will go back to the buffet style breakfast once the official opening is complete in July and there are more guests. I did not each lunch at the hotel but had dinner there on a few occaisions. The restaurant food is excellent, fresh, cooked to perfection and a wide range of items from which to choose.
The new pool bar, pool and outdoor entertainment area look great. My grand daughter will love it when she comes back to Samoa with me next year!
There are still some things under construction, the reception fale and entrance area among them, but I have no doubt, that when I return in September, I will be most impressed with the final outcome!
Many of the staff are very young and still learning so small errors do occur, but once they are more experienced I have no doubt they will improve.
Tanoa group have obviously spent a lot of time money and effort to ensure this phase of the Tusitala story, will be like the Phoenix rising (Literally) from the ashes.
I congratulate all involved and will look forward to my next visit to Samoa and the Tanoa Tusitala
And, MOST important to any businessman or person who likes/needs to keep in touch with home or office, the internet is broadband cable to the room and wireless all over the hotel (At least where i went anyway) After endless frustration at other hotels (See my other reviews on hotels in Samoa) this was almost pure bliss. Early morning late afternoon and evening the connection was great! During the middle of the day there were constant dropouts, I do not know if this is due to satellite feed, local peak use or just one of those things, but i would still rate it at 95% compared to some recent hotel stays which got a 0%
The above is an unpaid unscripted personal comment :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: de flesta rummen har egen uteplats eller balkong
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews