We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I WANT TO COME BACK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Thank you to all the staff that looked after us during our stay at your Hotel. The rooms were clean, well serviced and very spacious. Thanks to Terry who met us in Apia to take us shopping. We didnt find a ukulele but we found a lot of other things. I loved the Architecture of the fale at reception. If you get to be staying at the Tanoa Tusitala when they have the Fia Fia night its a definite must see show which includes dinner. I loved it. Tried octopus cooked in a traditional sauce DELICIOUS. It was good to see that the menu included a lot of traditional food. Thanks Tai and Ina for going the extra mile.

Room Tip: Rooms 121 & 122 close to the pool, dining area for breakfast lunch and dinner and the bar.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SELINA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Hi Selina

We are glad to hear of the personalized service that was a standout during your stay and I will pass on your accolades to the staff mentioned. As you have pointed out the architecture at the entrance and various parts of the property is a balanced mix of traditional and contemporary design and this lends to ambience that you have experienced.
Our Fia fia night is extremely popular with both our in-house guests and locals alike, with an excellent cultural show and traditional food to complement it. I too find the octopus delicious.
Please advise us of your next visit to Samoa and we will make sure we find a Ukulele for you.

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
There are newer reviews for Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 691 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights on business, before spending other time around the island. I think it's the best place to stay in Apia, but not the best value and the food leaves room for improvement.

The room was very nice and clean, and the hotel is in a good location. I think the main thing that let it down was the food. The breakfast was pretty disappointing for what they charged (wasn't included with the room), and the other meals were mostly just ok. After a couple we started visiting other places for dinner and lunch.

I had a room by the cleaning centre, and the noise was ridiculous from morning to afternoon, mostly of the staff yelling full volume to each other throughout the day not really with an consideration that it was directly outside my door. In hindsight I should have asked to be moved - but didn't want to cause a fuss and I guess they were just having fun. Just doesn't lend it's self to a relaxing environment.

The staff were nice and friendly. There's not that real personal touch there with the staff, but it is a hotel in Apia with lots of business travellers as opposed to a resort, so that's expected.

For business trips I will stay again, would love to see some improvements though.

Room Tip: Avoid a room by the cleaning centre.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deliciousness_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Talofa

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and highlighting areas that need to be improved. I do apologise for the staffs over exuberance in the public areas and yes we would have been happy to relocate you to another room should you had brought this to our attention.
We are constantly looking to evolve our Food and Beverage offer and your comments will go along way to assisting us with that.
We do look forward to welcoming you to Samoa and thank you for pointing out that this would be your hotel of choice whilst in Apia

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

First time at Tanoa, staff are very friendly, rooms are great, clean and accommodation ammenities are great.
The airconditioning is a god send. Location very convenient as it is walking distance to town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsPale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Talofa MsPale

It is encouraging to note that as a first timer to Samoa you found the level of service and comfort meeting your expectations.

With direct flights from Sydney, we hope to welcome you again to Samoa in the future.

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great to be warmly welcomed by both Samoa Scenic Tours and the Tanoa reception staff. The Tanoa staff were friendly and helpful. We were most impressed by the lead taken by the management to ensure that the unexpected extra guests from Aggie Grays were happily, accommodated. The pool was a welcome feature for hotel guests both young and old.
The evening meals were delicious and fresh fish was served, not fish out of a can as we had experienced at another hotel. We enjoyed the evenings guitar ensemble, providing a lovely backdrop to balmy Samoan evenings.The Hotel is centrally located and it was an easy, but hot walk into the market and business area of Apia.A helpful tip would be to provide free of charge bottled mineral water in the rooms.

Thank you to all staff for a happy stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inanga2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Talofa Inanga

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Easter break with us. You have been kind enough to mention our friendly reception staff who, as you indicated, are extremely welcoming. Should you return again you will now be welcomed by them at the Airport as we have introduced this as a new service. Our proximity to town and the markets ensure that you are conveniently located to all amenities and yes it can get hot in paradise but our pool is a feature of our property that our guests do enjoy.

We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our fresh fish available on our menu. This is delivered daily to the hotel by our suppliers.

Again glad you were able to enjoy your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just spent 4 days there on business. My second stay and probably last.
Pluses?
- Great friendly staff - but hey that's the norm in Samoa
- Ambience is good and the rooms are spacious and well furnished
- Locationa is good

Minuses
- Breakfast is a disaster
- Rarely have any selection of fresh fish for dinner.
- The lightting in the room is dreadful. No reading lights.
- Fairly pricey

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SafariMazuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Talofa Safari Mazuri

Your feedback and those of the reviewer below have prompted me to re-focus on our customer experience. In response we have engaged two specialist trainers and our Corporate Chef from overseas to support, train and complement our team on the ground here in Samoa. They will be here for the next 2 weeks. As you have pointed out we have "great friendly staff" and we are committed to the ongoing training of our team members.

Please be assured that the guest experience is our priority and I am disappointed that we were unable to deliver the complete experience that many others have enjoyed here at the Tanoa Tusitala.

We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the Tanoa Tusitala and I invite you to contact me personally prior to your arrival.

Again thank you for your feedback

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Rooms are nice, clean and spacious either with balcony on first floor or on ground floor with outside seating area. Service mentality is in general poor and very limited. One evening they run out of mineral water, during the whole stay there was no adapter for my mobile phone charger available. etc. etc, Food offering very limited and poor.
Very central location in walking distance to town, with nice pool though.

Room Tip: first floor with balcony. but far away from the whole day noisy breakfast restaurant!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Talofa Gary

As always we appreciate all feedback, particularly if it highlights areas we need to improve. The series of issues that you experienced are indeed unacceptable for a hotel of our caliber and the service you received obviously did not meet your expectations nor parallel the positives that you were kind enough to point out.

Please accept our apologies for falling short in the areas that you have mentioned and feel free to contact me should you be planning to return to Samoa in the future.

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were told that Tanoa was a a nice place to stay and we were not disappointed.
Everything was clean tidy and in order. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are fully modernized and pleasant. We had breakfast which was average but dined elsewhere for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watts-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Talofa Watts up

Thank you for your clear and concise feedback. We are encouraged that our hotel has been recommended to you and you were not disappointed. You have highlighted the tidiness and friendliness at our property but have also identified areas that we need to improve.

We will be reviewing these service issues with the team so we may enhance the overall guest experience.

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
2.4 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 29 in Apia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#14 of 29 in Apia
157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
19.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Apia
#3 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range: $103 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to central business district and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There are 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and children’s pool, 2 restaurants - Tamarind & Deck Bar restaurant, 4 conference facilities and 2 *courts floodlit tennis courts.There is also onsite tour and transfer desk, a mini convenience & gift shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing