We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent price, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Decent price, great location”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here with my parent over new years 2013. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were spacious and they let us all share a room, even brought us a extra bed when they realized how tall we were as a family. The large pool provided a great place to cool down and relax. Not the cheapest option out there but definitely worth it if you want to be right on the downtown waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Talofa and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Tanoa. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Samoa. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    254
    94
    24
    20
See reviews for
188
139
40
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

service is a bit lax for such a high quality hotel in apia. the rooms are excellent but the service lacks consistency and professionalism. food is too expensive for local standards and lifestyle. rooms needs to be mob and sweep, once you take off your shoes, you immediately feel the dust on the floors. the management should try walking barefooted inside the rooms and then step into the showers and will notice the dirt which washes off your feet. tile floors needs to be mob and not sweep. i do enjoy the rooms except the above mentioned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Talofa and Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that over all you had an enjoyable stay with us. The team in housekeeping should be sweeping and mopping the floors so I appreciate your feedback and I will follow up to ensure that they are doing that. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tanoa on your next trip to Apia. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
736 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were staying here because of its proximity to the town and had stayed here a few weeks earlier. The accommodation is great, but the service really lets it down, maybe ok if you're on holiday but we found it really frustrating. Several telephone callers could not get through because they were told we were not staying in the hotel, everything had an extra charge like 3% for credit cards and $80WST a day for the internet, which was a special rate reduced from $100WST a day. The food we ordered from the restaurant was slow to be delivered and cold when we got it. We paid extra for a late check out and then found out that not only was our room not serviced but we had to go and ask for extra coffee sachets. Our highlight was finding that the barman could make great fruit cocktails which he did from fresh fruit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Talofa and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I appreciate that you enjoyed the facilities and the Hotel, as well as the fresh fruit cocktails, but I am sorry that some of the other aspects of our service let you down. I do hope that you will consider staying with us next time you are in Samoa. Thank you and Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Awesome rooms, ground floor over looking the fantastic pool.
Wonderful yummy food, although the service very slow.
Staff always smiling and happy.
The only downfall was lack of organisation and structure.
Close and walkable to town.
Will definatly stay here again,and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Really enjoyed staying in the ground floor over looking the pool. My daughter and two grand childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chevy1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, it is pleasing to know that you had a "Dream Holiday" with us and enjoyed what we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visit Samoa. Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Did not stay here but dined twice at their restaurant. Both nights the happy hour cocktails were delicious and of course the food was fantastic. Service for the food was a little slow but both nights were quite busy so I guess that was to be expected. The setting and ambiance are lovely, although do make sure you have insect repellent as those little biters sure do pack a punch! I will absolutely recommend the fish and chips (Vailima battered fish) and the Oka (raw fish) - both DIVINE (delectable fish is like melt in your mouth). The live music on the first night was a lively traditional band and on the second night was a fantastic acoustic guitarist. Very enjoyable :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Talofa and Thank you very much for the feedback you have given on your recent dining experiences with us. So pleased that you enjoyed the food we have on offer. Next time you have to stay with us as well. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for the 10days of our trip and went away for one night to Lalomanu, and on our return we were asked to pay T$150 for an early check in (11am) and it had to be paid on the spot by cash..they wouldn't add it onto our bill which we found quite strange!!
Half an hr After paying cash for the early check in, we got a phone call from the front desk to say that the Manager wanted us to settle our bill for the remainder of our stay by cash due to the fact that my friend was using her Visa Debit card!! this of course is the most ridiculous reason ever for us to pay cash for the remainder of our stay, and more suspiciously, when we asked to speak to the GM we were told that they would get her to contact us upon her return the same day...never heard from her.. The cleaning staff as well were appalling, knocking on our doors at 9am then 9.30am every day cos they had to finish at 1pm. There is a HUGE lack of staff training/service and the management staff need to undergo some up-to-date hotel management course...it's a pity because this has the perfect location with the most comfortable rooms but if you don't have the service, it ruins all it has for a comfortable holiday!!

Room Tip: Choose a room where the cleaners don't have access to peep into the windows when you don't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Tanoa Tusitala. My sincerest apologies for the service that you received from front desk and also from the housekeeping team. I will be addressing your concerns with both departments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel, its location and positioning. We would love for you to try us out again when you are next in Samoa. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
268 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a city hotel in Samoa and not near the sea. If you need to be in the city then this is a good choice with a nice swimming pool. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated. The restaurant service is slow and poor, but with so many other eating places in town, there is no need to stay in the hotel. Good happy hour at the bar and friendly bar staff.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor but not much of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dippy_sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Tanoa. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. My apologies that you found the service a little slow in the restaurant, I will discuss your feedback with the Food & Beverage team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Samoa. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.5 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
24.9 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
19.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
364 reviews
15.4 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#9 of 30 in Apia
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Property: Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Apia
#4 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to central business district and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There are 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and children’s pool, 2 restaurants - Tamarind & Deck Bar restaurant, 4 conference facilities and 2 *courts floodlit tennis courts.There is also onsite tour and transfer desk, a mini convenience & gift shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing