We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“service getting better”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

spent two days, and the service is getting better from the last time i was there. the sandwich menu a bit pricey for local minimum wage standards and for anywhere. hamburger for 30 plus tala? that's about 14 dollars US. the rooms were clean, i only recommend that the maids mob the floor daily instead of sweeping, sweeping does not clean the dust settle on the floor. try walking bare foot and go wash you feet in the shower. good size rooms and very comfortable and quite. did enjoy my stay, and would go there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hello and Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Appreciate your comments on housekeeping and the menu prices. We are soon to release a new menu which offers more of a price range in the food we have on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tanoa Tusitala on your next visit over here.
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    257
    95
    24
    20
See reviews for
190
140
40
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recently visited Samoa for our second time on holiday and while we stayed at another hotel out of town, we ventured into Apia for the days shopping and tourist activities. As it was mid Feb, we experienced extremely hot weather so decided to visit the Tanoa Hotel(as we had heard good things about it) for lunch, swim and refreshments etc. We were a large group from NZ and after we met Jill and the team we were welcomed into the complex of which we stayed most of the day. The staff, the team and the management were extremely pleasant and very hospitable. We made the comment several times we were there that afternoon that if we ever ventured back to Samoa, we would definitely stay there in preference to any where else. The pool was great, the dining room clean and presented well, the food was well and truely affordable and very nice but most of all, the service awesome. As the Rugby 7s tournament was being played overseas. there were very few establishments that even had access to this. The Tanoa had big screen tv's that you could watch even from the pool. Thanks Jill and your team, you guys made this a very pleasurable day. Wont be forgotten for a long time. Cheers

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Talofa, and thankyou for your positive feedback on your Day at The Tanoa. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to experience what we have to offer, and we definitly look forward to welcoming you back to stay at Tanoa for your next holiday in Samoa. Thankyou and Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I spent two nights at Tanoa Tusitala at the end of my trip to Samoa after a few days of exploring the region (in heavy rain and floods).

Kiwis are running this resort - and I felt right at home. Jill and her local team were friendly, attentive and full of smiles. This made for a truly relaxing environment.

This place was a little oasis with its beautiful landscaped gardens. The sun came out and I enjoyed my time relaxing by the pool drinking from fresh coconuts and reading. I had finished my books and was delighted to be offered books from the 'library' in reception. Little things like that make such a difference. I also left my books behind for another traveller to enjoy.

The food was lovely, I enjoyed the local flavors, especially the fresh fish, and the variety on the menu was great. Happy hour was most enjoyable and the live music was first class. (Young woman singing and on keyboard had an amazing voice!)

Clearly service matters here - there were always a helpful cheerful staff nearby, from the welcoming check-in to arranging my airport transfer. The rooms are modern, spacious, clean and have everything you need. Only one issue, wish I could have stayed longer :)

I would highly recommend Tanoa Tusitala.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBridgetI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Talofa, thankyou so much for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. So pleased that you enjoyed your time here, and that you managed to get some sunshine. You will definitly need to come back for more than 2 days next time. We look forward to welcoming you back when you do.
Thanks & Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Unquestionably the most beautifully appointed hotel in Apia. Service is very good, and staff are very friendly and warm. Food is just alright, but there are many nice restaurants in town to try out. My only pet peeve is that with the amount of money we pay for rooms (it is the highest rate hotel in Apia), we should get bottled water in the room. You can buy bottled water at the hotel store, but really now.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Talofa, Thankyou for your comments on your recent stay with us. I have taken note on your point about suppliying water in the rooms, and we are going to introduce it on April 1. So thanks for that feedback it is appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Samoa.
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent accomadation, friendly accomadating staff, especially barstaff Terry and Nuufo. Stayed for 6 nights and had an awesome time. We highly recommend it as the place to stay in Apia with its close proximity to town and its unique feel of being in a resort.
Thank you Jill and all your staff for making not only our stay rewarding but also special as the Tusitala will always be remembered as the place where I proposed to Katrina.............

Room Tip: As we stayed in the off season we had no problems with the 2 rooms we had. Both were on the upper fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Talofa, Thankyou so much for the positive feedback, its great that you enjoyed your time with us. Congratulations, fantastic that you proposed here as well. We look forward to welcoming you back for your honeymoon.
Thanks & Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uopstate New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the Tanoa and enjoyed every minute of it. The location is great! We had no problem walking to town to shops and restaurants. The rooms were clean, modern and spacious. We took advantage of the in room hotpot to make coffe every morning. We did, however, buy many jugs of bottled water to drink and use to brush our teeth...just in case. The grounds and pool area were beautifully landscaped and clean. The food overall was good. We did find the the full breakfast buffet pricey. The pool/bar area was relaxing and offered lunch and dinner. We were especially impressed by the helpful, friendly staff who always took the opportunity to stop and talk and ask if we were enjoying our stay. We also enjoyed several evenings of live music at the pool/bar area performed by excellent local musicians. We would stay at the Tanoa again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback on your stay with us at The Tusitala. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and found staff freindly and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Samoa.
Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

With the refurbishment of Aggie Grey's underway the choices in Apia are more limited and the completely refurbished Tusitala provides a good option. It is a bit of a walk to the town and there is no cover in that process - I happened to be there while it was both hot and raining and ended up getting wetter than I intended. Having said that the staff were very good and helpful, the rooms clean and well presented, and the food well priced. My only annoyance was being directed to the cash machine by the desk to get cash to pre-pay a booking, rather than accept it on the same card that I used in the cash machine - hopefully when I'm next back here they'll have overcome that glitch.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the ground floor if you have much luggage to deal with - there are no li...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Talofa and thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. Apologies re the cash issue, hopefully that won't happen again. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Samoa. Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.5 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
24.9 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
19.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
371 reviews
15.6 mi away
Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Property: Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Apia
#4 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to central business district and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There are 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and children’s pool, 2 restaurants - Tamarind & Deck Bar restaurant, 4 conference facilities and 2 *courts floodlit tennis courts.There is also onsite tour and transfer desk, a mini convenience & gift shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing