We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
New South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family place to stay”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at Tanoa for 7 nights as part of our family holiday to Samoa from Australia in August 2012. We travelled with another family & between us have 3 children aged 5 & under. We had a wonderful stay at Tanoa. The rooms were modern, spacious & airconditioned, whilst the pools were a big winner particularly with the children. The hotel was easy walking distance to town, shops, markets & eateries and only short taxi rides to some great restaurants. We found the service great, with only a couple of times having to ask for things to be done more than once, but we were on holidays & weren't letting minor things like that deterring us. The food menu wasn't extensive but what was on offer was very nice. We would of liked to see a bit more variety and a more childern alternatives. Overall a great experience and would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AH244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Talofa, and thankyou for your feedback on yur recent stay with us at Tanoa Tusitala. So pleased that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to welcoming you all back on your next trip to Samoa.
Happy Travels
Jill Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    261
    96
    24
    20
See reviews for
197
140
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I really like the Tanoa Tusitala. It has very nice rooms and pool area for the family. My only complaint is the service at the food area is terrible. We stayed here before with the same situation but we thought we'd give it another try. And what do you know, sure enough the food came an hour later... does it really take that long to make a burger? Anyways after a long time waiting, I asked the girl at the bar if she can go check on our food. She says ok and I go sit back down. I look over and she's still at the bar doing whatever she was doing and totally ignored my request as if I never asked. Eventually my frustration was at a high and I walked straight into the kitchen and asked them where's my food? Anyways we stayed 3 nights and ate elsewhere after that experience. There's great potential for this hotel but the service is really killing it. Remember it's the little things that make a hotel great. They really need some new people that really have basic common sense... i mean seriously, basic common sense. It's like they're not thinking or something. Basic instructions and they can't even do it... other than that, the hotel is nice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tulaga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Hi and thankyou for your feedback. I am sorry that our service in the restaurant let you down while you were staying with us. I have bought this to the attention of all the restaurant staff and hopefully this won't happen again.
We would love for you to give us another chance when you are next in Samoa.
Happy Travels
Jill Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in Tanoa for a couple of nights in our trip to Samoa in May 2012. This is an excellent property with modern rooms. As this is very close to CBD; it was nice to get out for shopping and eateries. The hotel food is allright and a bit expensive. The breakfast was also ok, nothing special for 40 tala per person. The highlight of the hotel is the swimming pool with an excellent bar service, where we spent most of our time. The spa is also very nice, both myself and my wife enjoyed the excellent spa services and should not be missed.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC is working before you checkin into the room. The AC's also take time to cool up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumanth1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Hello and Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Tanoa Tusitala. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and enjoyed our facilities on offer at Senakai Spa as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tusitala on your next visit to Samoa.
Wishing you Happy Travels.
Best Regards
Jill Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed for 10 days, and met a wonderful family also from Wellington. We attended a wedding held at Aggie Grey resort and was glad we chose Tanoa Tusitala as our accoomdation, The atmosphere caters for all ,bar staff were wonderful, rooms fantastic and service perfectly. Local entertainment was also a bonus
The voucher for Senikai, please forward to Nila that her massages were amazing and she would recommended along side Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Jill and Gerry, we enjoyed our stay and have defitnitely recommend the location hospitality and Tanoa Tusitala Hotel as a place to stay for all
mark and annelisa

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annelisa and ma... u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Hi, Thanks so much for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us at Tanoa Tusitala. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Thanks & Happy Travels
Jill Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Outstanding resort style hotel on edge of Apia CBD. While small by comparison with major resorts, this is very much an adult oriented retreat. Excellent for a business base, but would be good for a local holiday. Essentially 5 star standard, modern fit out, courteous and attentive service. Internet is expensive, but this is Samoa. 24 hrs of use, 600Mb (spreadable over up to two weeks) for $80 Samoan Tale (ie AUD $40). Supermarkets, transport, restaurants nearby. On Beach Rd. Well done!

Room Tip: Evening entertainment is very loud if you are nearby, but finishes on the dot of 10pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BacklaterMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Hello and Thankyou for taking the time to give us your positive feedback. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tanoa Tusitala when you are next in Samoa.
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had 5 days at this hotel recently and it was fantastic... The rooms are very spacious, extremely clean and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool area is fantastic and there is some great musical entertainment going on at different times. I used the day spa as well and this was great. The hotel location makes it very easy to look around Apia (that's if you feel like leaving the hotel!!) There are markets accross the road. We also had some very nice meals in the restaurant.
We have stayed at a few different Island resorts and I rate this up the top!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thankyou so much your feedback on your recent stay with us at Tanoa Tusitala. We are really pleased that you had a great 5 days, and managed to enjoy alot of what the Hotel has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Tanoa Tusitala on your next visit to Samoa.
Thankyou & Happy Travels
Best Regards
Jill Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have just had a really enjoyable time.
Rooms well up to standard, and the pool and bar and food area really great
The Staff were really helpful and it was so neat to meet Jill Murphy ,the manager who was so willing to talk all the guests and interacted so well with her staff.. A great job. What a lovely atmoshphere and all the people we talked to around the pool on the transporation to the airport were all in agreement.
We are planning another holiday here with the kids and grandchildren as it so seems to suit all age groups
Well done Tanoa Apia

Room Tip: We had a lovely room overlooking the tennis courts but from what we could see none of them seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janney51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello and Thankyou so much for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us at Tanoa Tusitala. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back with extra members of your family.
Appreciate the nice comments.
Best Regards & Happy Travels.
Jill Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.5 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
2.4 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#10 of 30 in Apia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
19.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Property: Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Apia
#4 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to central business district and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There are 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and children’s pool, 2 restaurants - Tamarind & Deck Bar restaurant, 4 conference facilities and 2 *courts floodlit tennis courts.There is also onsite tour and transfer desk, a mini convenience & gift shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing