We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very smart with delightful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2012

absolute comfort in peaceful surroundings. Will be back

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Talofa, Thankyou for your comment on your recent stay at Tanoa Tusitala. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Samoa.
Happy Travels

Regards
Jill Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 696 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

Rooms large and clean. Many flights come in in the middle of the night, but they checked us in no problems to a spacious, clean room. Location downtown and close to shopping and tourist office. Staff lovely and friendly, and the pace is typical 'island'. Breakfast great with limited fruit, but many choices of lovely, grainy breads and enough to please most western palettes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 200's - upstairs and nice air and okay views. Private and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Talofa, Thankyou for giving your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Samoa.
Happy Travels.
Regards
Jill Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Spent two night sin this hotel onmy way to American Samoa. Arrive very early in the morning (2am) and the service at reception was very good. There was even a porter to carry the bags. The room was clean and tidy and very spacious. Breakfast is avaliable on the deck, you can order from the menu or have buffet. They had marmite (NZ'ers will understand the importance of this) A was there on a Sunday in Apia and when I went for a walk thought I was on the movie set of "I am Legend" there was no one around as it was Sunday so come prepared to entertain yourself while everyone is at church. Dinner was also at the hotel and was very nice. Service overall was ok, a little bit of island time but overall would recommend this palce if you were needing to stay in Apia.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaffaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Talofa, Thankyou for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Tanoa Tusitala. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Apia. We look forward to welcoming you back here on your next trip to Samoa.

Kind Regards

Jill Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Talofa! Stayed around Easter 2011. We had a great stay! Upon check in we were given the wrong room but this was quickly fixed. From here on we had no glitches. Yes the food is slightly pricey compared to town but that happens at every resort. Drinks by the pool were great and the pizza was yummmmmm! Only complaint around food would be lack of imagination in what was offer -but that having been said, the food we ate was still great. Staff were all helpful and very polite. Though I am unlikely to return to Samoa as I have checked this off my list - if I were to return I would definately book here.

FYI -for some yummy meals ask the staff to get you a taxi and go to either Paddles or the Cocobanana. Wonderful!

Stayed: May 2011
1  Thank Nathaen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Talofa, and thankyou for your feedback on your stay with us at The Tanoa Tusitala. I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip here, and if by chance you do return we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
JIll Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Tusitala (6x adults) it was awesome. The Hotel is pretty new, and the rooms were crisp, clean & the aircon was perfect. My family got adjoining deluxe double rooms: 3 of us in one room, 3 of us in the other. I stayed with my 2 sisters, there were 2 queen beds and a rollaway. This did not include breakfast, but my family practically lived at The Coffee Bean Cafe down the street because it has the best coffee on the island with good food at a decent price to boot. We would otherwise hang out at the Amanaki for lunch.

The location is an ideal base if you want to spend time exploring town. The airconditioning was powerful and in perfect order it took no time to cool our rooms, the bathrooms were clean, there were glass walk in showers in both rooms. The beds are comfortable & there is an in room safe for valueables. the TV is awesome when we got tired we spent time discovering the discovery channel. We loved the bathrobes so much we bought some. There was also a laundry service which came in really handy & didn't cost too much, our clothes came back ironed and folded. The grounds are lovely, and the pool is too especially at night.

My siblings and I had drinks at The Deck, we brought fresh coconut to the hotel and asked the staff to keep them in the fridge behind the bar for us, but some of our coconuts disappeared nekminnit theres guests next to us enjoying fresh coconut:/ We also tried out dinner at the Tamarind which is pricey compared to other places, I ordered a beef burger but the patty was like pre-frozen sausage meat mix not as described on the menu, for the price it wasn't quite there. The dessert though, was absolutely beautiful. The bar & waitstaff didn't really seem to want to engage us at all, they spent more time conversing amongst themselves or away out back. I'd say, go out for dinner, and come back for dessert.

Apart from this, Tusitala is an awesome place to stay as a base of operations & I'd definitely stay there again if I were going to Apia.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleek_I_Fresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad to know that overall, you and your family enjoyed your stay.

We have taken on board your comments on our food pricing, the quality of the burger you ordered and the service you experienced from out F&B Staff. Our apologies as well on your coconuts whcih our team may have mistaked to be either someone elses for for someone else. Rest assured that these will all be discussed with all concerned. Thank you by the way for your comments regarding dessert.

If you ever find yourself heading this way again, please let us know as we would very much would be honored to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is probably the 2nd best hotel on Upolu, however as is usual in the 3rd world, things get rough pretty quickly. It's a pretty new hotel and still has a new feel. The grounds are immacualte and large, it even has a tennis court and a pool. Though the pool is a bit small and the water is very warm due to there being no shade over it. that didnt really make going for a swim refreshing. We got a good price for the room, 250SAT a night for two. It didnt include breakfast which was 25SAT for continental or 45SAT for amerian cooked bfast. We opted for Maccas which is open quite early and late and was a welcome addition toch I truly receommend. the minimum menu we had had while in other parts of Samoa.

There's not much to Apia at all.

Tanoa is in a good location, not far from the flea market and just a 10 min stroll to town along a decent footpath. Aggy Grey's is at the other end of town. We went there for their Fia Fia night which was thoroughly enjoyable. Forget the dinner though and just pay 20SAT for the dancing. Go to Paddles about 50metres up the street for dinner instead. I wasnt at all impressed with the dinner buffet at Aggy's.

Sorry back to tanoa, the hotel looks superb from the outside and having a/c was a welcome relief in the room after a week in a fale. The showers and and beds were also pretty comfy. The walls are thin though and we could hear our neighbours, but all in all a good stay at tanoa.

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor, id say the 2nd floor would be the best. it's a 2 storey motel styl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad to know that overall, you enjoyed your stay. Apart from the thin walls, the lack of shade over our pool and porbably the breakfast prIcing, we would love to hear how else we could have made your stay better. We also would be interested in knowing which is the best hotel in Upolu in your opinion. In any case, if you ever find yourself heading this way again, please let us know as we would very much would be honored to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We moved to the Tusitala after an atrocious experience at the Samoan Outrigger Hotel. For the same price, we got so much more at the Tusitala. The rooms were clean and big, with lovely showers. The room came with a television and tea/coffee making facilities with the amendments like sugar and coffee. The service was excellent and we even met with the owner who was very lovely!

Room Tip: The garden rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sabrina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. If you ever find yourself heading this way again, please let us know as we would very much would be honored to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
2.4 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 29 in Apia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#14 of 29 in Apia
157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
19.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Apia
#3 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range: $102 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to central business district and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There are 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and children’s pool, 2 restaurants - Tamarind & Deck Bar restaurant, 4 conference facilities and 2 *courts floodlit tennis courts.There is also onsite tour and transfer desk, a mini convenience & gift shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing