We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can it get such bad reviews.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“How can it get such bad reviews.”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

There is nothing wrong with this hotel that causes it to get such bad reviews and I cannot understand how my experience having stayed twice recently is so vastly different to some of the other reviewers. You have to wonder if they actually stayed there at all.
I have been travelling the Pacific Islands on business for well over thirty years and have stayed at so many different quality hotels that obviously I have my favourites and the new Tanoa Tusitala is my hotel in Apia. I used to stay there in the old Tusitala days, then the Kitano Tusitala when it went downhill but I am most definitely back there now and so are a lot of other business travellers.
I have just stayed there for the second time since the refurbishment and the hotel was fully booked, I was lucky to get in. The staff are great, the hotel has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and the rooms are beautiful. I realise that people can have bad experiences at any hotel that puts them off the place but I certainly have not had that at the new Tanoa Tusitala. In fact I cant wait to get back there next trip as the new restaurant was about to open a day or so after I left.
My advice is to go see for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEC805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TusiGM, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay and for your kind and encouraging words. It is great to hear that our Team is on the right track - making sure that our guests' stay are as pleasant and as memorable as we possibly make it to be. We hope that we will have the opportunity of having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    261
    96
    24
    20
See reviews for
197
140
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2011

If your in Samoa to explore Apia for a day or two then its not bad, definately not a resort as they portray it to be as its surrounded by a large noisy Chinese building being built,....my wife was constantly whistled on by the chinese workers working on the 6th story of their building every time she got into the swimming pool!

We also found the hotel over priced and expensive foer what its worth!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danzzvanuas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TusiGM, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It is only through honest feedback such as yours that we are able to evaluate, review and improve our services and product. We are very sorry and disheartened to hear of your experience. We apologize if we had mislead you to believe that we were a resort as we never intended it to be that way. We are a city hotel located at the heart of Apia and have no beach or ocean access. We are sorry too for the inconvenience your wife experienced with our Chinese neighbors. Whilst this is the first time that we are hearin gof such a concern, we will approach them to request that they respect the privacy of our guests.

Should you wish for us to further addess your concerns, you are most welcome to contact us directly via info@tanoahotels.ws. Again, our sincerest apologies. Thank you for this review and more importantly for your kind understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Lots to write about that is negative with this Hotel.

Biggest issue was the staff, poor service, unfriendly and food was below par.

Would probably stay at Alamanaki next store or Millenia which were much friendlier and less sterile and food was of better quality!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickytsvsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TusiGM, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It is only through honest feedback such as yours that we are able to evaluate, review and improve our services and product. We are very sorry and disheartened to hear of your experience. We can only wish that you had brought your concerns up with us whilst you were still on site so we could have done something for you to make your experience with us nicer. At this stage, we can only look back and work on ways to rectify the concerns you have pointed out.

Should you wish for us to further addess your concerns, you are most welcome to contact us directly via info@tanoahotels.ws. Again, our sincerest apologies. Thank you for this review and more importantly for your kind understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Before I left to go to Samoa my local travel agent recommended the Tanoa to me - it is and was the old run down Kitano Tusitala Hotel. I arrived and was not met at the airport after bing promied a transfer as part of my package so I paid a 100 Tala fare to the Hotel, when I arrived at some un godly hour the clerk on duty who looked like hed been asleep most of the night refused to refund my money. So I let it be as it was late and I didnt want to argue. I was taken to the room by myself in the dark as there were no porters to be seen. Got to the room and a strong smell of must greeted me. Slept the night and there I couldnt sleep at all well as the air con was blowing into my face and by this time was rattling. When I brought these issues up with an asian lady manager she promised to look into it.

Well suprise suprise I left after my 3 day stay and not one issue was looked into.

The other down side t this place is that the food is mediocre, bland and dry and above all else very very expensive.

The staf were unfriendly compared to the likes of the Insel, Aggie Greys and other smaller Hotels I had previously stayed at.

For those, thing twice before choosing the Tanoa!

Perhaps over time it will improve but the service needs a big overhaul.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zazzanzakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TusiGM, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It is only through honest feedback such as yours that we are able to evaluate, review and improve our services and product. We are very sorry and disheartened to hear of your experience. Rest assured that the manner by which your concerns were handled by our "asian lady manager" as well as the conduct of our night staff will be discussed with them. Your comments on our rooms' musty smell and noisy air conditioning has been noted too.

Should you wish for us to further addess your concerns, you are most welcome to contact us directly via info@tanoahotels.ws. Again, our sincerest apologies. Thank you for this review and more importantly for your kind understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Stayed for 5 nites, very average for the price paid and stating 4 star status. Id probably stay at Insel or Alamanaki next time, food very dear as are the drinks and over all service poor. Rooms noisy, a bit dirty and the air con was very noisy! Internet rediuclous dear??

Management that I saw very very stuck up and rude to deal with!

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank laveasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TusiGM, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It is only through honest feedback such as yours that we are able to evaluate, review and improve our services and product. We are very sorry and disheartened to hear of your experience. We can only wish that you had brought your concerns up with us whilst you were still on site so we could have done something for you to make your experience with us nicer. At this stage, we can only look back and work on ways to rectify the concerns you have pointed out. Rest assured that your comments on the management team you interacted or dealt with will not be taken lightly. Your concerns with them/us will be discussed.

Should you wish for us to further addess your concerns, you are most welcome to contact us directly via info@tanoahotels.ws. Again, our sincerest apologies. Thank you for this review and more importantly for your kind understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Spent three nights in this beautiful resort, our rooms were spacious, quiet air con , very well darkened for those sleepins. Beautiful clean pools. Best thing was the friendly staff, least liked thing - going home. Thank you for a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velonikaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Room was spacious and appear nice and modern but bed was very uncomfortable.Two single beds were pushed together to form a double bed. The uneven mattresses created a big bump in the middle.The air conditioner was noisy and faced the top of the bed from the side and blows directly into your face when youre in bed. Enjoyed the big TV screen though.
Overall stay OK but expected a bit more for price paid.
Check out Amanaki hotel next door for dining.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyerAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TusiGM, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to wrote a review on us. Thank you too more importantly for your feedback which is of much value to us as we move forward. Rest assured that your comments on the our air conditioning and the bed was noted. Overall, it was great to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will consider staying with us again on your future trips to Apia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.5 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
2.4 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#10 of 30 in Apia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#4 of 30 in Apia
204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
19.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Property: Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Apia
#4 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to central business district and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There are 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and children’s pool, 2 restaurants - Tamarind & Deck Bar restaurant, 4 conference facilities and 2 *courts floodlit tennis courts.There is also onsite tour and transfer desk, a mini convenience & gift shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing