We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good I Went Twice”
Review of Paddles Restaurant

Paddles Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So Good I Went Twice”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Awesome service matched by high quality food - try the fish lasagne but watch out, it's huge!!! - Paddles shouldn't disappoint. Go early to get a good table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarrenL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viaboite23, Owner at Paddles Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Talofa Lava DarrenL68,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.com regarding your recent experience at Paddles Restaurant.
We could not be happier to learn that you enjoyed your meals at our Family Restaurant, Pappa Rossi's Fish Lasagna became one of our signature dish!
Till your next visit to Samoa and Paddles Restaurant, Arrivederci e Grazie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    142
    38
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Apple Pie & Oka with fried Taro in Samoa”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Paddles was the first resturant during our Samoa holiday that gave us a decent meal with reasonable prices and excellent service.

The staff are so friendly and take service excellence to a whole new level, the Owners son Giovanni is great! He recommended some really good spots to visit and eat during our stay with hints and tips used by locals :)

Our fav was the Apple Pie & Oka, we still crave this to this day and even took take aways for our hotel rooms after we would eat in lol

Thankyou Gio and crew for always making our visits / dine inns the best!
(here's a pic of our apple pie, too bad we didnt take one of the OKa, we always demolished it before thinking of taking a pic LOL).

Be back soon - Beka & Eddie x

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viaboite23, Owner at Paddles Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Talofa Lava Beka M and Eddie from Paddles Restaurant.
It was a sincere pleasure meeting you and Thank you for your genuine feedback on Tripadvisor.com.
We are naturally happy to learn you enjoyed (or demolished) our Samoan Oka and Apple Pie!
Hope to see you in the near future at Paddles!
Thank you and Grazie Mille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apia, Samoa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Australian living in Samoa”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location, looking over the water, watching the sun go down.
Food is good, prices not cheap, average. Food good.Nice selection of cocktails.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viaboite23, Owner at Paddles Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Talofa Lava Australian living in Samoa,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding your experience at Paddles Restaurant. We appreciate your business and contribution.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon at our Family Restaurant.
Mille Grazie,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A piece of Italy in Apia! How wonderful it was to experience the taste of Italy after so many months in the Pacific. Could be my favourite restaurant at this stage....the pork of belly was so soft and just melted in your mouth. Hubby ordered the tuna with salad. Each slice of tuna covered in a delightful wasabi sauce suttle but with a kick nevertheless. And then the dessert! A great choice and delicious. Yes the cost is above avarage for Apia however the experience is worth every cent.

Congratulazioni a tutti e complimenti per un posto molto romantico!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossiFamily_12, Owner at Paddles Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Talofa Lava Lisa C.,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Paddles Restaurant. We could not be happier to learn that we were able to provide a great dining experience and that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit.
Grazie infinite per il commento meraviglioso! Arrivederci a presto!
Fa'afetai Lava & Grazie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Service was quick and food was delicious. It was perhaps a little expensive but worth the money. The atmosphere and setting was excellent. Staff were extremely obliging. It was amazing to see how quickly they cleared a table when diners left to prepare the table for the next sitting. A very popular eating place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happynotsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossiFamily_12, Owner at Paddles Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Talofa Happynotsad,
Thank you for posting your review of our family restaurant on TripAdvisor.com. We are thankful for the great feedback and are very happy to read that you enjoyed your dining experience at Paddles Restaurant.
We appreciate the time you took to share your comments and we hope to be able to cater to your dining needs in the future.
Fa'afetai Lava & Grazie
Rossi Family
P.S. Love the T.A. screen name :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paddles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing