We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to swim in Apia this is the place for you”
Review of Taumesina Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taumesina Hideaway
Ranked #19 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Apia
Reviewed June 27, 2010

A great place to stay if you want to experience a taste of the real Samoa with totally welcoming people. Masi and Sara can't do enough for you and will look after you and offer tips on getting around in Samoa.
Handy to Apia (walking distance from some good eating places) while being out of the bustle with a lovely private little beach and clean water. I don't know anywhere else like this so close to Apia. Vaiala is the only Apia beach and it tends to have a certain amount of rubbish on it.
This is hidden down a sideroad so has very little traffic and is truely well named.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fafine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed here for four days late March. Sara and Masi are impeccable hosts - fales/cabins were a fantastic price and breakfast every morning was awesome (generally enough to keep for lunch).
Beach across the road is not the sandy white that is associated with the Pacific Islands but once you get past the stony shore there is sand to walk on. Snorkelling wasn't any good here - we even swam across to the island and still no luck.
Overall, this place is great value for money and only a short distance from Apia (5-6 Tala Taxi ride, depending on the driver)
NOTE: if you do not like dogs or piece and quite then this is not the place for you!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nz_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I stayed at Taumesina Hideaway for a week and Sara and Masi were like family I didn't want to leave. The rooms (including ensuites) were clean, comfortable and very affordable. The ocean was just steps away and breakfast was delicious. I will definitely be going back!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
3  Thank meaghan_oxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I recently spent two weeks at Taumesina Hideaway...and honestly, I could not have asked for anything more perfect for my holiday. I have travelled fairly extensively and compared to similar accomodation in other countries, Taumesina Hideaway rates very highly in my opinion. Sara and Masi are fabulous hosts, there for anything you may need, eager to offer information on Apia and the rest of Samoa...warm and welcoming, but also respectful of your privacy.
The location of this place is a perfect place to base yourself for a short or long stay. Downtown Apia is only minutes away, within walking distance, or taxi's are easy to find on the main road. However, when you are sitting on the verandah of your fale, you feel a hundred miles from anywhere....it's a pleasant outlook onto the gardens and across to the lagoon. There's a bbq area right next to the water, and the lagoon is perfect for swimming. Clear water, clean, no rips.....just float around and enjoy the view!!! I am a water lover and swam several times a day...
The fales are basic, clean, and contain everything you need. Your own toilet and shower, and a small kitchen with fridge. I had a great fan in mine too! There are basic cooking utensils there also. It's great, budget accomodation and I have no hesitation in recommending it.
Ask Masi to tell you the legend of Taumesina...it's a beautiful story.
Faafetai tele Sara and Masi...I had a wonderful time, and will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jojo68Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Tau Measina is a delightful village within walking distance, or a $2.00 cab ride from down town Apia yet is a quiet, relaxing spot that seems far from city life. You have all the amenities in your own little self-contained fale within stone's throw of a clean, beautiful and safe lagoon where you can enjoy fishing, swimming and snorkeling. But what makes the Tau Measina experience truly unforgettable are the hosts, who go out of their way to ensure you want for nothing.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunflowerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed in this garden village after the Tsunami, We where well looked after by a lovely family,who have little fale's near a safe lagoon for swimming .The cabins are clean and self contained perfect for a budget traveler ,with a small verandah, and a short stroll to open fales where you can have breakfast and watch the sunrise, Apia is a 5 minute trip away,so you are close to other sightseeing and shopping. Sara is a lovely lady and great cook so the breakfasts are a highlight , It is a real village and family life goes on around you the mama silia ,lives in a large open fale, on the grounds , and spends her days beading elaborate head dresses,It is a friendly home environment , and good value.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cb1SandyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We stayed here in October, after the tsunami to help the familly, and there relatives on Manono Island. The family are friendly and great hosts, the little fales are set in gardens with lots of animal life and a short stroll to a safe swimming lagoon, there are fales on the waterfront to watch the beautiful sunrise. Sara is a great cook, and they are only to happy to help you with any thing you may need....the village is close to busy Apia and paolo deep for swimming The Fales are clean and new with cooking facilities and bathrooms, decorated in a samoan hoilday feel,with the smell of the ocean and frangipanis,as you sleep..

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cb1SandyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apia hotels
0 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
0 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
0 mi away
Dave Parker Eco Lodge
Dave Parker Eco Lodge
#16 of 29 in Apia
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
0 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
0 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 29 in Apia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taumesina Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taumesina Hideaway

Address: Taumesina Reserve | Moata'a, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Apia
Price Range: $27 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Taumesina Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taumesina Hideaway Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing