We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort in Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Manumea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Manumea Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfort in Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The outside bathroom is unique and showering under the stars is very romantic. The Island night floor show is fantastic, the MC is very entertaining with a great sense of humor. Food was delicious. Very relaxed atmosphere. Luna is a fantastic host and makes all her guests feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ninnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know that your time spent here at Le Manumea was a great experience for you. Our host at FIAFIA night certainly knows how to draw a crowd. Meaning, it isn't a show with that interesting sense of humor. Glad you enjoyed the show. Having said that, we do hope to have you back with us sometime soon.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    72
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
95
66
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We intially booked for 2 nights here and loved it so much we extended our stay for another 2nights, the rooms were amazing, spacious not to mention the bathrooms. The staff were great and so was Luna. Location was perfect for us as my mothers family home was meters away from the hotel and town was only a $5cab ride away. The bar would only close when we were ready to hit the sack - a bigger bonus, but the best is yet to come. We ended up in Samoa longer than we anitcipated my son was not fit to travel had an allergic reaction of some sort and was admitted into hospital the night we were due to fly back. Luna had sent one of her staff to the hospital with clean sheets, a towel and pillows for my son, we had no idea you had to provide your own at the hospital.
And then did not charge us the extra nights we spent there.
This is why its home away from home, they made us all feel more than welcome.
Thank you Luna, and thank you Siliva for everything xoxox

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank priscilla_ierome29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you very much for your response. Making our guests feel at home is the least we can do. It is you we thank for making Le Manumea your choice of destination. It was our pleasure getting to meet/ host your family. We look forward to your return in the (hopefully) near future.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Le Manumea. Sure, it's not a world-class resort but nor as you paying for one!

Positives:
The included breakfast was substantial (2x eggs, toast, cereal, fresh fruit) - one morning we paid for a different option each but the free breakfast was probably better.
Comfy beds and clean and tidy rooms
Outdoor bathrooms add to the tropical holiday feel!
Aircon + fan
The rental car rate (100 tala/day for 3+ days) was the cheapest rate we found and Luna gave good suggestions as to places to visit around the island.
As we had a late flight and they were quiet, Luna very kindly agreed to let us have a late checkout and use of the rental car for another half day (FOC).

Things to note - Keeping in mind we travelled in the off season:
The resort is a fair way out of town - we mistakenly thought we'd be able to walk in which wasn't the case. In the end, a rental car was required (which we made good use of travelling the islands)
The pool was often closed and when it was open, was a bit murky.
I agree with other reviews that the room smelt damp, but once inside you stopped noticing the smell.

When you arrive at the airport, jump in one of the shuttles... you'll pay 50 tala for 2 adults to get to the resort and it doesn't need to be pre-booked.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room further away from the restaurant - as it's an open space, the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploringKiwisNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you for your feedback. The comments you made is a step higher, enabling us to improve in terms of service & hospitality. Noted, with thanks. Glad that your stay here at Le Manumea was a afforable/enjoyable one for you. Hope to have you return sometime in the near future.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed this place very much. It wasnt too far from Town but it was out of the hustle and bustle of the town and you could feel really relaxed.

Postives:
Owner and staff were so friendly, welcoming and accomodating. They have a great fiafia night and fire dances and also traditional dances. Rooms spacious, bathrooms spacious and very Samoan inspired. Loved it.

Negatives:
-Maybe a better TV with better reception
-Need a screen door or fly screens on windows to keep the creepy crawlies and mosquitoes out. We were so lucky we had our light on when sleeping because right next to our bed was a massive centrepede I think its Akuloa in samoan.
- Taula Tower at the bar...they only had vailima hehe

Apart from that....Luna and her team were awesome. Id definitely come back again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Samoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you for your feedback. We are definitely going to look into the comments and suggestions that you have given. Your thoughts simply enable us to improve in terms of service & hospitality. Thank you for your time. We are glad that your stay here at Le Manumea was a great one, and we look forward to hosting you here once again.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

They say first impressions count and unfortunately my stay at Le Manumea left me with a bad taste in my mouth. From our arrival at the airport until the dramas at checking out everyday at Le Manumea presented our group with some sort of issue/drama.

Our taxi driver on arrival to the airport slept in, which left us to organise our own transportation. Rooms were not ready upon arrival to the hotel as pre-arranged and our group was left to wait 4 hours in the dining area. When I finally got to my room it was beautiful and i was most impressed by the outdoor shower and bathroom, however, my room had an overwhelming smell of dampness.

The staff were very friendly however limited in speaking english resulting in many of our requests being incorrect. We were in a large group and our complimentary breakfast which simply consisted of eggs, toast, cereal and fruit seemed to be too difficult to get right and be sent out on time. Most days waiting over an hour and a half to be received and the orders not being correct everyday.

My room was unfortunately double booked on my last night, due to the incorrect check out date they had for us. I was asked to give up my room and asked to stay in a friends room as that was the only spare bed available although at no extra cost it was still inconvenient and unprofessional.

There is so much potential in this establishment however it seems all services are run on samoan time. I unfortunately would not go back here on my next trip to Samoa

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlemsmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Talofa Lava,


Thank you for your response. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience' caused whilst your stay here at Le Manumea. Your comments will definitely help us working towards the betterment of our services & hospitality.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The lack of service was experienced from the minute thiey failed to collect us from the airport using the excuse that the driver had fallen asleep. It just got worse from this point for my husband, myself & our 6 guests which was their first time in Samoa. We were guaranteed a room to leave our luggage in on arrival but this never happened and we had to wait 4 hours for one to be available as they had given the room away the night before. Breakfast did not just take forever (at one stage waiting 2 hours for poached eggs) the staff would get the orders wrong. Clearly having a group of 8 was far too difficult as they got our rooms mixed up. The promise to throw in a night for free for all the problems we experienced was not honoured and we were charged the extra night anyway. Theres more i could add but in the end this establishment has very poor management & carefree (not in a good way) The only positive i could say is i loved the outdoor bathroom but in the end it doesnt make up for all the headaches.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you for your honest feedback. Sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay here at Le Manumea. Your comments will only help us work towards the betterment of our services & hospitality. Once again, we are truly sorry.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Le Manumea has some great assets and with a few improvements and a little refurbishment it could become top notch.

This hotel has one of the best tropical gardens in Samoa - it is a delightful setting for the hotel rooms. Just a few things let it down eg. the beds were amazing yet the pillows were lumpy, musty and in dire need of replacement - an odd combination. Lovely outdoor bathrooms are in need of a fix up - looking a little tired and cold showers every day were not nice.

The manager was very kind but the restaurant food was well below par with elsewhere in Samoa and staff are in need of some inspiration.

Get it together Le Manumea and there will be a 5 star rating next time!

Room Tip: Rooms near the reception fale were pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JannePerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your thoughts, suggestions, and compliments. All of which work towards the betterment of our service & hospitality.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.2 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
2.4 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#4 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
24.8 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
10.4 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manumea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manumea Hotel

Property: Le Manumea Hotel
Address: Faelili St (Cross-Island Rd, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Manumea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manumea Hotel is located on the Cross Island Road, approximately 10 minutes from Samoa's capital, Apia. Nestled at the base of Mt Vaea, the resting place of the late Robert Louis Stevenson, the Hotel is only minutes walk away from the late-author's residence which is now a museum and grave-site.The Hotel's 12 Executive Suites command panoramic views of the Pacific horizon. Fully air conditioned with a ceiling fan, each suite has a secure indoor/outdoor bathroom with hot and cold water, a quaint little kitchenette with coffee and tea amenities with a little mini fridge and microwave. A 32" Flat Screen is provided, and laundry service is available. The Hotel restaurant serves a range of Europeen and Samoan dishes and the bar is fully stocked and ready to serve a range of beverages which can be enjoyed poolside. Also on site is an air conditioned Conference Suite, which can seat up to 40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Manumea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manumea Hotel Apia
Le Manumea Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing