We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Apia”
Review of Le Manumea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Manumea Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stay in Apia”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent stay in Samoa. One of the most entertaining fia fia nights I have been to. Excellent positioning.... Close enough to town but far away enough to be peaceful. The design of the rooms were excellent, especially the outdoor shower... Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you for your feedback and your recommendation. We truly appreciate your acknowledgement of our services and entertainment. It is indeed in our best interest keeping our guests entertained and happy. Glad you enjoyed the show. We look forward to hosting you again.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    72
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
97
66
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good place to base yourself to explore the Island. Great hosts, very friendly and helpful. The resort has a nice pool - but is not near the beach, so as long as you know this heading in to stay (as we did) you wont be disappointed. The outdoor showers are very funky!! Kids loved the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you for feedback on our services, hospitality & facilities here at Le Manumea. We are ever so grateful that you chose manumea as your family destination. Having said that, we look forward to hosting you and your family once again.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I felt it was OK. Not as good as I hoped for, from the reviews though. The staff were all helpful enough. There was trouble with the water and I had cold showers for 2 days.The grounds and pool are well kept. 7-8 tala for a taxi to town which is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you for your time, and honest feedback. We are glad you chose manumea as your destination. Apologies for any inconvenience caused. We have seen to maintenance, and will be extra liable on accommodating our guest' wishes, and assuring all customers that they will most certainly get the service that they pay for. Once again, thank you. And we hope to host you here with us once again.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I loved my stay at Le Manumea! Great hosts and a taste of luxury in Samoa which is rare to find! Very affordable and would recommend to anyone. The location is very centralized but in Samoa everything is close by and they have a car rental on hand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you so much for your response. We are truly grateful that manumea was your personal choice for a get away. Our location is indeed preferred by many who wish to seek privacy, and the outer-city experience (away from all the busyness). Although still remaining at a bearable walking distance, and a 5 minute drive out of the city. Having said that, we hope to host you and your family here once again.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Le Manumea Hotel is the perfect place to start and/or end your trip to Samoa! It's close to Apia, the food is great and rooms have a nice western touch (there are comfy beds!!!). Be sure to time your stay in with one of the fabulous cultural evenings and have your camera at the ready. Luna went above and beyond to make our trip a memorable one - many thanks to her and the staff. Be sure to check out the Lewis Stevenson Museum, its only a 5 min walk up the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you for your feedback and kind recommendation. We are glad that your time spent here at Le Manumea was a memorable one.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed with families and a group of friends at the Manumea hotel last year in December and the service was great. It seems that we had better service last time because our son and his fiancee had organised it together with Luna.

This time the service was very average. The room smelt musty. I did not get those good vibes..Why?...Was it because that we prepaid our accommodation and they could not be bothered with us?

I introduced 2 new customers, but alas they were not impressed.

There was no hair dryer in the room.

We found mouse droppings in the top drawer which was disgusting. House keeping needs to be supervised properly.

Room Tip: The room was spacious, air con and television working if you want to catch TV One news from NZ, exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you for your honest feedback. Everything you have mentioned will only help us work towards the betterment of our services & hospitality. Apologies for any inconvenience caused. Having said that, thank you for choosing manumea as your personal choice for destination.

Fa'afetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My ailing 87 year old dad and l visited for a week, the staff made him feel like a chief! Their attention, support and compassion was respectful and overwhelming. Peter, our fantastic tour guide was also both highly intelligent and incredibly helpful. Made us feel part of a loving, extended family. Lyndy

Room Tip: Room furthest from lobby, quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndy3187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Talofa Lava,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are overwhelmed with happiness and appreciation that you chose manumea as your personal choice for your holiday destination. So glad that you and your dad enjoyed our services and time spent here with us. Having said that, we are most certainly looking forward to hosting you and your family once again.


Fa'fetai tele lava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
2.4 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
1.2 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
204 reviews
2.4 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
16.9 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manumea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manumea Hotel

Property: Le Manumea Hotel
Address: The Cross Island Road, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Manumea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manumea Hotel is located on the Cross Island Road, approximately 10 minutes from Samoa's capital, Apia. Nestled at the base of Mt Vaea, the resting place of the late Robert Louis Stevenson, the Hotel is only minutes walk away from the late-author's residence which is now a museum and grave-site.The Hotel's 12 Executive Suites command panoramic views of the Pacific horizon. Fully air conditioned with a ceiling fan, each suite has a secure indoor/outdoor bathroom with hot and cold water, a quaint little kitchenette with coffee and tea amenities with a little mini fridge and microwave. A 32" Flat Screen is provided, and laundry service is available. The Hotel restaurant serves a range of Europeen and Samoan dishes and the bar is fully stocked and ready to serve a range of beverages which can be enjoyed poolside. Also on site is an air conditioned Conference Suite, which can seat up to 40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Le Manumea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manumea Hotel Apia
Le Manumea Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing