We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect family-friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Manumea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Manumea Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect family-friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed for six nights at Le Manumea and loved every minute of it, even the moments of chaos such as loosing our wallet in a taxi. Why? Because the place oozes relaxation from the moment you arrive. We felt relaxed within just of couple of hours of getting there because Luna and her lovely staff just take such good care of you. We were travelling with our nine month old baby who they doted on, even baby sitting her when she woke up one night so that we could finish our dinner. Nothing was ever too much trouble - Luna even drove me back to town to search for my lost wallet (or rather the taxi in which I left it). The rooms are lovely and clean; cool with aircon. Each room has a kitchenette with fridge and microwave (perfect for heating baby's food) the bathroom has an outdoor shower enabling star gazing. The hotel pool is great, not too over chlorinated - our daughter swam four times per day. All in all, we could not have had a better holiday. We have never had such a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 216Oliver31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    72
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
95
66
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

The staff we very hospitable and accommodating to our wants and needs. Having only 12 suites made the stay more personal. It was quiet and luxurious. The food was delicious!
Thank-you so much Luna and Paul. Next time we are in Samoa we are sure to come back.

Lisa and Sililo

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaSol2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We ended up at this hotel at 1am in the morning of the night of the Japanese earthquake and tsunami. We'd been staying on the beach further along the coast but had evacuated there due to the tsunami threat, opting to drive back into Apia and up the hill.

Luna and her staff were fantastic; despite being full they welcomed us like friends, plying us with drinks and food and providing pool loungers and bedding for us to spend the night. We could even sit up and watch the unfolding events on BBC. In the morning they gave us breakfast too, all for free although we did offer to pay for the food.

We were so impressed that we returned the following night, taking a room that time! It was very spacious, with a neat outdoor bathroom, private and surrounded by tropical gardens. The hotel is well up the hill on the cross island road (near the RLS homestead), but is only a few minutes drive from the centre of Apia. It is slightly cooler than on the coast and had very pleasant surroundings.

We had previously stayed in the middle of Apia, but in retrospect wished we had gone to Le Manumea as it was far superior for a similar price.

The restaurant was OK, nothing special though and the rooms were clean.

Thanks again Luna & the rest of the staff - you really saved our lives that night and I'd recommend this hotel for a stay in Apia

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank opgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

This is a good place to stay if you want to be close to Apia, but want to be away from the traffic, roosters and dogs! Really big rooms that are well decorated. The outdoor bathroom is neat and the pool area is good. When we stayed the place got a little rowdy (outdoor shows until reasonably late at night - but we weren't complaining as it was something to do!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0eG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

The rooms were spacious, clean and felt private due to the design and gardens. The outside bathroom was novel. Food and drinks were reasonably priced.

The swimming pool is quite small and in full view of the dining area.

Luna is great, making sure that the guests are well cared for, even ensuring that the taxis don't rip you off.

The hotel isn't located near the beach but is close to the Robert Louis Stevenson Museum. Ocean views are limited and broken at best but its location in the foot hills ensures a nice cooling breeze.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

I took my wife to Samoa on holiday to celebrate our wedding anniversary and booked our stay at La Manumea just by chance from reading reviews other people had left on Trip Advisor. Our flight from Sydney was delayed for a day so I expected to forfeit a nights accommodation that we had already paid for but when we arrived, the owner and manager Luna said not to worry and she would only charge us for one night, a super gesture that she wasn’t obliged to do. That was really the start of a great holiday where we were looked after very well in a fashion that one might look after houseguests rather than customers. The Fale is magnificent, an indoor/outdoor affair with reception, restaurant and bar. The rooms or chalets really are tastefully decorated in a south pacific style and the outdoor volcanic rock bathroom is inspiring. We thoroughly enjoyed our say and for $280 tala – about $120 Australian dollars including 2 very well prepared and presented meals is exceptional value in Samoa. The soundings are quiet being next to a nunnery and a short walk to the Robert Louis Stevenson house. A short taxi ride down into town, the elevated position makes it a cooler option as well.
Thank you Luna, Norman, Cecilia and everyone else who made our stay so enjoyable. We’ll be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tobybromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Samoa is all about relaxing and been part of a different culture. The thing I liked the most about this island is that people are still genuine and don't hate tourists yet. So when in Samoa, do as the Samoans do.

Le Manumea is great example of this. Fantastic place! Luna, the owner, is very welcoming of her guest (tourists and her own friends) and creates a good atmosphere.

I went with my partner and we enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are private and very clean. The best feature are the bathrooms, we absolutely loved the rock walls and the open ceiling.

The food was delicious and the staff were very friendly. Yes, the food takes a while to come to you, but it is the same everywhere in Samoa, you just have to relax and switch off the Big City mode.

It is located inland, but its not far at all from the main street, about 5-8 minutes drive. There are internet cafes and mini markets close by. And for us it worked perfectly because its on the way for the shortest route to the south of the island where all the best beaches are.

The price could be a bit better, so I hope Luna doesn't keep pushing prices up because then you will have to compare it to the luxurious hotels that would be better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarStick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.2 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
2.4 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
24.8 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
10.4 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manumea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manumea Hotel

Property: Le Manumea Hotel
Address: Faelili St (Cross-Island Rd, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Manumea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manumea Hotel is located on the Cross Island Road, approximately 10 minutes from Samoa's capital, Apia. Nestled at the base of Mt Vaea, the resting place of the late Robert Louis Stevenson, the Hotel is only minutes walk away from the late-author's residence which is now a museum and grave-site.The Hotel's 12 Executive Suites command panoramic views of the Pacific horizon. Fully air conditioned with a ceiling fan, each suite has a secure indoor/outdoor bathroom with hot and cold water, a quaint little kitchenette with coffee and tea amenities with a little mini fridge and microwave. A 32" Flat Screen is provided, and laundry service is available. The Hotel restaurant serves a range of Europeen and Samoan dishes and the bar is fully stocked and ready to serve a range of beverages which can be enjoyed poolside. Also on site is an air conditioned Conference Suite, which can seat up to 40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Le Manumea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manumea Hotel Apia
Le Manumea Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing