We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
132
80
28
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
80
28
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomrobert louis stevenson museumfiafia nightchose lemissing tilestoasttropical breakfastcultural showlovely staffclose to townlunaislandsamoatalaprivacynzheaps
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 260 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The staff we very hospitable and accommodating to our wants and needs. Having only 12 suites made the stay more personal. It was quiet and luxurious. The food was delicious!
Thank-you so much Luna and Paul. Next time we are in Samoa we are sure to come back.

Lisa and Sililo

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaSol2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We ended up at this hotel at 1am in the morning of the night of the Japanese earthquake and tsunami. We'd been staying on the beach further along the coast but had evacuated there due to the tsunami threat, opting to drive back into Apia and up the hill.

Luna and her staff were fantastic; despite being full they welcomed us like friends, plying us with drinks and food and providing pool loungers and bedding for us to spend the night. We could even sit up and watch the unfolding events on BBC. In the morning they gave us breakfast too, all for free although we did offer to pay for the food.

We were so impressed that we returned the following night, taking a room that time! It was very spacious, with a neat outdoor bathroom, private and surrounded by tropical gardens. The hotel is well up the hill on the cross island road (near the RLS homestead), but is only a few minutes drive from the centre of Apia. It is slightly cooler than on the coast and had very pleasant surroundings.

We had previously stayed in the middle of Apia, but in retrospect wished we had gone to Le Manumea as it was far superior for a similar price.

The restaurant was OK, nothing special though and the rooms were clean.

Thanks again Luna & the rest of the staff - you really saved our lives that night and I'd recommend this hotel for a stay in Apia

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank opgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This is a good place to stay if you want to be close to Apia, but want to be away from the traffic, roosters and dogs! Really big rooms that are well decorated. The outdoor bathroom is neat and the pool area is good. When we stayed the place got a little rowdy (outdoor shows until reasonably late at night - but we weren't complaining as it was something to do!)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0eG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The rooms were spacious, clean and felt private due to the design and gardens. The outside bathroom was novel. Food and drinks were reasonably priced.

The swimming pool is quite small and in full view of the dining area.

Luna is great, making sure that the guests are well cared for, even ensuring that the taxis don't rip you off.

The hotel isn't located near the beach but is close to the Robert Louis Stevenson Museum. Ocean views are limited and broken at best but its location in the foot hills ensures a nice cooling breeze.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roy650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I took my wife to Samoa on holiday to celebrate our wedding anniversary and booked our stay at La Manumea just by chance from reading reviews other people had left on Trip Advisor. Our flight from Sydney was delayed for a day so I expected to forfeit a nights accommodation that we had already paid for but when we arrived, the owner and manager Luna said not to worry and she would only charge us for one night, a super gesture that she wasn’t obliged to do. That was really the start of a great holiday where we were looked after very well in a fashion that one might look after houseguests rather than customers. The Fale is magnificent, an indoor/outdoor affair with reception, restaurant and bar. The rooms or chalets really are tastefully decorated in a south pacific style and the outdoor volcanic rock bathroom is inspiring. We thoroughly enjoyed our say and for $280 tala – about $120 Australian dollars including 2 very well prepared and presented meals is exceptional value in Samoa. The soundings are quiet being next to a nunnery and a short walk to the Robert Louis Stevenson house. A short taxi ride down into town, the elevated position makes it a cooler option as well.
Thank you Luna, Norman, Cecilia and everyone else who made our stay so enjoyable. We’ll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tobybromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews