We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
132
80
29
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
80
29
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor bathroom robert louis stevenson museum fiafia night chose le missing tiles toast tropical breakfast cultural show lovely staff close to town luna island samoa tala privacy nz heaps
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 261 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This is a good place to stay if you want to be close to Apia, but want to be away from the traffic, roosters and dogs! Really big rooms that are well decorated. The outdoor bathroom is neat and the pool area is good. When we stayed the place got a little rowdy (outdoor shows until reasonably late at night - but we weren't complaining as it was something to do!)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0eG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The rooms were spacious, clean and felt private due to the design and gardens. The outside bathroom was novel. Food and drinks were reasonably priced.

The swimming pool is quite small and in full view of the dining area.

Luna is great, making sure that the guests are well cared for, even ensuring that the taxis don't rip you off.

The hotel isn't located near the beach but is close to the Robert Louis Stevenson Museum. Ocean views are limited and broken at best but its location in the foot hills ensures a nice cooling breeze.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roy650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I took my wife to Samoa on holiday to celebrate our wedding anniversary and booked our stay at La Manumea just by chance from reading reviews other people had left on Trip Advisor. Our flight from Sydney was delayed for a day so I expected to forfeit a nights accommodation that we had already paid for but when we arrived, the owner and manager Luna said not to worry and she would only charge us for one night, a super gesture that she wasn’t obliged to do. That was really the start of a great holiday where we were looked after very well in a fashion that one might look after houseguests rather than customers. The Fale is magnificent, an indoor/outdoor affair with reception, restaurant and bar. The rooms or chalets really are tastefully decorated in a south pacific style and the outdoor volcanic rock bathroom is inspiring. We thoroughly enjoyed our say and for $280 tala – about $120 Australian dollars including 2 very well prepared and presented meals is exceptional value in Samoa. The soundings are quiet being next to a nunnery and a short walk to the Robert Louis Stevenson house. A short taxi ride down into town, the elevated position makes it a cooler option as well.
Thank you Luna, Norman, Cecilia and everyone else who made our stay so enjoyable. We’ll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tobybromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Samoa is all about relaxing and been part of a different culture. The thing I liked the most about this island is that people are still genuine and don't hate tourists yet. So when in Samoa, do as the Samoans do.

Le Manumea is great example of this. Fantastic place! Luna, the owner, is very welcoming of her guest (tourists and her own friends) and creates a good atmosphere.

I went with my partner and we enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are private and very clean. The best feature are the bathrooms, we absolutely loved the rock walls and the open ceiling.

The food was delicious and the staff were very friendly. Yes, the food takes a while to come to you, but it is the same everywhere in Samoa, you just have to relax and switch off the Big City mode.

It is located inland, but its not far at all from the main street, about 5-8 minutes drive. There are internet cafes and mini markets close by. And for us it worked perfectly because its on the way for the shortest route to the south of the island where all the best beaches are.

The price could be a bit better, so I hope Luna doesn't keep pushing prices up because then you will have to compare it to the luxurious hotels that would be better value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SugarStick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

My husband and I spent a lovely week at Le Manumea during our honey moon to Samoa! Had a fantastic stay! The rooms were cool, spacious and clean and the outdoor bathroom was an interesting and well recieved addition. Lovely showering under the stars on a warm night or during an afternoon sun shower!

Rooms were made up daily, with fresh flowers brought in from the beautifully manicured tropical gardens that surround the units - a lovely touch! Very private and quiet, relaxed surroundings, perfect for the romantic getaway! The pool, with its own waterfall was a lovely place to cool off after a day of sightseeing and the staff would happily turn on the fantastic "colour changing" pool lighting it you wished to extend your swim into the evening hours!

Breakfasts (complimentary with the room fee) were tasty and more than adequate - cereal, fresh tropical fruits, toast and eggs cooked too your liking and an assortment of juices, tea and coffee to accompany! The one evening meal that we had a the hotel was also delicious (fish of the day and the sirloin steak) and service was prompt. The staff were lovely and very welcoming and willing to go out of their way to ensure that all our needs were met! Luna was fantastic and helped us with all our requests - organising taxis, car hire and providing us with all the advice we required for travel around the island! A fantastic host she looked after us throughout the stay and ensured that our holiday was the best it could be!! Thank you Luna and the staff of Le Manumea!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SBickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews