We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linda's trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Apia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Livingstone Accommodation
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I actually stayed there in two weeks ago. This is the family business the couple was so nice and helpful! The room was nice and clean and had everything I needed for a present stay and good sleep.
Livingston was very helpful and friendly . I have been going around searching for something affordable to stay. I find Livingston is the best.
I never forget the little boy named Tasi he always come to me in the morning and say hi before he goes to school its a very nice place to stay while you want to explore the beauty of Samoa.
I would most defenately recommended this place for other travelers! =)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

If you wanna feel safe, I recommend Livingston Accommodation!!
Very friendly, kind and helpful people! Great location, simple way and approx 15min walk to town! The rooms are very spacious and clean, especially the bathroom! Has air con, fridge & t.v in the lounge! The fale's atmosphere are like your in a 'hideaway'!
So I highly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shellynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

we used this as our base whilst exploring Samoa and even though the weather was terrible we had a good time leaving each morning after the huge breakfast and returning in the evening to a comfy cottage with kitchen facilities across the yard for making snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My family and I stayed at Livingstones Accommodation for 5nights on our trip to Samoa in June this year 2009. It was a really good experience I learned from staying at Livingstone. That's my wife 3rd trip in Samoa, and my sons 2nd trip and my daughter's very 1st time. I was so happy and felt great that we came back home and none of us got sick or something wrong while we stayed at Livingstones. The room were clean, air condition and the service from Filia and the workers in the big house were awesome. The family members were really supportive. It's not far from town as well when you want to go for shopping. I'm so happy that my wife said to me that's her best trip ever. My kids had fun with Tasi the owner's son. My wife and I decided to stay at Livingstone on our next future trip if everything the same.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElijahNorthshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

This was my second time to Samoa. My best friends family (7 adults and 5 children) along with myself and my two children (ages 6 & 11) spent 3 weeks at the absolutely lovely accomodations of Livingstone Accomodations. Previously I had stayed in a Resort in Apia, which I believe, did not offer value for money. Although there was no pool, a very short walk up the road provided a lovely and refreshing swim in the local river. Admittedly it had quite a bit of rubbish lining the banks (I was told this occurred due to the torrential rain washing down from the mountains and bringing with it litter) but it was on the banks, and did not impeded in us all swimming in the river. Yes we got to hear the rooster crow everyday, but I had the exact same experience when staying in the resorts, so I figured, "Well its just part of the experience." The accomodation was clean, our hosts were absolutely wonderful, organising and booking tours for Savaii for us at a moments notice, and no request was to much. The room was clean, the airconditioning lovely and the kids loved spending time in the bigger fale with friends watching
DVD's and playing games when the rain was torrential. We all felt safe and secure with the kids and our possessions and had the best family holiday ever, with the kids still talking about it 8 weeks on.
Livingstone is a short walk from the main town of Apia, but I had hired a car. I would not have walked to Apia as it was so hot, but when we took a taxi, it only cost 4 tala. We met a lot of lovely visitors staying at the accomodation, and they were a bit more athletic than me, and walked to and from the main town without a problem. You do need to be aware of the dogs that tend to be very territorial and although we were not attacked, there were a couple of hairy moments on occasion when we were walking around various parts of Samoa.
We visited the Robert Louis Stevenson Estate, walked the track and swam in the Waterfall. If you are not physically fit, I would not reccommend walking the track. It is not an easy walk by any means and if I had of been warned how hard it was, I would not have spent 3 hours on what I lovingly term "Biggest Loser Samoan Style - Bush
Walk." We spent the day at the Piaula Cave Pool (a small fee of 5 tala per adult and 3 tala per child) - you cannot miss out on going, it was absolutely lovely (and there are public changing rooms and toilets). Take food with you and set up in the fales provided or under a tree, and it's wonderful. We also experienced the Papaseea Sliding Rock (3 tala per person). The track down to the waterfall is very basic, and coming back up the track is 40 minutes of excruitating hell for the unfit. BUT, very rewarding, the rocks are very slippery, and the kids swim shoes came in very handy (in fact this was true of all the swimming area's of Upolu due to the very volcanic nature of the island, there are more rocks than sand). We spent a day in Savaii and the beaches proved to be a lot more scenic than Upolu. Getting organised was that much of a hassle as you have to be at the Ferry 1 hour before sailing (both directions), and it was not what I would refer to as "User Friendly" as there were no "instructions" as to where to collect/purchase passenger tickets, where to park your car etc (but we got thru it without too many issues). We then spent most of our day swimming with the turtles and with the driving to the Turtle village and eating etc our day seemed to go very quickly. If I was to travel to Savaii again, I would stay for a few days.
In conclusion, things I would not leave the accomodation without:
Money - (50 - 100 tala); Insect Repellent; Sunscreen; Lava lava (1 each); Towels; Woven Fan; Swimming Costumes; Swimming Shoes; Change of clothes for the kids

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ordesagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We spent three days here on our arrival in Samoa earlier this year then a futher two days at the end of our stay after cancelling other pre-booked budget accomodation. We were met at the airport at 2am by our friendly host Poi, the price competing with any taxi. Apart fom the rooster that crowed next door early in the morning outside our window, the units are situated in a quiet location. We walked into Apia township a few times but the taxi fare was only $3 -$5 tala.

Filia and Poi, our hostess and host, were very welcoming, always friendly and very obliging so that we felt that we were part of their extended family. The rest of the staff were very friendly and obliging.

These relatively new units, linked by a covered walkway, were self contained with shower, basin and toilet, a small separate sitting room with TV ( though not terrific reception). It was very clean, with comfortable beds and simple but adequate furnishings. Meals were in a large fale where you could sit and chat or watch TV on a larger screen. The fale was fly screened and had fans - airconditioning might follow as new improvements are happening all the time.

Breakfasts were enormous - Samoan style, more than we could ever eat - 1/2 paw-paw each, heaps of bananas, and lashings of toast , eggs or spagetti jaffles. The kitchen was always available to make oneself tea or coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting some very interesting fellow guests from around the world.

If you are used to youth hostel type accommodation, and appreciate Aussie (yellow & green exterior colour scheme) rugby league (Panthers, Tigers etc unit names) you'll feel immediately at home.

1  Thank Sheepfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h_selene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apia hotels
0 mi away
Pasefika Inn
Pasefika Inn
#22 of 29 in Apia
90 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#19 of 29 in Apia
164 reviews
0 mi away
Samoa Tradition Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Amanaki Hotel
Amanaki Hotel
#5 of 29 in Apia
217 reviews
0 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
0 mi away
Galusina Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livingstone Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livingstone Accommodation

Address: | Maagao, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Livingstone Accommodation Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing