We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Valasi's Beach Fales
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Upolu
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
33
7
0
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
7
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain faleclamswe loved our staycultural experiencesamoan hospitalityhelenhostsaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 42 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Ross and Maria will make your Samoan holiday so special. Simple and Authentic Fales with good beds situated in a very nice clean village with excellent swimming and snorkelling just meters away. Restful with stunning views of the lagoon and beyond. Ross and Maria are very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Would recommend Le Valasi Beach Fales for a place to enjoy Upola's South coast.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank brownr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We dropped by to check out the bay and decided to go back the next day for a bite to eat and to go out to see the giant clams - amazing!
The main fale is a beautifully restored traditionally made fale and a credit to their hard work
Maria and Ross are welcoming and we will certainly look to stay there next time

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janene878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Although we didn't stay overnight here (due to the fact that we had already prepaid our accom), we will definitely book in next year. We only discovered this gem during a drive around Upolu. We stopped in for a morning tea break and ended up staying for 1 1/2 hours! Ross and Maria were very welcoming and we had a lovely, relaxing time and some great conversation. Everything was spotlessly clean, including restrooms (sadly, often a rarity in Samoa), and we look forward to staying on our next visit

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serenesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

What a paradise, and what BEAUTIFUL people Maria and Ross are!! From the moment we stepped into the lovingly restored main fale, we were treated like family. It's impossible not to feel welcome and at home here. Firstly, our hosts have rebuilt their beach side fales from Maria's family home, so immediately the place is imbued with history, love and a sense of warmth. Ask Ross and Maria about their journey rebuilding the site to the gorgeous beach side haven it is today, it's an incredible story! Secondly, with such down to earth hosts, both of whom are so attentive and yet, laid back and relaxed, you start to unwind immediately and just take it all in.

The beach fale themselves are just gorgeous. Very traditional but with special attention to the kind of detail that makes ALL the difference. Details like THE most comfortable bed we slept in in any of our travels, ever! Soft, supportive mattress, CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN linen (not that threadbare, damp stuff that seems standard in some places), soft, real pillows - not those lumpy things and, lo and behold, soft, clean,white, fluffy towels!!!! The mosquito nets are the real deal, not those tiny hand made things, and they cover the entire bed, although mosquitos are really not much of an issue at Le Valasi's - which was a welcome relief after 3 weeks of being eaten alive most other places! And then there's the clothes hooks AND hangers!! We longed for somewhere to hang our clothes in so many other places. There's solar lighting and a lovely little table and chairs to just sit in privacy and stare out at the stunning gardens.

The gardens are a joy. Maria has done an amazing job making the place look like the lush, tropical paradise it is!

The facilities (bathrooms) are shared and, again, the attention to detail here makes so much difference. Firstly, CLEAN - so CLEAN! The showers are spotless, there are lovely shower duckboards in all the bathrooms, and liquid soap, along with the lovely flower arrangements.

The main fale is where we ate our delicious meals...breakfast seemed never ending and was a fantastic variety of western and traditional, with cereals, toast, all manner of spreads (yep, vegemite too!), lots of REAL coffee in a PLUNGER!!!! And eggs, or omelette (oh, so delicious!) or Ross's famous pancakes - they were AWESOME, along with cocoa rice, porridge - you get the gist! Dinner was like a big, warm family affair with real, proper salad, delicious BBQ and more!

The beach here is fabulous - not a lot of sand but amazing snorkelling just a couple of metres from shore, not to mention the giant clam reserve at the door step.

When we were there, we had an opportunity for partake of traditional umu meal, and went along to the village dance which was just an amazing experience. This is the kind of place to get a true sense of fa'a Samoa!

Le Valasi's is a not to be missed experience, excellent value for money, and will steal a piece of your heart! It did ours, and we will be back FOR SURE!!

Room Tip: All the fale are lovely, private and well appointed!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tova W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

As we cycled along, famished after riding up and down an enormous hill/mountain we saw the sign "Coffee/Sandwiches" outside this beautiful and lovingly restored historic family fale. It seemed like an apparition and we were so glad we ventured in. Ross and Maria were warm, chatty and attentive hosts, and the lush sandwiches and real coffee hit the spot! Accommodation is also available in individual fales they have recently built. A great choice as a stopover on a tour of the Upolu or as a destination in itself.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews