We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's definitely a hideaway so be prepared”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upolu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samoa Hideaway Beach
Ranked #27 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Upolu
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's definitely a hideaway so be prepared”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This place is pretty much as their name suggests. It's hidden away from everything you even have to drive around to find the road which leads to the actual rd to the hideaway. It is definitely a place on it's own with nothing else to do around the resort except for the tours which the resort can provide. The rooms are beautiful diectly facing the water open the door and you're walking into your private beach. Great for honeymooners and those who definitely want to be away from everything (including Wifi and Internet connections) the resort has dial up. The staff are very very friendly especially the manager Ulugia who was always trying to accommodate us. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to spend time on their phone/laptop etc. This is a place for sleeping, swimming, eating and more sleeping, eating and swimming as that's practically all there is to do on the actual resort. There is definitely no evening entertainment currently available as this place is still developing. It's definitely worth returning in a few years time to see what the finish product looks like.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful they all open to the sand and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misslyssar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    8
    1
    7
See reviews for
7
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apia, Samoa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This place is well worth visiting for at least one night. With only 50 tala/person/night (excluding meals) it is truly worth staying over (of course you can stock up on water and food). Beach and water is - clean, turquoise blue with white silty sand. The fales are relatively big, bar and band provides good entertainment. Can rent kayaks to explore the long white shores. Showers are shared but clean. Overall, a must when in Upolu.

Room Tip: Lock valuables in car and carry a padlock to lock properties in the cupboards. Stock up on food and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy_feet80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, New Zealand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

The staff and management could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable. They were attentive, concerned for our comfort, helpful and friendly. We asked for a hire car that never eventuated after 24 hours so the manager lent us his car !

There is nothing to do in the surrounding area so unless you are content to just read, swim and sleep a car is a must. Car hire in Apia can be significantly cheaper than at the resort.

The resort is still being developed and is a bit of a 'work in progress' We stayed 5 nights in a western style bungalow with two double beds, efficient air con and plenty of space. However, there is a flat screen T.V, but no T.V. reception; the 'kitchen area seems to have been an after-thought stuck in a corner and although a new bulidng many of the materials seem to be second hand. There were no lines to hang clothes to dry but plenty of very hot water in the shower.

The room was not serviced during our stay but you only have to ask if fresh towels etc are required.

Sleep quality was good with comfortable beds, good air flow through the louvres and no roosters crowing in the morning !

This resort is almost 2 hours from the airport; the nearest petrol is 45 mins. west and apart from local villages there is nothing of interest within an hours walk in any direction.

Swimming off the beach is safe and warm; there is no coral to speak of and few fish to be seen snorkelling. Kayaks are available for hire.

We enjoyed our stay but would suggest a visit in a couple of years time when most systems and facilities should be up and running.

Room Tip: The palangi fales back from the beach and to the east are quieter, larger and better appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWideKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

If you want to stay on affordable and good quality beach fales, this is the place.

My partner and I stayed 1 night over Easter. Some parts of the place were still under construction, so when you go you might find a different place to what we experienced.

The fales are good size, with bed frames so you don't sleep on the floor and with mosquito nets. The fale we choose was right in front of the beach, great experience, although if you have a light sleep the sound of the ocean might be too loud for you. I have light sleep, couldn't sleep straight, but thought the experience was fantastic!

The staff went above and beyond for us. They even brought dancers from the village to perform the Fia Fia and they were amazing. We were offer the kayaks and the snorkels to be use during the day, which was very nice of them.

The location is good. The beach and the snorkelling its not the best to be honest, there are much better spots around the islands. What is good about the location is that they are close to this amazing lagoon call TOLE SUA SUA. They might not mention it and you will find that in Samoa you kind of have to find out by yourself about the site seeing, but this was the most beautiful place we saw on Upolu ( i will post some photos).

In other regards, the food could be better, at night they have live music which makes it entertaining (the owner loves karaoke) and the share bathrooms are very basic. But we got a fantastic rate and it was excellent value for money, and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SugarStick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Upolu hotels
18.2 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
40.2 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Ulalei Lodge
Ulalei Lodge
#14 of 34 in Upolu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
10.2 mi away
Matareva Beach Fales
Matareva Beach Fales
#4 of 28 in Upolu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
29.5 mi away
Leuaina Beach Resort
Leuaina Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Faleapuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoa Hideaway Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoa Hideaway Beach

Property: Samoa Hideaway Beach
Address: Matatufu Village, South East Coast, Upolu 00685, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Upolu
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samoa Hideaway Beach is Samoa's newest accommodation and seaside Restaurant & Bar. We have a choice of traditional Samoan Fales (Grass Huts) and self-contained bungalows, some of them 2 stories and set all along the beautiful sandy beach. We offer affordable on-site car rentals as well. The restaurant features many local seafood like fresh tuna steaks and lobster. Kayaks are available to explore the reef protected bay and Sky Blue lagoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Samoa Hideaway Beach Hotel Upolu
Samoa Hideaway Beach Upolu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing