We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant restaurant, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sails Restaurant

Sails Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 79 Restaurants in Upolu
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant restaurant, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We ate here on our final night in Samoa, on the recommendation of an Apia local we had met during our stay. It didn't disappoint, the setting was great and overlooking the harbour, the staff were friendly and the manager came and chatted to us as well. We shared the Oka as a starter, followed by a tuna steak with wasabi sauce, and a beef curry, and then banana fritters for desssert. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mande2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    16
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apia, Samoa
1 review
“Peace Chapel Christian School Year 8 Field Trip - Hospitality Industry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

PCCS y8 were treated by the Staff of Sails restaurant with a treasure of knowledge in all different aspects of the Hospitality Industry in Samoa. The children were organised in 6 groups - Management, Floor Management and team, Bar Staff, Kitchen staff, Accountant Rod Brown and trainees from APTC. The children rotated around each section motivated and keen as each team answered the childrens questions and shared their experiences on the benefits of working in this kind of industry.
The children not only had thier questions ansewred but they got to see the in action as they had activities in the kitchen and the bar where the children watched them in action and took part in some of the cooking in the kitchen. The field trip was concluded with a treat of scrmptios muffins which the children had all helped make and fruit smoothies. Jenny Hunt the manager ran a short session where final questions could be answered.
It was a fun packed and an extremely informative feild trip because Jenny and her dedicated staff made it a practical, hands on visit and that made all the difference! We loved how the Sails Restaurant have not only given back to their community through agreeing to our feild trip. They also provide church youth groups with opportunities for work experience by working for Sails when extra staff is needed for Functions. We felt this was a fantastic way of giving back to the community. Also they promote Samoa by informing clients from overseas of various tourist destinations to visit.
We are extremely grateful to the 'Sails Crew' for all they do through their restaurant to contribute to our Samoan economy. They made us feel so welcome and we left with a wealth of knowledge and understanding of how important this industry is to Samoa.

We highly recommend Sails Restaurant, not only for it's delilectable dishes but for its outstanding service. We wish Sails all the best for their future endeavours. We thank you so much for your assistance and love.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best meal in Samoa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We visted Sails on a Wednesday night based on the recommendation of a guest at our hotel. Being a wednesday Sails was quiet so we had the place mostly to ourselves. The super friendly service and fantastic food made for the best meal we had during our stay in Samoa.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wollop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had a light lunch here after walking along the sea wall from town. We were initially the only people in there so service was great. The waitress was very friendly and chatty and the food was served hot and well presented. My husband had the mussels which re rated highly and I had the bruschetta with a side of fries as vegetarian options very limited. The fries were hot and tasty and the topping on the bruschetta was generous if not a little too much garlic! The setting was lovely and if we hadn't been on a schedule we could have stayed there all afternoon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karina709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great overall dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a birthday dinner here in July. A lovely ambience and feel, listening to the 6-peice band (which only had 4 people - but that's Samoa! haha) and most of us enjoyed our meals. I had the burger, which was delicious. Two of our party got the mahimahi steak - which was huge, and they loved it! One of our party ordered the oka (raw fish) but as a main instead of entree - she was a little disappointed that it was still a small bowl, and cost 30 tala.
This restaurant ticks all the boxes - seaside open restaurant, band in the evenings (for a dance if you feel up to it) great food - perhaps not a huge selection. The prices are above average - however not as steep as other restaraunts down the road!
I would definately go back here next time I am in Samoa!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lagoongirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sails Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing