We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Luisa's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Luisa's”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I have just spent a week working with a film crew in Savai'i and had a great experience at Lusia's. We stayed in the new rooms and they were just what we needed at the end of a busy day - clean, air-conditioned and great showers. The surrounding trees make it cooler than other places we visited and the breeze off the lagoon is heavenly! All the staff were lovely and did all they could to accomodate a big group. The deck over the lagoon is one of the best spots on the island, and we couldn't wait to swim at the end of the day. A fresh water spring flows into the sea under the deck and cools it just enough to make it refreshing. The food is good and the beer is cold! Perfect.
Facilities wise, Lusia's is close to the ferry and the market but you still feel like you are in a private location. The massage in the little spa chalet was fantastic with the sound of the sea and wind sending you into a trance.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienneK_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    109
    42
    7
    7
See reviews for
48
150
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Great location in a lagoon (you might have guessed). You can walk there from the ferry terminal in a few minutes but they also have a small parking lot for those who have a rental car. I preferred the over-the-water-fale with their decks looking out on the lagoon. You could jump in the water from your deck for a morning swim. The fale itself was pretty luxurious (by fale standards...) with mosquito net, electric light, power socket, two chairs, a shelf, lockable door. If you feel uncomfortable over the water there are also bungalows in the lush garden. The communal toilets & showers are clean and work well. Good restaurant, kayaks for rent, snorkeling equipment too. Massage offered. About the only downside is that they don't have a beach. Still a great place!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Two families travelled to the Island of Savaii and found Lusia's Lagoon Chalets. This resort, while basic in accommodation, made all of us feel at home.

We stayed in the Lagoon Ensuite Chalets and found a clean room that had ample room for a family of four. On arrival we were greated by Tui, he showed us to the deck, provided the adults with a cool refreshing Valima then turned his attention to four eager children showing them the rock pool, fish to feed and areas where they could jump into the lagoon from the decks.

The food was amazing, breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks. Breakfast was not the usual buffet style, we were given many choices from bacon and eggs to pancakes, and also some of the best coffee we had tasted in a long time. Dinner was also fantastic, sampling some of the best curries and prawn dishes at the suggestion from the staff.

We all enjoyed, both adults and children, spending the afternoons jumping off the decks into the lagoon and amusing ourselves chasing the fish life or cruising on the free canoes. We also had the friendly fish bump us many times as we climbed the ladders back to our decks.

The early mornings and late afternoons were spent looking out towards the ocean and thinking....If only we could stay longer.

My children claim that this was the best part of their two week holiday in Samoa, and I agree. Tui and all the other staff made us feel at home. Would highly recommend this as a place to stay and enjoy that the island of Savaii has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Stayed at Lusia's Lagoon Chalets on two different occasions during the same vacation in Western Samoa. At our son's recommendation (he is serving there in the Peace Corps), we booked this particular hotel. We booked it through an online Western Samoan hotel site. Just as a side note, when we arrived in Apia at 5:30am and went to the first hotel on our trip (Aggie Grey's, on the island of Upolu), they did not have a record of us (fortunately, I had the emails and booking confirmations, and we did get our rooms). It was a good reminder that, when traveling, much of the world does not 'work' the way the US does, which is exactly what makes traveling to exotic places such an adventure! By the time we traveled to the island of Savai'i for our stay at Lusia's, we had already called ahead to verify our reservations, and had no problems.

We went to Western Samoa to experience a different environment and a more leisurely way of life, and that is what we got! The hotel is unique, located right in the middle of a jungle, with a wooden walkway from the lobby/restaurant right out to the lagoon, and the fales or ensuites all surrounded by plants and trees on either side of the walkway. While there we observed (no noise!) construction on a more modern (Westernized?) building being added to the hotel, so perhaps they'll soon be able to offer two types of stays - one for those of us wanting to celebrate a unique culture, and one for those wanting a more Westernized holiday destination?

My husband and I got an air-conditioned garden ensuite (we are from Arizona, so we are used to the heat; but the humidity was a killer) which was a two minute walk from the lagoon), but two of our adult sons stayed in a fale overlooking the water where you could just jump into the sea. The mosquito nets over the covered sleeping mats in our sons' rustic fale worked and they used shared bathroom facilities. In our garden ensuite, we had an electric fan, mini-fridge, a very effective electric bug zapper, and hot water in the shower. Dusk and early mornings were spectacular - birds in the trees, a dip in the quiet rock pool fed by the sea, snorkeling out on the reef, swimming and kayaking right off the deck of the lagoon, beverages and meals brought out to the deck at our request from the main lobby/restaurant area, and, at night, bats visible in the huge tree overlooking the lagoon.

Meals were fresh and flavorful, and all were off a menu (no impersonal buffets). For dinner, I would especially recommend the fish pansit (the fish was freshly caught, and the pansit is a Filipino noodle dish) and the palusami (rich coconut cream on taro leaves - absolutely delicious and worth every calorie!). Breakfast (included in the cost of the room) included eggs any style, pancakes, wonderful coffee, and freshly sliced fruit. All meals were cooked to order, leaving plenty of time for leisurely drinks, conversation, meeting other guests, and even a game of billiards. Lusia accommodated us for an early breakfast on our last morning (we had to be at the ferry one hour early since we were taking the rental car back across on the ferry). The night before we left we went ahead and settled up our accounts (credit card was fine) and told Lusia what we wanted for breakfast. It was ready for us the next morning.

The staff (particularly owner Lusia and staff members Tui and Ana) is what makes this 'the' place to stay on the island of Savai'i. Also - I noticed that another reviewer had commented on 'Henry', the small fish that lurks near the bottom step of the deck ladder into the lagoon, and I am happy to report that he was still there!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieAZArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We ended up staying longer than planned. The lagoon bungalows although romantic over the water, are pretty small - containing just a bed and a mosquito net. The verandah over the water is stunning though.
After the first night we opted for one of the garden chalets...with an ensuite. The decor was basic but clean.
The food here is really good. Fresh. The service is great too...even when there is a bit to wait at dinner.
We enjoyed the opportunity to meet the different people staying here during meal times. The restaurant becomes a bit like a stage set.....quite intriguing to observe all the comings and goings. This place is relaxing and authentic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalgurrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

stayed 2 nights in a lagoon chalet...the room is very basic...even a bit too rustic..rates weren't exactly the budget type...we were definitely paying for the experience to sleep in an overwater bungalow..to be honest, I didn't sleep well..nights were windy so the sea would get very choppy and I'd wake up abruptly with the sound of water flapping against the poles and thinking the room got flooded...the deck is very nice and lagoon was great for swimming when waters were calm...I found the restaurant to be very good...bathrooms need to be cleaned regularly since they're shared and not many available...we were treated like friends since I actually sat next to the owner (or the owner's husband) on the flight from AKL-APW but didn't know this until we actually got to the place and found out from the staff when they saw us arriving together (he still never mentioned it during the whole time we were there)..they organized us an island tour, took care of laundry, made sure we were having a good time...will definitely stay here again but probably prefer to book a garden fale next time..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buquing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I spent a week travelling around Savaii and stayed at Luisia's the first night of our trip. After staying at several other places over the next 5 days we decided to return to Lusia's for the last 2 nights due to the quality of service and relaxing beautiful surroundings. Lusia has created a lovely range of accomodation set amoungst beautiful bush and garden surroundings that go all the way down to the lagoon. The bush surroundings was a welcome retreat from the heat of Samoa, and swimming was fantastic - warm, clean and deep waters. There's a large deck which you can dive off and it's easily deep enough so no worries about the low/high tide. The food was delicious - probably some of the nicest food we had on Savaii, and the service was incredibly warm, friendly, and always very helpful. I would love to return to Lusia's - a great place to really relax and enjoy the gardens, bush, sea, food, ambience and spend some quality time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
7.6 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
6.9 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
23.5 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
23.3 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lusia's Lagoon Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lusia's Lagoon Chalets

Property: Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Address: South Coast Rd, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lusia's Lagoon Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, boutique resort located on the Big Island of Savai'i in Salelologa. If you are looking for somewhere a little different, somewhere relaxing, we are the place you have been looking for! Located conveniently - get off the ferry at Salelologa wharf turn left. Lusia's Lagoon Chalets is a five minute walk or 1 minute drive from the wharf at Salelologa, Savaii. At Lusia's you can walk through a natural Samoan forest amongst the towering and rare native ifilele trees. Take a dip in our turquoise lagoon, or for the more adventurous, you may like to snorkel or kayak and view the amazing variety of marine life. In the evening, enjoy a satisfying meal in CC's Restaurant & Bar, or you may like to have your meal served to you on our deck situated on the edge of our lagoon. Accommodation ranges from self contained air conditioned units, shared facility "over the water fales" and budget accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lusia's Lagoon Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusia`s Lagoon Chalets Hotel Salelologa
Lusias Lagoon Chalets Salelologa
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing