We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My girlfriend and i, and another couple, friends of ours, were lucky enough to stay at lusia's lagoon chalets in May this year. Unfortunatly our stay was only 2 nights before moving to our next destination so it was short but sweet. The staff were fantastic! we arrived hungry at about 3.30pm and the kitchen staff had just packed up from lunch but were more than happy to cook us up some grilled chicken sandwitches. we stayed in the chalets that were on the water with our own private balcony overlooking the beautiful blue lagoon. swimming from the balcony was made easy by the ladder up to the balcony, and there was plenty to look at when snorkeling right out the front of the rooms.
While on holiday we made the point of never eating at the same resteraunt twice so we could try as many different places as possible, we were quick to find that we should hav made an exception whilst at lusia's because the other resteraunt we went to(the shot over) was not so good. lusia's on the other hand was great. alot better food, excelent service and some nice cocktails.
the reception staff were very helpfull. they organised a car for us for the day and informed us of some decent site seeing. On the morning we had to leave we had an 8oclock ferry to catch and were a bit worried about missing it because we also had a flight to catch. we got to reception to check out at 7am expecting to not hav time for breakfast but lusia refused to let us get on the ferry on an empty stomach. she quickly organised a cooked breakfast for us und personaly drove us down to the ferry on time.
Lusias lagoon chalets are far from a five star resort but for people like us who like to enjoy the experience and culture aswell as some beautiful surroundings and more personal relationships with the staff, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blacky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    109
    42
    7
    7
See reviews for
48
150
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We recently spent a night in an over the water fale, we loved the rustic feel of the fale with its wobbly looking legs and the palm frond sides. I think you need to look at Lusia's for the location and the experience of the fale, we would have been disappointed if we had stayed in any other accommodation type here, they didn't have the charm of the water fale's. The food was enjoyable, however we were a disappointed when we ordered a banana smoothie only to find it was not made with fresh bananas but banana syrup!!
Definitely kayak out on the lagoon, especially when the wind dies down in the late afternoon, it is so peaceful and the bird song is also a treat.
We loved our night at Lusia's.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCliffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Lusia's is a typical Samoan outfit, all smiles, friendly, but when you really look a little closer it's pretty average.

I stayed for two nights with my daughters after 7 days of traveling around both islands. For me it was my second trip to Samoa, and I am very familiar with the accommodation on offer.

Without wanting to sound overly negative, here are the bad points (because they are easier to rattle off!)

- Road noise, heavy machinery across the road, main truck route (if staying in the $300 tala a night rooms)

- Position - located in THE worst town in Samoa - Salelologa - what a dump! Check out Lonely Planet's comments!

- Rooms clean, bathrooms clean, but I would suggest not hygienic - there is a difference! Crap and old soap in shower, plug broken in basin, bits of tap laid out on shelf - which will be there for a few months yet I bet.

****** CAUTION: The hot water is SCALDING hot - if traveling with younger kids, take care.

CC's Bar and Restaurant

- "Rated "best restaurant on Savaii" in Lonely Planet" - Trust me, that's no accolade! Bill's fast food up the road would knock them off the top spot!

- Food average - expensive at 24-28 tala - although good servings.

- How can a Samoan cafe run out of fish? Well they did and they had just started serving dinner!

Positive points;

- They are friendly
- Some free activities
- A wide exit to drive through...

Personally after the 1st night I would have booked somewhere else, but as we were leaving the next day, there was little point, as we had a rental car and could travel.

Do not stay here and think you are going to see the best of Samoa, you will leave with a less than impressive story to tell.

Manase is 40 or so minutes north, do yourself a favour...

Room Tip: Grab a bus and head north 40 mins to Manase - white sand, palm trees and beautiful water - that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

First of all im so sorry for not writing this sooner even though its been almost 5 months since I stayed there but better late than never. Stayed for 3 nights in a waterfront ensuite chalet. Room was nice, was surprised to see just a double bed which im sure I was not going to share with my male travelling partner but staff were quick to get another bedding in the room set up. Rooms had, fridge, a/c, fan, hot and cold water, shower with pressured water, clean linen and towels. Loved the balcony over the lagoon and your own ladder down into the water. There was no t.v in the room at the time even though there was a tv stand hanging in the corner, but that didnt worry us coz last thing you need when your on holiday is to be watching tv. The Staff made the stay enjoyable, very friendly, welcoming and nothing was a problem for them. Staff even came to the room to ask if we needed dinner or breakfast knowing we probably hadnt eaten anything that day. Service was fast when ordering drinks even bringing them to our room. CC's restaurant which has to be said is the best restaurant in Savaii, I have eaten here on several occassions and the food is great!! Location is beautiful, tranquil and close to the ferry terminal. Some evenings you can hear the bass sounds coming from the nearby night club but that was nothing compared to the music blasting from my mini speakers over the balcony that night. Makes me chuckle a bit reading other reviews of people complaining about mosquito's.....common its the Tropix what do you expect??? Of course take repellent!!! Had a beautiful view of the ocean with the full moon shining onto the lagoon and even saw fruit bats flying over the lagoon as well which was just spectacular. I have travelled to many places and stayed in many luxurious hotels and resorts but Lusia's Lagoon Chalets is affordable, clean, basic staff are very friendly, approachable, helpful yet not too overbearing and they respect your privacy compared to other resorts. Goes to show you dont have to stay in places that have expensive pools or exotic health spas to enjoy the simple things in life. Like this owner who started only with a few nails and some pieces of wood anything is possible. Thank you for lovely experience and will definately see you soon!!! Oh and check out Uncle Bills too, short distance from Lusia's, loved their fish and chips.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Went to Lusia's after getting off the ferry from Upolo - just for breakfast. Had the pancakes - they were amazing. Service was really fast. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. They also told us what to go and see. Didn't stay the night as we were traveling on around the island. Would go and stay next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We turned up to Lusia's Lagoon Chalets and had a look at the waterfront fales, which were very quaint and romantic, and told that one was available. When returning later that day we were told that the lagoon fale was gone but that there was still a garden fale available. As it was late in the day and Salelologa is not exactly full of other options, we had no choice but to take up this option. It was a TINY TINY cardboard box of a construction with a dirty mattress on the floor, a ripped mosquito net and nothing else, it was hard to believe that such a room could exist in this day and age. I am not really fussy and quite like roughing it and getting back to basics but this accommodation was absolutely unbelievable. We also had some serious concerns about how the staff were treated by the owner. I would not give this place your money just on principle.

Room Tip: Do not even consider staying in a Garden Fale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Notmyactualname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow,Russia
Level Contributor
625 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I spent here 3 nigths thats more than enough for such kind of experience. I mean a lot of mosquitos everywhere - chalet, bathroom, restaurant. Anti mosquitos net is ok, but you should use mosquito repellent even when you taking a bath. In general i like: kayaks, food at restaurant and drinks. Chalets are very cheap to stay. My chalet NINA was basic and the door does not close. Guys please fix it. Change the lock please. Location is very good - short walk from ferry terminal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSK-RUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
7.6 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
6.9 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
23.5 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
23.3 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lusia's Lagoon Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lusia's Lagoon Chalets

Property: Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Address: South Coast Rd, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lusia's Lagoon Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, boutique resort located on the Big Island of Savai'i in Salelologa. If you are looking for somewhere a little different, somewhere relaxing, we are the place you have been looking for! Located conveniently - get off the ferry at Salelologa wharf turn left. Lusia's Lagoon Chalets is a five minute walk or 1 minute drive from the wharf at Salelologa, Savaii. At Lusia's you can walk through a natural Samoan forest amongst the towering and rare native ifilele trees. Take a dip in our turquoise lagoon, or for the more adventurous, you may like to snorkel or kayak and view the amazing variety of marine life. In the evening, enjoy a satisfying meal in CC's Restaurant & Bar, or you may like to have your meal served to you on our deck situated on the edge of our lagoon. Accommodation ranges from self contained air conditioned units, shared facility "over the water fales" and budget accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lusia's Lagoon Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusia`s Lagoon Chalets Hotel Salelologa
Lusias Lagoon Chalets Salelologa
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing