We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation choice in Savaii”
Review of The Savaiian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Savaiian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed at the Savaiian Hotel for one night on our way to the beaches on the northern coast. The hotel is not too far from the wharf where the ferry docks. It is not located on a beach, but there is a pool to cool down in. The Savaiian was well priced and clean. We ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. The food was of a reasonable standard and very well priced for Samoa. I don't know if I'd stay there for an extended period of time, but it was great for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 232 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2010

Self-contained rooms are available but we had a 'budget fale' - double bed + two singles - set amid a tropical garden running down to the shore with chickens roaming free and a myriad of birds and butterflies in the trees. Fale had screened louvred windows, ceiling fan and a floor fan for ventilation. Simple 'ensuite' toilet and shower room. Not a swimming beach but there is a pleasant pool by the shore. Bar, lounge and dining area open to view of the lagoon and reef beyond. Delicious food, charming owners and staff - would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxtonCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Great hosts. Poi is doing everything: manager, cook, tourist guide, taxi...

Plenty of space for kids. Safe and secure.
They provide a cot and a high chair for our little one.

The fales are nice. They are clean. No bugs. Cold water but you get use to it. You don't need air con and you've got some fans if you need.

Delicious meals. No need to go anywhere else to buy food. Try the Savaiian style fish, it's delicious. If you want, they propose you also some sandwiches for lunch. It's just perfect!

When we were there, there were some works on the beach waterfront but nothing noisy. I don't know when it will be over. It's to follow government regulation.

There's a pool and some hammocks to relax. Perfect when the weather is so hot...

The only noise was the 6am Gym class which is run for the village. Starting with ringing bells followed by loud music for 20 minutes. I think it has just started and Poi is trying to fix that. I think they should move it down the road... For us it was part of the folklore... Otherwise you can join the lesson. It's free!

We went for a tour with Poi. First stop the market. Nothing interesting really. I was very
disappointed by what you can buy in Samoa. We didn't bring back any clothes, caps,... We haven't found anything to our taste. The tour took us to the blowholes, the waterfalls (nice swim there). it was really nice and interesting. After the waterfalls, we wanted to go to the beach so Poi dropped us to the Aganoa Beach Retreat. Great snorkeling there. You should go! The place organises some Surf safaris if you are interested. The staff was very friendly and gave us a ride back to our hotel. :)

The following day, we went at Joelan Beach Fale but maybe we should have stopped the taxi before in front of the Siufaga Beach Resort. The beach is beautiful on this coast. At Joelan's you've got your own fale directly on the beach. An image of paradise. There are some toilet and showers. The snorkeling there was OK (maybe we start to be difficult). Bring your bottles as they've got nothing to offer to drink.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Our last few days in samoa and we were pleased we chose the Savaiian. The quiet is really appreciated after early morning dogs, rosters( sometimes all night) and buses in other places. Loved the hammocks on the waterfront and the pool ( although they were a bit slow cleaning it while we were there and the last day it wasnt usable because of green slime/algae- but hopefuly they have learnt from that) the fan fale was good value at 100 wst spacious, cool and own bathroom. Meals were cheap at 15- 25 wst, not enough info on arrival and reception often not open but we found things we needed. everyone was friendly, will be back hopefuly next year

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amysmum578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cobno456, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2010

Thankyou amysmum for your review!We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sincerest apologies about the pool, we have been sourcing a new filter pump as the previous one was playing up. We have installed a new pump literally today! and hope that keeps the pool nice and inviting! hope you can come back and stay with us again in the future! regards
Savaiian hotel Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

The Savaiian is the BEST place to stay while in Savaii. Well priced with amazing service and rooms to accompany you. Poi and his wife Nola are the best hosts and treat their guests like family. I had the pleasure of staying there for 6 weeks for a practicum and I plan to return after graduation. I would recommend this place to anyone that wants an amazing cultural experience while traveling! Samoa is beautiful, and Savaii is especially beautiful in it's natural traditional wonder. The people are so helpful and always welcome you to their village. Anyone who doesn't travel well on boats, get your gravol, the ferry might be the most of your worries, but once you get to the Savaiian let all your worries leave you and prepare for paradise....

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnurse69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I completely agree with all the excellent reviews. You can stay in your own bungalow, dont need ac because the fans they have are so strong you will shiver. Quiet relaxing spot. Laze in the hammock in the beach side fale all day long. Play chess, checkers, monopoly or table tennis, kayak, snorkel and enjoy the excellent food and great service. They dont have a beach, but neither do most of the places that charge you about 5 times more. If you are a beach person, take a 10 minute ride up to Siufaga beach (1 tala per person by bus each way). You can even go and use the awesome facilities at the Siufaga Beach resort (they have a great swimming pool with a pool bar and spa) for the price of a drink without paying for accomodation in the most expensive resort on Savaii. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain by staying at the Savaiian.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Me and my friend have totally enjoyed the stay at Savaiian Hotel, not as pretty as a resort, not as classy as a hotel, it really is a motel, is above standard for the price. Its not a beach, remember to bring swimming shoes, its rocky shoreline, great and safe for kayaking which we did almost everyday! The food is good, relax at the bar, dont expect too much of the swimming pool, its small and chest high only, but its so hot there that you just enjoy and relax anyway. Its close enough to the main town of Savaii, go to the market and walk about, take the bus for a ride. Tried to eat out one night, it was disaster, so learn my lesson to stay in for dinner, Poi is a good cook. My best time in Savaii is the day tour with Poi, up to the vocanic crater, dream of gaint creatures and little people settlement within the wild unseen forest inside the crater; to the seashore with powerful force of nature, the blowholes and the coral little fish on the rock pool, where did they come from? Finally to the waterfall and swim in its pool to cool down for the day. A tour is a must do when go to Savaii, you just can not get to these places on your own, a guide is needed. Savaiian Hotel is highly recommended for a buget and comfortable holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
3.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
235 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
3.8 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
322 reviews
21 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savaiian Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 7009, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range: $32 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savaiian hotel offers comfortable affordable accommodation in 6 self contained units with aircon/en suite bathroom/hotwater/fridge/tea coffee/patio/kitchen facilities available as well as 5 traditional styled fales for those on a tighter budget-all fully screened with ceiling fan and en suite. We provide haven to those wanting to get away from the busy city life and you will not forget your stay in the tranquil village of Lalomalva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Savaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaiian Hotel Salelologa
Savaiian Motel Salelologa
The Savaiian Hotel Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing