We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savaiian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Savaiian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

Staying at the Savaiian was everything I expected and a whole lot more. My room was just fine with some spectacular views. The owners, Poi and Nola, were terrific......always so approachable and helpful. The food in their restaurant was just incredible. My main reason for coming to Savaii was to visit an ancient site called Pulemelei. It's not one of the most accessible sites on the island, it involved a long tortuous hike. I nearly passed out in the heat but Poi and a friend took me there and brought me back safely. The hotel staff alone make you want to return, together with the comfortable rooms, quiet and peaceful surroundings make this an excellent choice!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KALflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    79
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
57
87
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

A fantastic place to stay, beautiful place and definitely value for money. The host Poi is very helpful and planned a few days activities for us, including a sightseeing day with Warren who was basically a walking encyclopedia, just full of knowledge. The food at the hotel was second to none, the price and the portions were unbeatable and the taste was even better.

I definitely recommend this hotel to others who are not going to stay at the ultra expensive resorts. The only reason why those places are better is the location but there are fantastic beaches only a 5-10 minute bus ride away. If I go back to Samoa the Savaiian Hotel will be the place I will stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reganol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

My Partner & I, had recently got married, we were on our honeymoon, because we stayed with family in the villages, we decided to spoil ourselves, by staying at a resort, what better place to stay in Savaii, than The Savaiian Hotel, it was a hot day, when we arrived in Savaii, after booking in & meeting the owners & staff, we settled in to a self contain fale, located infront of the water,even jumped in the above ground pool.
The owners were great, Poi & Nola, always there for assistance, whether it'd be for breakfast, lunch or tea, including an evening Vailima to whine down & deep & meaningful chats. The staff were more than helpful, we can't express our much our stay at The Savaiian Hotel, meant to us enough, we even hired the hotel's car, so we got to explore the beauty of Savaii, swimming with the turtles & at the Mu Pagoa Waterfall as well, was a highlight. We will pass on our experiences to all our friends & family in Australia, already planning on heading back to Samoa for a friend's gathering in 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAINTV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Based, Worldwide Bound
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

Upon driving into the Savaiian, the relaxing setting starts to take the stress away immediately. A warm friendly welcome from the Manager Poi with a beaming smile tells you this is going to be a stay to remember.

The main reception / dining hall is absolute waterfront, you could skip rocks over the smooth glassy water from your table if you wish, but that would just ripple the surface. The outlook is an uninterrupted view directly back to the main island of Upolu, out across a lagoon and reef.

The rooms are simple, but add perfectly to the whole feeling of the hotel. We stayed in a bungalow which was totally open style, basically a hut with a Queen bed, 2 single beds and a table and chairs in the main room, and a bathroom off the back seperated by a door. That was it, but it was ideal. Our room had a ceiling fan and a pedestal fan, and the beds were very comfortable. There were louvre windows all round for ample ventilation as well. I could see that these bungalows have the potential to get quite hot in the middle of summer, however there is also an air conditioned option if you want it at a slightly higher rate. Our bungalows were spaced around a huge open grassed area, with a massive beautiful tree as its central point. You drive right to your front door no matter which room you are in. The waterfront bungalows are lined on the other side of the grassed area (you could play a game of Kirikiti in here quite comfortably!!) along the edge of the lagoon, with a fresh water pool at one end. Dont dive in the pool!!!!

The food in the restaurant is excellent, and ample servings on everything we tried. The breakfast supplied in the room rate was fresh fruit prepared and presented very well, and in ample amounts. A hot breakfast is available at an additional charge.

Snorkelling and Kayaking are available, with a decent paddle out to the reef ahead of those who are keen. The snorkelling was average coral / fish wise, however the area for it is massive and very enjoyable.

The greatest part of this hotel for us though was the service. Every enquiry was met with a willing and helpful response. Poi sat with us over a couple of drinks and offered advice on things to see and do around the island, as we had mentioned we were going to drive around the island the following day. The local knowledge was appreciated, as some of the things we had planned on doing had been closed down, and others that ended up highlights we had not considered up to that point.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay, and highly recommended if you are going to Savai'i.

Things to do and see on Savai'i:

- The Virgins Grave: when the lava flowed through Saleaula in 1905, the grave of a nun was amazingly left uncovered in the middle of a huge lava flow. The grave is visible at the bottom of a large steam vent in the lava.

- Saleaulu Methodist Church: at the same entrance as the Virgins grave, this concrete church was overcome by the lava flow at the same time, leaving the concrete walls still standing. You can see sections of the iron roofing embeded in the Lava, and amazingly a large tree and other plant life can be found growing out of the flow inside the church. This was a must see for us.

- Swimming with Turtles: at Satoalepai there are wetlands where you can swim with large green turtles which are raised in the part fresh / part salt water sanctuary. Althought turtles are great, the sanctuary itself is in need of some TLC as the water appears dirty and detracts from the experience. The turtles appear a little distressed :(. There is apparently another option at Namua island where you will see them in a more natural environment.

- Lovers Leap: this is a majestic area of sheer cliffs dropping into the ocean, where you will see the ocean swells crashing into the rock cliffs, providing a specatcular view (and photo opportunity). Ask one of the locals to tell you the legend of how the area got its name. They will happily tell you :)

- Alofaaga Blowholes: A must see!!! Therse blowholes are some of the best in the world, and we were fortunate enough to catch them on one of their best days (yes it may have needed a tragic Tsunami in other areas of the country the same day, but it made this area mind blowing!). Gather some coconuts and walk out to right beside the blowholes. Dropping them in at exactly the right time will deliver a coconut rocket, just be wary of where they are coming back down again!! The water jets easily reach over 30 metres high, and the noise and volume of water is incredible. Be aware, you and any camera equipment you take out will get drenched, so make sure it is waterproof ;)

*** NB : We had planned on doing the canopy walk at Falealupo, however were advised that the attraction had actually been closed due to safety concerns. There are still a few enterprising locals who will accept the entry fee though, as you would need to pay it before you get to the area where you are made aware you can go up one tree and then the rest is closed off. Up to you if you want to risk it, we didn't.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grimaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Chose the Savaiian based upon others reviews and deducing that quality in Samoa might be quite limited.
Am very pleased indeed at having done so as the calibre of the hosts was of the highest standard.
From being picked up at the ferry to the complimentary sandwich on arrival to the exceptionally reasonable charges all aspects were commendable.
Poy (please excuse my spelling) as host was 2nd to none, totally genuine, willing to assist in any way and knowledgeable. The accommodation itself was fine, the restaurant food was lovely and he even endeavoured to provide live music whenever numbers allowed, Car hire was available as were tours and free kayaks.
The setting on the water was also very attractive. Breakfast was very pleasant.
Gratitude to Nola, Mat and Alex as well - nice, decent people - and for the little considerations such as the Uma display and the pointing in the direction of the adjacent ice cream shop. The raised pool is a nice touch and adds to attractions for families.
One other point to note is that the waterfront at the hotel is only suitable with reef shoes (which I believe the hotel provides).However there are nice sand beaches quite close by.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swansonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Wow, what an experience. I am not sure if there is any accommodation on Savaii that matches the Savaiian Hotel. If you do not want the "on the beach experience" in the fale's (we heard many a story, I can tell you) this is the place. While the Savaiian has four fale's available, their fale's are luxury compared to the on beach fale!!

The main stay of the place is the incredible reception hall, an extension of your living room, recently built opposite the original (huge) fale, meeting place. Then there are 4 ocean front bungalows and 2 others behind with lots of space around them and the four fale near the mango trees (photo)

We based ourselves at the Savaiian and explored the island from there. It is a home away from home in that you have your privacy in the bungalow, air con, hot water, queen bed, separate bathroom and very relaxing verendah with an incredible view of the lagoon, the outer reef, the main Island of Uplou and best of all the most incredible sunrise each morning.
Big thanks to Poi for helping with day tours to blowholes and turtles, waterfalls & trips to town & beaches ($5 beach fale all day, all close by and near shops)

Breakfast, lunch and dinner was fabulous whilst enjoying a beautiful view of the island.(Great live band too on Saturday night and by request!)
This was the highlight of our trip! We are so glad we stayed at the Savaiian Hotel for our 7 nights, as many others we met wished they had done the same.

Thank you so much to Poi,Nola,Adria,Alex & team.

We can't wait to come back! We highly recommended the Savaiian Hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonflyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stay here for a week and we love it.. The owner and family and the staff were so friendly and we really enjoy staying there.. Mosquito free and its a very family place. We enjoy our privacy and the food was so beautiful... We all love staying there and we will do it again when we go there for holiday... We recommend this place to anyone who want to escape there for privacy and so forth...... Thanks Savaiian Hotel for making our staying there so enjoyable... We love it and we really enjoy it....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blossom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
10.6 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
19.0 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
19.0 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savaiian Hotel

Property: The Savaiian Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 7009, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savaiian hotel offers comfortable affordable accommodation in 6 self contained units with aircon/en suite bathroom/hotwater/fridge/tea coffee/patio/kitchen facilities available as well as 5 traditional styled fales for those on a tighter budget-all fully screened with ceiling fan and en suite. We provide haven to those wanting to get away from the busy city life and you will not forget your stay in the tranquil village of Lalomalva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Savaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaiian Hotel Salelologa
Savaiian Motel Salelologa
The Savaiian Hotel Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing