We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing 5 days at the Savaiian , Lalomalava”
Review of The Savaiian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Savaiian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed 5 days at the Savaiian hotel in a Samoan styled bungalow. the accommodation is basic, but tidy and comfortable with nice cool showers to cool down from the heat. We spent most nights sitting on our balcony enjoying a Vailima or 3!!!!! the hotel has a beautiful compound right on the ocean with a nice bar and restaurant Fale, which we spent most of our time in!!. the service is AMAZING! Thanks to the receptionist Via and all the other staff for welcoming us with a warm smile and hello every morning. there is a brand new pool right on the ocean so we made good use of that. You cant swim directly off the shoreline but if you kayak 300 meters off shore there is islands to park your kayak, and some great snorkelling and swimming spots with lots of coral. Make sure you do the tours , we did the north coast tour of the island which included the lava fields and ruins, swimming with turtles and much more. the price included lunch and a very informative guide. if a taxi offers you a tour I would give it a miss and go for the hotels, much better value. just a quick tip a taxi ride is 15 tala to town and 20 tala to the markets, make sure a price is agreed first as a taxi tried to charge us 100 tala to the hotel , but thankfully the receptionist told him otherwise. We really enjoyed our time at the savaiian and will definitely return. recommend to anybody who wants fantastic service in a beautiful spot for a reasonable price. TOFA , FAAFETAI, see you again soon!!!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in a fale I, I think they have 5,which was great value and private - perfect for us. but i...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for The Savaiian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

I keep coming back to the Savaiian because it offers the things that are important for me- value for money, excellent hospitality and customer service, somewhere nice to swim, affordable food with plenty of fish & vegies, nice setting, good facilities...
Its a treat to have a private spacious enclosed fale with a private bathroom for only 75 tala 1 pax (105 for 2pax) and I enjoy the breakfast with filter coffee,fresh fruit and a variety of local food .
I appreciate that the owners are continually improving their place, and care about what their customers think- they are the only place I saw on my visit to samoa that asked for customer feedback.
For all these reasons I keep coming back

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amysmum578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The staff at the Savaiian Hotel made us feel very welcome and were always friendly. A peaceful setting with a wonderful sun rise this is what greeted my wife and I when we stayed at the hotel for over two weeks. The food was delicious and there was plenty on offer. We met some wonderful guest that made our stay a memorable one. It was a privilege to attend the marriage of Craig and Maritta, we both wish them a long and happy life together. So our thanks to the management and staff for a holiday never to be forgotten. As for the Roosters get over it. Skid and Lesley. UK

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The first thing you notice is that they are thinking about their roles as service providers. A sign next to reception says "reviews are gems", so here's one!
An excellent first impression. Hello mr .., you are staying for 6 days in room x. Your room is nearly ready ( it was just after 1 pm) would you like a drink and to see the lunch menu. Always nice to see a hotel appreciate that you have chosen to stay there from amongst all the competition.

We ate fish and chips, delicious and just 15 tala. We booked one of the cheaper fale type rooms. Proper wall, windows and doors but no air con, no tea and coffee and cold water shower ( you really don't need a hot shower) the room was basic with 2 single and one double bed. Shower, toilet and a small balcony with table and chairs to sit out. The room was hot during the day as is all of Samoa, but cooled nicely come evening. We slept ok with some minor involvement from stray dogs, roosters and cats 'talking' in the night!!
The dinner menu was quite large for a hotel with less than 20 rooms. Servings were good and a salad was 18 tala, a meal like chow mein or curry 25 tala. The restaurant has a good reputation locally and cater for tour groups and walk- in trade. I can highly recommend it and it is something of which the hotel should feel proud. There were shortages including coconuts for drinks and bananas, both odd as they are abundant on the island but apart from such small oversights the catering experience was very pleasing.

Not a lot to do around hotel. Small supermarket nearby and hotel has a small pool. No beach to speak of only muddy rocks. There are kayaks to use but you have to go someway out for clear water and even further to see reef fish. Good beaches about 15 mins north but they have no facilities and very very limited for shops and restaurants.
A good base for touring the island but more than say a three or four day stay possibly too little variety for some. The pool is coming on but a way to go yet before it is finished. It also lacks any degree of shade - could use some sun shades. Good food with pleasant and helpful staff who offered us lots of tips and advice. I'd feel happy to recommend this hotel and you can tell they are trying.

Room Tip: Cheaper fale type rooms have cold showers and no aircon, TV or tea/coffee. They are also further fro...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoomSpY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Samoan's accommodation is generally over priced for what you get and this is an exception. It isn't luxurious, but nor does it pretend to be. The bungalows in the gardens are ensuite and provide a double and two single beds. These all varied in comfort and the had basic but clean linen on them. A fan was provided as there was no air-conditioning. The bathroom was very basic and the toilet was not entirely clean but at least it was not a shared bathroom.

The food was the highlight of the stay - in fact we spent more on dinner than we did on accommodation because it was so nice. The menu is eclectic and has a lot of asian influences.

Unfortunately the 'tropical breakfast' did live up the previous evening's food. It was toast and papaya basically, no cereal or juice provided.

I would stay in this hotel again but it's a one nighter rather than a suitable place for a holiday

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Talofa! O a Mai oe? to all the wonderful staff at the Savaiian Hotel. My new wife and I, just spent 2 magnificent weeks in Samoa, and made the Savaiian hotel our base. the central location,the marvellous south looking aspect back to Upolu, the wonderful staff, just added up to the perfect recipe for a holiday. From the moment we first enquired about our stay, to our arrival after an arduous flight from australia(due to the airline) during our entire stay, we could not find fault. To add to our already happy experiences, with very short notice, (48 hrs) the owners and staff managed to organise a beautiful wedding for us. This was something we had thought about doing, but without the passionate, hard work of the owners and staff, it would not have happened.
To the people who said they were treated rudely!!! We find that very hard to believe. to the rooster haters! Try scratching them under the chin. Worked for us. For those that want gold taps!
Go to the French Riviera, you'll soon learn about rude. Samoa is about beautiful people, culture and its natural beauty. No we are not tree huggers. Tofah for now. Craig and Maritta

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maritta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed a week with family, we booked the budget fale but unfortunately a very loud crowing rooster sits in the tree right out side the fale and crowed very loudly starting at 1 am and continued through the night every 10 seconds. We advised the staff and they offered us an upgrade to the bungalow and very glad we moved as it didnt cost much extra and was well worth it with air conditioning, fridge, lovely and clean, veranda with table and chairs, and no rooster!! Thanks to Lillian for all her help and advise on things to do in Savaii and also Olivia and the rest of the staff who went over and above our expectations for friendly and helpful service. The food was delicious, restaurant is a beautiful and peaceful setting, The owner brought us over a complementry dish of Tara which was very yummy and a nice surprise. We made the most of the lovely pool situated next to the ocean. Very relaxing. The beach here is too rocky and shallow to swim, however their are beautiful sandy swimming beaches 10 minutes away by car. We will definately be back to stay with you and hopefully the rooster will be on one of your delicious plates instead of the tree!! :)

Room Tip: The bungalows are much better value than the fales at not more added cost.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroljocunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cobno456, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hi Carol!
Thanks for your review of your stay with us! We are terribly sorry about the rooster and we have made ever effort to rid this annoying little guy from the trees outside the fales. These are free range village chickens who have just gotten a bit too comfortable in our spacious gardens and trees and usually just takes a few days of shooing to make them chose a new place to sleep. So we have all our housekeepers gardeners and night watchmen now in on chasing them away back to the village grounds :) Glad to hear you enjoyed our rooms, service and meals:) Like you we hope to see you again in the future and hope to offer you a more comfortable sleep next time round!
Kindest regards
Team Savaiian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
10.6 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
229 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
317 reviews
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
542 reviews
18.9 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savaiian Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 7009, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range: $32 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savaiian hotel offers comfortable affordable accommodation in 6 self contained units with aircon/en suite bathroom/hotwater/fridge/tea coffee/patio/kitchen facilities available as well as 5 traditional styled fales for those on a tighter budget-all fully screened with ceiling fan and en suite. We provide haven to those wanting to get away from the busy city life and you will not forget your stay in the tranquil village of Lalomalva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Savaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaiian Hotel Salelologa
Savaiian Motel Salelologa
The Savaiian Hotel Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing