We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Review of The Savaiian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Savaiian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Thanks to the staff at the Savaiian Hotel for the warm hospitality and for making our stay comfortable and relaxing.

My family of 19 enjoyed the pool, clean rooms and kareoke after dinner :) We took up seven rooms in total - all the air-conditioned rooms and one traditional fale. We had dinner and breakfast there which was great overall, especially the koko laisa at breakfast. Yum!

Unfortunately we only got to stay one night as we were on our way back to Apia the next day. The service was friendly and professional from start to finish. A special thanks to Lillian who organised our booking and made it a breeze to coordinate the rooms for our group.

We didn't get a chance to use the kayaks or play volleyball, but we will stay longer next time and make full use of the facilities. I'd definitely recommend the Savaiian Hotel to anyone wanting clean and comfortable rooms with decent meals and great service!

Room Tip: My parents have mobility problems, so they stayed in Room one which is closest to the restaurant/rec...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lofi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for The Savaiian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 224 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

we spent 7 nights here in budget accommodation and we got what we paid for, fale with queen bed, 2 x singles, table and 2 chairs, shower and toilet, ceiling fan and stand alone fan. we wanted for nothing else. did not miss tv, radio or other home comforts, the staff were so humble, friendly and informative and we loved every minute and breakfast ( included ) was varied each day and a great menu available for lunch and dinner, all reasonably priced. NO COMPLAINTS at all... thanks everyone... hope to see you soon.. Taffy and Val Pask

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

- Ideal...close to Salelologa where the Market's located and yet away from the busyness of the main town area.
- great for private getaways. My family enjoyed the quietness. Very relaxing.
- I enjoyed the sunset drinking cold Vailima from the bar
- the rooms catered our needs and the food was great!!
- only issue is with one of the staff ( i think she's new). Had no idea how to serve properly. We were having dinner one night and had to call out a couple of times to get her attention, she was watching tele.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PT0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Average room but had everything we needed. Only problem was the roosters! Loud crowing from 1am on! Mixed reviews on the meals. We like the Samoan traditional "Oka" but mine was uneatable. When I questioned, they proudly said the tuna had been marinated for 3 minutes! They just had no idea. To be fair, they didn't charge me for it. The seafood basket was not good either, with thick tough batter. Nice people though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorNor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cobno456, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hi Nornor,
Thankyou for your review on tripadvisor. We are sorry that our restaurant meal was not up to your standard when you stayed with us. Unfortunately with fish and chips there is always a fine balance between some saying the batter is too thin and others that it is too thick. Overall we seem to have gotten it right as most people have raved about this dish but we are aware that peoples palates differ. As for the oka this was indeed not our usual response to our oka and we usually take alot of care preparing this dish ensuring the right balance of flavors and good quality fish. You are right in that our waitress would not have known how long the fish was marinated for, we don't recall her coming in to actually ask the cook and as she is not usually in the kitchen she can not give you exact information like this and most probably just gave you a 'guestimate' .

Unfortunately on the day it did not appear to have been up to its usual scratch and this is why we did not charge you for this meal.We appreciate that you would have much more preferred to have had a satisfying meal and we hope if you ever come back to Savaii you might visit us again and next time round we do hope that all our dishes are up to scratch:)
Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 days in early January after spending 3 days in Upolo, and it was lovely. We stayed upgraded our room to get the full benefit of airconditioning, which we really needed due to the heat and humidity, and it was still very affordable. The rooms and all the facilities were clean and fresh and well looked after with thoughtful touches. The staff are all lovely and there is a good range of very reasonably priced food and drinks in the hotel, which is much needed as there isn't really any choice of restaurants to speak of in Savaii. The pool was being repaired so we were unable to use it, but we had been advised of that prior to arrival and were able to use kayak and snorkel equipment free of charge. Although small, there was a selection of books and games to choose from (useful for sundays when other island activities shut down). Overall a very enjoyable stay and would recommend choosing the Savaiian Hotel for accommodation.

Room Tip: The standard room fales are the most affordable, but only have ceiling fans. If you're not used...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cobno456, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hi Gillian
Thanks for your review- we are glad you enjoyed your short time with us! It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again in the future!!
Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed there for 6 nights and we love the peaceful and the quietness of the place.. The food was top notch.. Fish curry was delicious for a very reasonable price. The owner and his wife were very good to us. My husband went back after drop me and kids to Upolu and stay there for another 2 nights. We will definitely go there again for our next holiday. Really enjoyable holiday.. Thanks and keep up the good work

Room Tip: We stay at a bungalow (no air condition) but we have the overhead fan.. It was very good.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blossom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very good value and very friendly. Quiet when we were there. Nice room, though nothing too flash. Fantastic views over the water to Upolu. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Location is in a very rural, unspoiled area. Amazing sight of beautifully dressed locals attending church on a Sunday. Whole are is so quiet. If you are looking for a perfect retreat and are reasonably self contained in terms of things to do (though they do have Scrabble), this is ideal. The restaurant and bar are open to the sea side and it is an incredible place to eat. The staff treated us to some local delicacies and explained how to prepare them. We checked with our hosts on Upolu and were assured the info we were given was good. Lovely touch.

Room Tip: We stayed in an airconditioned unit. We needed the air con at times and a fan wouldn't have cut...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BacklaterMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
10.6 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
229 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
317 reviews
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
543 reviews
18.9 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savaiian Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 7009, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range: $33 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savaiian hotel offers comfortable affordable accommodation in 6 self contained units with aircon/en suite bathroom/hotwater/fridge/tea coffee/patio/kitchen facilities available as well as 5 traditional styled fales for those on a tighter budget-all fully screened with ceiling fan and en suite. We provide haven to those wanting to get away from the busy city life and you will not forget your stay in the tranquil village of Lalomalva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Savaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaiian Hotel Salelologa
Savaiian Motel Salelologa
The Savaiian Hotel Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing