We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place on Savaii”
Review of The Savaiian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Savaiian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place on Savaii”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed for a week in October as a base for exploring the island. Room was clean and well presented and bed fine. The aircon was a bit cranky but worked well enough. Restaurant was good and service great. Sadly the pool was out of action but we knew that when we booked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cobno456, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Talofa Bobby
Thanks for your response and glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us last year:) Was a pleasure having you. We are currently midstage getting our new more robust pool put in after years of problems with our vinyl pool (thanks to little burrowers- aka mudcrabs!:) ) perforating the lining! We are also slowly phasing out our old aircons as well so hopefully next time you visit these things will have been replaced and renewed:) We thank you again for staying with us and wish you well for 2013!!
kind regards
Team Savaiian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    81
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
59
89
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night, quality towels are a big hit with me , a comfortable bed and good food . Pity the pool was not available , but a good starting point to our trip around Savaii. Reasonably close to the ferry, Food was a high point , regarded as better than average for Samoa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yass, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for the first four days of our holiday to Samoa and found it to be the ideal introduction to the relaxed and friendly islands. The hotel is ideally situated as a base to explore Savaii. We recommend the Savaiian Tours which the hotel organised.

The hotel is small and basic but clean and comfortable and a bargain at the price. This meant the service was personal and tailored to our needs. We stayed in an air-conditioned bungalow with a great view looking across the water to Upolo. The restaurant provided fabulous food. A must try is the oka, but all the fish dishes were great. Happy hour with fabulous cocktails and the local Vailima beer is also a must.

The staff were always happy and obliging and really made our stay stress free.

The pool was unavailable due to maintainence problems and we couldn't swim directly infront of the hotel. This was our only disappointment.

Room Tip: Room number One.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cobno456, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thanks Chris- Was a pleasure having you and glad to hear you enjoyed Savaii!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Savaiian hotel has passed its prime, however the staff make your stay a pleasure, Olivia at reception, Leila and Viauli in the restaurant are extremely friendly and obliging, the food served at the restaurant is great, we had the Masi Masi fish on 3 occasions, the rooms are basic, but pleasant, the restaurant is very well located, with a wonderful view.
The Savaiian has plenty of free off-street parking, and is about a 10 minute drive, back towards the wharf, where you'll find banks and shops. We stayed 6 Sept 2012, and went back for dinner 3 times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russel-Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macksville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We didn't want a "resort" holiday but we wanted 2 relaxing weeks in the one place with no pressure and a chance to get to know the real Samoa and enjoy the people.
The Savaiian Hotel is ideal for this!
It is budget accommodation, basic rooms but spacious, very clean and a most comfortable bed. Room serviced daily.
Gracious hosts - Poi and Nola - very friendly staff. Quality meals which are reasonably priced. Relaxed ambience; Happy Hour and Vailima on tap :)
Take one or both of Poi's tours - he's very knowledgeable of local culture, heritage and Fa'a Samoa.
The Saviaan is conveniently located close to Ferry and Hire Cars (10 mins away by bus).
Bus stops out the from of the hotel (the bus stops anywhere!).
Lagoon in front of the fale, kayaking, snorkelling, etc. Stunning Sunrises and Moon rise. Pool in front of our fale - though it could do with a more regular dose of chlorine ;)

we highly recommend the Savaiian Hotel - we'll be back.
Jonathan+Robbie

Room Tip: Room 4 worked for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonVentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murchison, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed one night at the Savai'an Hotel before returning a rental vehicle to Salelologa and taking the ferry to Upolu. This is a modern, clean, motel style development and restaurant close to the water front about 15 minutes drive from the ferry. It served our purpose well although it is not the style of accommodation that we would choose for more than one night. Friendly, efficient and helpful staff and paid wifi available. At 105 tala for the two of us including tropical breakfast we felt this was good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant and food are great, especially if u can sit out side the main room (we wanted to sit over the sea but the table there was taken in for some reason). The air cond room got quite hot until the air cond was turned on ( and it was a noisier type) and I thought the non aircond fale type units looked cooler as they could be fully ventilated with it seemed fly screens all over (there were none on the doors on the unit). At this time of year in samoa you should be ok without air cond as long as theres enough cross ventilation, like the traditional fales. The chickens were a nice touch and you can feed them although this might be considered strange by the staff! No annoying stray dogs or cats trying to be fed like there are lots of places. Staff were very nice and helpful. Full kitchenette facilities in some rooms would make travel food easier to organise eg making sandwiches, I couldn't see any rooms that had this and you never know in savai'i how remote your lunch will be, so it's good to byo! Most of the resorts do have lunch for day trippers though, which are mostly in the section north of the savaain. The hotel is nice and central, and all the other attractions of the island can be driven to in the day or seen on tours which the hotel can organise. The hotel is a fairly short drive or taxi ride from the ferry.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
10.6 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
314 reviews
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
528 reviews
25.2 mi away
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savaiian Hotel

Property: The Savaiian Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 7009, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savaiian hotel offers comfortable affordable accommodation in 6 self contained units with aircon/en suite bathroom/hotwater/fridge/tea coffee/patio/kitchen facilities available as well as 5 traditional styled fales for those on a tighter budget-all fully screened with ceiling fan and en suite. We provide haven to those wanting to get away from the busy city life and you will not forget your stay in the tranquil village of Lalomalva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Savaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaiian Hotel Salelologa
Savaiian Motel Salelologa
The Savaiian Hotel Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing