We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Tired" Savaiian Hotel”
Review of The Savaiian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Savaiian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
518 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“The "Tired" Savaiian Hotel”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the Savaiian Hotel over 15 years ago and it was very upmarket.
It appears nothing much has been done since then - it's looking rather tired.
Nice setting amongst the gardens but that's about it.
No beach just a very ordinary swimming pool.

This time we stayed in one of the bungalows at the rear of the garden.
Price was 105 tala - which we thought was plenty!
The bungalows have an ensuite bathroom with cold water shower and ours didn't have water over the handbasin.
Overhead fan for cooling.

The restaurant food is very nice and beautifully presented and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The bungalows have an access road behind them which can be quite noisy until about 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Talofa Lyrebird
Thankyou for your honest review of your stay with us. We are glad to hear you had enjoyed your meals at the restaurant:) 15yrs ago our hotel had most likely only just been built and no doubt it has "aged" since then. You may not recall but infact our property has undergone many changes and rennovations since then , and what is present now, that was not there before- is our bar and restaurant, our pool, our walkways- the Samoan bungalows you stayed in recently were infact back in those days very flimsy with babmboo thatched walls and thatched roof. We have upgraded these rooms since then to provide a more robust structure which is more tolerating of the weather and keeps the bugs out!:) Im not sure about the handbasin as all the bathrooms have hand basins with a running tap above it- I think you are referring to a preferred larger tap over the basin and we do agree the tap/sinks are rather small in this particular room type which we do hope to change in the future - but the bathrooms do indeed have taps /running water over all the basins:)These rooms are our budget room type and it really is just providing the basics to those who need their own ensuite and a roof over their heads. Our air conditioned units have larger sinks and taps over the basins which perhaps would have been more suited to your preference. You are correct we do not have a beach, and we do not hide this fact nor ever advertise other. We are set in a mangrove area with a pebbly waterfront- -sandy beaches are 10 minutes away and we do provide this info to all our guests:) We hope if you visit Savaii again in the future you may try one of our airconditioned rooms. we have a few development plans up our sleeves but we dont want to stray too far from what we have always been which is a small family run hotel:) Kind regards- Team Management:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    79
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
57
87
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Savaiian after reading great reviews of the 'Resort like Hotel' on Trip Advisor. I was particularly attracted by the promise of good food and the rates were very reasonable.

The rooms are fine, dated, but clean and fine. The bed was good and comfortable. The sad thing at the Savaiian is the water, namely you can't swim at the beach and the pool was disgusting. A murky opaque para pool.

The service was absolutely fantastic, the staff and owner were all so awesome and the food was the best we had in Samoa - at a really great rate.

As people wanting a holiday spending a lot of time in the water, we were really disappointed at the facilities available in terms of swimming and beach. This meant we needed to get out of the place each day to find swimming and this would probably put us off staying there again.

But - we would definitely go back to the Savaiian to eat!!!!!! There were some special touches we got too, just those extra bits of service added and if the facilities were better we know we'd pay a bit more - but we'd be happy too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well laid out, and well spaced apart with semi-detached blocks of 2. The ocean si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilary_sumpter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Savaiian hotel is set in simple gardens (with chicken roaming) about 15 minutes drive from the ferry terminal. It is well looked after and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I stayed in a simple room with fan (non/ac) and with attached bathroom which was fine for me. There are more luxurious ac rooms available for a 'splurge'. Food was good and local simple style. A good base for exploring Savai'i island over 2 or 3 days. There is a small swimming pool and the restaurant overlooks the sea for great sunset views

Room Tip: If you want a little more luxury choose an air conditioned room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nom001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Note that the Savaiian is titled a "hotel" rather than a "resort". If you are looking to escape to a quiet intimate and remote resort, then look to the other more expensive resorts further north. However, if you are interested in exploring Savaii, then the Savaiian Hotel is a good base. The rooms and facilities are basic but adequate especially if you are going to be out each day exploring the island (best done by rental car) which can easily involve four or five days or more. There is a pool which is best described as adequate for a swim, and other activities are limited to kayaks, snorkelling and fishing gear - if you are looking for a fun activity holiday lounging around the pool, then you are going to be sadly disappointed. Time can be taken to explore the local villages and attend Church on Sunday. A rental car (best hired when in Upolou) is desireable as having to depend on local tours each day to get out and about will prove expensive.
The cost of accommodation and meals are relatively expensive when compared to other Pacific Island nation resorts but this is typical of Samoa and can be best decribed as "Samoan budget" .
This is a family owned and operated resort and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is a request to place dinner meal orders early in the day as numbers staying at the hotel will be small making it not viable to provide a wide range of food on demand.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room and one of the ones close to the main facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We arrived early in the morning a day before easter weekend and just missed morning breakfast which was disappointing as we were to discover later that the chef is a great cook.(thanks Poi). We have regular trips to Samoa every year and this year decided to actually have a holiday with my family and stay at a hotel in Savaii so staying at the Savaiian Hotel for 5 days as a base to sight see around the big island was the best choice we made as it offers a secure compound with open spaces as bungalows are spaced out which allows privacy while only a few minutes from the township.
Our room was a standard air conditioned bungalow which was cleaned everyday by staff. The room is clean inside and the air con was a relief for the family at night after spending all day travelling around the island sightseeing, lunch and dining at other restaurants.... Shower had hot and cold water, a welcome relief for my son.
The restaurant is located next to the waterfront and what the hotel website says about the sunrise and sunsets is true but our dinner experience along with the great food and service was only enhanced by the moon rise from a still ocean into the clear night sky........ that in itself was the highlight of our stay. The restaurant menu gives you a variety of dishes, and as mentioned before we tried different eateries in Savaii and my family and I agree that the Savaiian offers the best value for money dishes without compensating on taste buds although on our first night of our 5 night stay, I have to admit that my Steak was a little chewy. Oh well... nothings perfect, right.
Overall a great place to stay at and my family and I say thank you to Poi, Mat and Staff for making our stay a highlight to remember.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satepa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We chose this spot because it was close to the wharf for our return ferry back to Upolu. When we walked in, we were greeted by a very friendly lady named Utu. She catered to all of our needs and overall we had a wonderful stay.
Upsides: kayaks and snorkels for rental, and some great mini-islands to kayak to out in the ocean. There is also great snorkeling, as long as you respect the reef and don't get too close as it's pretty shallow in some parts. The hammocks and fales are really nice to relax in and the pool is fine, if a little dirty. Our rooms were clean, just don't leave food out because the insects will get it. Put all of your food (even dirty cups) in the fridge, otherwise you will wake up to an unwanted bug party. Not that there are visible bugs in the room, but they will come if you leave food out. Just use common sense. Utu is so nice and all of the staff are willing to help you out with whatever you need. If you walk around the village you can check out the local village stores. Try the ice cream because it absolutely the best ice cream I have ever had in my life. My friend ended up playing rugby with some local kids down the street. Everyone in Samoa is so extremely friendly! It is such a nice environment to be in. Breakfast is simple but delicious. Try to coconut jam on your toast.

Downsides: They need to install lighting along the concrete paths to the rooms as walking at night is difficult. Upon paying our bill, they tried to charge us for an extra two coffees that we had definitely not ordered. I'm sure the server just wrote down the wrong room, so it was no problem but it took some convincing to tell her that it was not our bill. We tried to pay for a $165 tala bill with $200 and they did not have change, so I borrowed some change from my friend, but I think they should have change on hand. Also, we asked for a taxi at 7:30am the next morning to catch the 8am ferry back to Upolu. The woman assured us that she would not forget and the taxi would be there. Unfortunately, the taxi was not there on time and we had to wait another 15 minutes. The taxi driver then raced to the wharf so we wouldn't miss the ferry, as we had to make this one or else we would miss our flight. It was a little stressful but it all worked out in the end. This is the only reason I can't give five stars.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with A/C which was nice, but if you don't mind some heat the fan-only rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cobno456, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Talofa Mellyloo
Thankyou for this lovely and honest review of your stay with us recently. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate the time you have taken to put your review together. We agree with you that the ice cream down the road is very good (!) and are glad you enjoyed our coconut jam!! You are indeed correct about the lighting issue at night and we assure you we are currently rectifying this. There is infact a large sensor spotlight at the corner of the big fale adjacent the pathways which is meant to come on automatically at night but it has been tempermental and has not been working as expected. this has indeed made it very dark along the walkways and we are currently looking at alternative solutions to this. we do also extend our apologies regarding the taxi who showed up late. Our restaurant staff assured us that the taxi was booked the night before and informed of the time to arrive (and importance!) but it still obviously ran late- we will be reviewing our list of specified taxi operators again to ensure that we avoid this sort of occurrence again in the future and are glad you did make the boat (albeit in a rushed sort of way!) . We hope to see you again in Savaii in the future and thankyou once again for this contribution:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Savaiian Hotel is a piece of Samoan paradise you’ll remember forever. Awake every morning to a spectacular light show as the sun rises above the adjacent island of Upolu. With the Pacific Ocean on your doorstep you can swim, snorkel, take a kayak for a cruise, or relax in a hammock with a book. Our comfortable unit had everything we needed, from air-conditioning and a TV, to a fridge and small stove. And when we wanted additional utensils, we just had to ask the friendly and obliging staff. Everyone was so helpful and hospitable, going out of their way to make sure our stay was the best it could possibly be. We had planned on doing our own cooking, but the hotel’s gorgeous sea-view restaurant serves delicious meals at such great prices that we soon gave that up. There’s so much to see on Savaii and the hotel works with the very best guides to take you around and show you its treasures—all at reasonable rates. And the short ride into town on one of the colourful local buses is not to be missed.
Chris McGowan
Period of stay March 1-8, 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
10.6 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
19.0 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savaiian Hotel

Property: The Savaiian Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 7009, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savaiian hotel offers comfortable affordable accommodation in 6 self contained units with aircon/en suite bathroom/hotwater/fridge/tea coffee/patio/kitchen facilities available as well as 5 traditional styled fales for those on a tighter budget-all fully screened with ceiling fan and en suite. We provide haven to those wanting to get away from the busy city life and you will not forget your stay in the tranquil village of Lalomalva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Savaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaiian Hotel Salelologa
Savaiian Motel Salelologa
The Savaiian Hotel Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing