We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home”
Review of The Savaiian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Savaiian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like home”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife Beatrice and I have been serveral times and weeks travelling in the South Pacific. But it is hard to find a better service, food, location and friendlier staff then at the Savaiian Hotel. Thank you and good bye.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Reto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    81
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
59
89
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Apia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

One of the few places in Samoa that understand what service is all about. I've stayed here a number of times and it's always top notch. The food is good, beautiful views, everything is clean and nothing is too hard for the staff. They also host the most knowledgeable tour you can get in Savaii.

I would stay here and do day and 1/2 day trips to beaches and other sites. They don't have a beach but they have everything else. Other places have a beach and nothing else.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pandanuspalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed here as part of our Honeymoon touring the South Pacific. Samoa was fascinating and the Savaiian was a great base to have a look around. We arrived on the first ferry in the morning and the room was all ready ready. The room itself was basic, cold water showers and the room did look a little worn - thin sheets, and the decor could have used a little bit of attention. Having said that it was clean, and far enough away from the next door fales that it felt private. Another time though I think we would pay more of air con!
The service here was fantastic and Olivia deserves a special mention - nothing was too much trouble and she arranged for us to hire a car very quickly (tip - make sure you get the temporary driving licence - we were checked twice). When my partner got sick both Olivia and Poi (not sure if this is spelt correctly - sorry) were very helpful and advised us how to get some medicine, and then checked how he was.
One night that we were there there was a big feast that Poi cooked - which was fantastic and it was a real privilege to eat traditional Samoan food. Breakfast here is also really good - try the coconut jam - I could not get enough!
I would suggest visiting the Lava fields and checking out the only traffic lights on the island (which we were told about several times - but never seemed to be working!)
Overall - the rooms here are pretty basic, but the service is outstanding - which makes it worth staying at!

Room Tip: Try the air conditioned rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

its hard to find the words to express the wonderful memories i have from my recent family trip to Savaii. After a fun ferry ride from upolu to Savaii and only a short 15 minute drive along the beautiful coastline we arrived at the Savaiian Hotel, our home for the next 5 days.Traveling with children can be hard and tiresome but the relaxed atmosphere at the Savaiian made life alot easier. Not only are the grounds well kept and non-shoe friendly but the hotel is tucked away from the main road and any traffic hazards making it safe for the children to wander a bit. Our family room was clean and spacious with hot water and air conditioning (a must have after a long day in the samoan sun). The well priced restaurant served both traditional samoan food as well as some "aussie favourites" with plenty to keep the kids happy. But the stand out feature of this hotel are the staff which includes the owners. Always a smile on their face and happy to help in any way, the staff of the Savaiian really make you feel welcome. They have extensive knowledge of the islands attractions and can point you in the right direction weather driving yourself or taking one of their tours. My children instantly attached to their children and talk about them still. i would happily recommend the Savaiian Hotel to any one, traveling alone or with family for a well priced property that still has all the "mod cons"!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jannelle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed this small but friendly hotel. The staff were most helpfull and offered suggestions regarding attractions and activities. The food was very good and most reasonably priced. The North island tour is highly recommended and all in all we have no hesitation in recommending a stay at this accommodation and we look forward to going back. Talofa, Mike and Adrienne

Room Tip: Ll fales are well situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pussNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

A charming hotel and a great place to base yourself for a stay on Savai'i, with lovely views across to Upolu and clean, well appointed bungalow rooms at a good price. The hotel is conveniently located a short taxi ride away from the ferry terminal and whilst not on a beach (but on the waterfront) it is only 10 minutes drive to the beach at Faga.

Poi and Nola and their staff ensured a relaxing time for my wife and me for the three nights we stayed here and helped arrange trips to the nearby beach fales and also hired us their 4WD to drive around the island. Food in the restaurant was excellent and internet access was available to Skype my family back home to show them the wonderful views across the water!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart_E_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Savaiin Hotel for 5 days in August 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We found the hotel to be a great place to base ourselves as we explored the island. It is only a short taxi ride from the ferry and is located within a pleasant village by the coast. The hotel grounds are large and well kept. The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We enjoyed dining in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner each day. The food was delicious and the portions were more than reasonable. We hired a small 4wd from the hotel which we used each day to explore the island, something we would highly recommend, however if you are a little less adventurous and prefer a guided tour then the hotel is also able to arrange this service. We visited many of the natural and historic attractions the island has to offer and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We found the Savaiin Hotel offered a comfortable and relaxing place to return to after a day of sight-seeing or swimming in the crystal, clear waters to the north. We would definitely recommend this hotel to all types of holiday makers; couples, friends, families or solo travellers looking for a simple, quiet, relaxing place to stay. We also enjoyed getting to know the owner and his family. They are lovely people and we wish them every success. They take great pride in their business and it is reflected in the hospitality they provide to their guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Outbackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
10.6 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
314 reviews
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
521 reviews
25.2 mi away
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savaiian Hotel

Property: The Savaiian Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 7009, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savaiian hotel offers comfortable affordable accommodation in 6 self contained units with aircon/en suite bathroom/hotwater/fridge/tea coffee/patio/kitchen facilities available as well as 5 traditional styled fales for those on a tighter budget-all fully screened with ceiling fan and en suite. We provide haven to those wanting to get away from the busy city life and you will not forget your stay in the tranquil village of Lalomalva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Savaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaiian Hotel Salelologa
Savaiian Motel Salelologa
The Savaiian Hotel Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing