We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Asau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Va-I-Moana is like walking into a very pleasant dream. It's a tranquil spot protected from the relentless SE trade winds....a few acres of well kept lawns and and palms that sweep gently down to a tiny private beach and the georgeous expanse of the Asau Harbour.
This is a genuine Samoan resort where the hospitality is as good as the beautiful views. My husband and I thought that Va-I-Moana was top of the list for service and value . Breakfast and dinner were included in the low tarrif and we had a choice of open fales on the beach or the enclosed/lockable fales up the grassy slope. They have one 'over water' fale too, the 'honeymoon suite', which we were generously bumped up to ( we were on our honeymoon!) The fales are very clean and delightfully basic, with ammenities block nearby. The ladies shower room is stunning with no roof and a high ,hand made rock wall and a lovely bamboo rain shower... large mirror and bunches of tropical leaves and flowers.
The main building has a beautiful entrance and reception area where Sale and Rosie (owners) have created a very welcoming space. Inside is the bar (well stocked) and indoor/outdoor restaurant overlooking the property and harbour. A great lunch menu is available too. We loved Va-I-Moana because it is not too 'westernised' and is a good base for daytripping in Savaii...and the food was fabulous...and the staff are friendly and caring. It is the only fale we stayed at where they provide towels and ask about dietary needs. It is so new that it is not in the travel brochures yet, you have to seek them out . We only found it because of word of mouth, even many locals haven't heard about it yet. There were families, couples and singles and the weather was magic. Love, love, love it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharkynjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 279 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2009

I've stayed at Va-i-moana twice, on the recommendation of friends, and it's just lovely. Both times I stayed in the open beach-front fales. I love the ladies shower!
The snorkelling from the beach isn't good, but a boat goes on snorkelling tours every day except Sunday. If you want somewhere to go and relax and read some books, this is the spot. The hosts are fantastic - perhaps having only been open 6 months they are still unjaded!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malie_387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

The delightful hosts Sali and Rosie, their family and staff went the extra mile everytime. Along with the awesome holiday spot in Asau, Savaii with fantastic beach at your door step, the food, service, accomodation, entertainment was the best we have ever had. We left after 5 days to move on and see another spot but landed back on their doorstep the next morning for an extra 9 days and were welcome as part of the family. The over the beach fale was the best but all the fales were comfortable and had a view and privacy. This is a small intimate place to stay where the atmosphere is relaxed and there are not too many fales or people. Second trip to Samoa and this was the highlight.
Its the first place that has ticked all the boxes for an awesome holiday away from it all, run by Sali and his wife who are experts at customer service and making you feel special. We were hosted on snorkeling trips and sunset tour. They also do fishing trips and we learnt more about Samoa and the culture through here than anywhere else.
Ultimate Samoan experience including the best Pina Coladas on earth.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhangareiPenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

a special gem that would should keep to our selves !!! after manase beach and apia Va I moana is a true haven great place great people and great cocktails !!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GisborneMisteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I loved this place. I had been at Manase beach before here, and then moved on and found this gem of a place. Loved it!! The family who run it make you feel like you are at home, and the staff are wonderful. The fales are lockable and have proper queen sized beds, not just a floor mattress.

The meals are great.

I enjoyed it so much that I am returning next year and taking several of my family with me.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
Thank sam3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We found this place by chance having been hugely disappointed by the Vaisala Hotel. It is in a beautiful location and Sale and the team are very friendly and give great service. There are enclosed Fales and also a few open beachfront fales. We slept in a beachfront Fale which although basic was scrupulously clean and really perfectly set up with curtains and mosquito nets and even folded towels? A few steps from our Fale and we were either on the beach or diving off the wee jetty into the lovely clear water.

Breakfast and dinner are included in the price and I would have no hesitation in saying that this was the best dinner we had on holiday. Lunches can also be purchased at a reasonable price from the nicely set up bar area.

I actually thought twice about writing this review because I would like to keep it a quiet place just for me!!! However, it is a gem and deserves to thrive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jonas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asau
25.2 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
224 reviews
32.5 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
32.7 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
317 reviews
18.5 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge

Address: Main Island Road, Asau, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Asau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Asau
Price Range: $56 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Va-i-Moana Seaside Hotel Asau
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge Samoa/Asau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing