We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing two night stopover on cycle trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Asau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A relaxing two night stay in beach front Fale on the waters edge. Good safe swimming kayaks available for guests use. Food was good and authentic Samoan fare. Full bar facilities with tropical cocktails.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick and Caroly... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 279 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Its not 5 star but then neither are the prices and I doubt anywhere else in the Pacific can offer such a relaxed time, great food and hospitality and music for the price. Having just been there for 8 days and enjoyed the deep unwind , and I am very familiar with many many places in the Pacific of all grades I really can say I would recommend this place to all ages. Getting there is a bit of a hike: the airport is only minutes and a 20 tala taxi ride to the ferry. While it is only an hour across the advertised shedule often doesn't match reality and its wise to check by phone the day before. It can cost as little as 12 tala to ride, and in July-September whales are usually seen. Dolphins and turtles are frequent too if you know how to look. At Salelologa on the other side a taxi- 120-150 tala - will take you the 75-90 minutes up to the Vaimoana around the eastern side of the island. Ride the crowded buses if they are going that far for far less.
Accommodation can be very basic and cheap and there is a high turnover of young backpacking tourists but the fales, especially over the water have everything you need. I didnt bother to use the aircond unit in my over the water fale and even in October was a bit chilly at night. Water is scarce but drinking supplies are available cheaply form the shop over the road- or less cheaply from the bar when you arrive especially if it is Sunday, and if the pump on the fale runs out reception will turn it on with no problems as soon as requested.
My fale looked a bit daunting when I arrived but inside it was quite spacious, had its only balcony and atached onsuite and outside shower, cold water only is fine when its 32*C.
Food was a part of the package deal and was uniformly excellent: fresh island fruit and pancakes as well as local specialites like a hot papaya and tapioca thick soup for breakfast with toast and island jam. Side orders were very reasonably priced and included omelettes with hame cheese and tomatoes, or bacon and eggs, or a generous big breakfast of sauages/ham/bacon and eggs.
Lunches were by menu and cost above the standard daily charge up to 35 tala maximum - free for those who contributed the fish!- and the night meal was very wellpresented and large, typically a fish and a separate chicken dish plus a vegetable salad or stirfry plus a carbohydrate like potato mash or pasta [the excess fed the stray cats who depended on it much to chargrin of the staff who were always gently shoeing them away]. One night it was grilled half crayfish with a rich cream sauce plus free range chicken drumsticks with a pineapple sauce. Drinks also were reasonable and a fraction of the cost charged in resorts in Fiji.
If you want to experience the people of Samoa then you need to stay at small resorts owned and managed by Samoans. Sure, they may not be as efficient as those managed by palagi, but this gentle laidback way is far more Samoan.

Room Tip: Dont choose a over the water fale if you dont like the sound of gentle waves breaking under the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Worth the journey from Apia, warmly welcomed, shown to our simple fale overlooking small golden bay, everything you imagine a south sea island retreat to be, coconut palms, brilliant flowers, turquoise water and even turtles. Excellent restaurant, cheap cocktails every night, local musicians, attentive service, freshly caught fish. Mosquito net and fan in our room, no bugs and a cooling trade wind breeze, slept well. Glorious staff, who fulfilled our every need, even taking us to Church and other sights we wanted to see. We are "vintage" travellers, but the staff made it so easy for us and became our friends so that we will be happy to return here next year. A big big thank you.

Room Tip: When we return, we would ask for a "sunset" sale, I think fale number 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon and Jennife... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Don't bother about the rest of Samoa this is one of the most beautiful places i've stayed. Everything was wonderful. Lovely staff, thankyou to all the ladies and the men who made out stay easy and peaceful. The food was beautiful and plentiful we were never left feeling hungry. Free kyaks were good we had a great day kyaking over to the other island. We really appreciated the briefing about the water when we arrived it helps to avoide been dissapointed if the water is turned off and makes you aware of their water concerns (have short showers). The band over dinner was a nice touch. There alot of local shops near by so if you need a snack you just have to walk across the road. We stayed in TM 101 was a lovley room clean and spacious and i loved just sitting on the deck or out on the jetty just sipping a cold pure vailima. We stayed an extra night and were dissapointed we had to leave. It is good value for money the price including breakfast and dinner. This place is paradise!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi9579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here earlier this month...friendly people, great food & wonderful location. Definitely value for $$$. Staff will go extra mile to accommodate & give great service at all levels. Hope to go back again soon. Fa'afetai tele lava, Faaaliga family

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went to Va i Moana after a chance meeting with another tourist who raved about the place. The 2 hour bus trip from the wharf was a Samoan experience all tourist should have. It made it a real adventure and cost only $10 tala, a far cry from the $120 for a taxi ride.

I have just read the reviews already posted and have to agree with everything said. The environment, the staff, the ambiance of every dining experience, the food, the well supplied local shop and the general atmosphere of this place is in every way perfect for the ideal rest and relax holiday in paradise.

There are plenty of handy tips in other reviews that are well worth heeding so no need to repeat them here but just know that if you need to rejuvenate and get away from the stress of daily life you need look no further than Va i Moana. Once you arrive you won't want to leave!

We intended to stay 4 nights and ended up being there for eight. Next time it will be our only destination in Savaii. One thing I haven't seen in other reviews is mention of the water supply. As it is the driest part of the island water is precious and scarce so the mains supply is only on for one hour in the morning and one hour in the late afternoon. Tank water is used at other times however it does run out periodically so just bear that in mind and conserve, conserve, conserve. It's a small price to pay for such a perfectly relaxing holiday with the most gracious, gentle and friendly staff I encountered on the whole 3 week trip in Samoa.

If you want an island paradise holiday with a few home comforts this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 204Sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Words can not describe how much we loved this place and if i could give it more the 5/5 i would do it in a heart beat.
We are 3 kiwis (19,22,23) a couple and my younger brother and this place was like something out of a magazine.

A safe Cove to swim in at any tide and time of the day, A wharf and pontoon for jumping off and crystal clear water for snorkeling and exploring the ocean life- including turtles if you were lucky like us.

The staff are absolutely incredible and make you feel like family, the service is 110% and they always take the time to learn your name and where you are from - some of the most amazing people I have ever met, who even took the time to sing happy birthday to a guest and make him a cake, as well as singing us a farewell song on our final night. They make sure you are as happy possible, even offering to give you an extra mattress if you are uncomfortable in the open fales.

The shop across the road, is run my a lovely lady and the store is well stocked, with drinks and snacks and much more.

Va I Moana provides snorkels, bikes, tours and more for a cost, you have free use of the hammocks, coconut demonstrations, fiafia nights, kayaks, basketball court and more.

The meals are huge, and well worth the money. cocktails and local beer are cheaper then spirits.

Va I Moana was the best place we stayed on Samoa and we wish we had done it last not first as everywhere else we stayed was disappointing in comparison. We are planning to take the in-law's back with us next year and Va I Moana is the only place we will stay. I highly recommend you visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alve_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asau
32.7 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
227 reviews
32.5 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
32.7 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
318 reviews
18.5 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge

Address: Main Island Road, Asau, Savai'i, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Asau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Asau
Price Range: $56 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Va-i-Moana Seaside Hotel Asau
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge Samoa/Asau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing