We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Pick for our 2 week Samoa Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Asau
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top Pick for our 2 week Samoa Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place is a STAND out in Samoa,,,and once you have been there nothing else will come up to the mark. Number one is the effort the staff make to learn your name and personalize your stay...top, top staff!!!The tables were laid beautifully every night and morning with lovely fresh tropical flowers and candles,,,,very romantic...such an effort was made...even moving the fiafia night so people leaving wouldnt miss out. Very well stocked store across the road...good kayaks, small enclosed beach but safe for children, turtles,...even beach beds and shade house on the jetty. Cheapest snorkelling trip which we didnt do, but should have. Plenty of snorkel beaches if you kayak around to Vaiala hotel. Our bus took 2 hours from the market by the wharf...for 10 tala...Left here to go to Manase Beach...big mistake...Next trip bringing the kids and if we were to do nothing else we would stay at VaiMoana.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    57
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
69
113
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I don't like full on resorts and I am getting over my backpacking days so not so keen on basic beach fale's. In terms of Savaii this property and it's great people hit the spot. We stayed in the sunset Fale's. There is a shop across the road run by a very nice lady and you can get coke there to go with your duty free booze for sunset drinks on your deck..(yes we spent at the bar also). We saw turtles every evening, their heads poke up every now and then as they feed. There is a float/bouy about 50m out in line with the huge fale on the coast with the round roof. About half way to the float is one turtle spot, there is another closer in just off the point to the right of fale #4, must be sea grass or something here they feed on. The place is nice without being to flash and sterile. Still has that laid back feel. Grounds are pretty and clean and dogs are not a problem at night, I have been kept awake by dogs on Savaii. The beach is basic but the best thing for me is the massive lagoon and swimming on any tide! In Much of the islands if the tide is out you can't swim, here you can swim miles whenever you want. If you want clear water to snorkel grab a canoe (free) and head for outside of the island or along the reef. It's a good paddle and will burn off some of the nice food and duty free booze.
All the staff were nice and love a joke and a chat. If you stay a while you will learn some of their stories and get a feel of how things function in the villages. My favorite part of Samoa is the people and Vai Moana has some great people! Thank you for your attitude and sense of humour guys...Food is great and helpings plenty big enough. Try a smoothy for a light lunch or snack, I can't say enough about the chicken skewers and when I asked to substitute rice for bread it was no problem. It's the small things that matter after all.
We saw all Savaii and enjoyed it, this was the highlight for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsnz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangonui, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We did not book any accommodation on our holiday and drove around looking for paradise. We found it at Vaimoana. The best thing about it was the people. Everyone was so genuinely friendly and welcoming. We do not like staying at fancy resorts but wanted more than an open fale on the beach. Vaimoana is exactly in between. We stayed at the Sunset fale without ensuite. We loved the sound of the waves breaking. We sat on our porch each evening, watching the sunset and turtles popping their heads up. The bathrooms were close by and we were the only ones using them, so they were our private ensuite. We were lucky enough to be there for the feifei night and the dancing was amazing. We also got to have Sese's coconut demonstration which was really interesting. He is a great kid and lots of fun to talk to. The swimming is really good here. There is a deep lagoon so you can actually have a good swim whatever tide unlike most places where the reef is close. There are free kayaks to use and we kayaked to the island and the snorkelling behind the island is excellent. We stayed for 7 days and it was by far the best part of our trip. We actually left to go to Manase and ended up coming back because Vaimoana was so much better than anything we could find there. When we left for the last time we looked at every accommodation between Manase and the wharf and could not find anything even close to being as great as Vaimoana. The food was also exceptionally good with lots of it served. We always got both seafood and meat with rice or potatoes and salad. One night we were served crayfish/lobster for our seafood! Lovely. For the price, this is by far the best on Savaii.

Room Tip: We loved the sunset fale and the sound of the waves..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Vaimoana was exactly what we wanted when we booked a stay to samoa. We had been dissapointed with the main island, and I am so very glad we ended up coming to Savaii. The island of Savaii treats its tourists (and animals) better than on Upolu. Vaimoana Seaside lodge was heavenly. The staff were fantastic, friendly and always willing to help. Thanks so much to Michelle for the warmest welcome we recieved on our arrival :). The food was tasty and great and incuded in the price. Great value for money. We stayed in the sunset Fale with a double bed and a single so i think we had a bit more room than others, and it was clean and spacious . The waves were incredibly loud at night but you get used to it. There are night time visitors of large outdoor flying bugs, but just make some noise on the wall next to them and they run back the way they came Haha!. I highly recommend you take the snorkling tour than the young boy fese? and the captain take you on. They take you to a spot that is very clear and it is very cheap great value!! A hire car is essential as attractions are not close but they do offer their own one at the lodge. I you are lucky enough to see Savaii on a sunday as you are driving around you will see al the beautifull ladies walking down the roads in their sunday whites. be aware that everything is closed on a sunday even gas stations so make sure you have enough.Absolutely loved my time here and i would return in a heartbeat. Thanks guys!!!

Room Tip: you dont need aircon! it is super hot, but just place the bed under the fan, in august it got cold i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our 7 days at Va-i-Moana. The staff are lovely, the meals are great and it's just incredibly easy to spend days kayaking/snorkelling/fishing/lazing in hammocks. Would really recommend staying. However be warned if you stay in the sunset fales the sea is incredibly loud at high tide crashing against volcanic rock so we moved rooms which was great. It's quite a way from where the ferry comes in so make sure you are organised and know how you're going to get to Vai-i-moana.. unlike us!

Room Tip: Sunset fales very noisy at high tide. Other rooms we stayed in and that other guests stayed in were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013 which a group of friends from New Zealand. With the small amount of photos available we weren't too sure what to expect, however Vaimoana exceeded all expectations. The best thing about Vaimoana is the people - Tammy, Taka and Michelle made out stay at Vaimoana. They were the kindest, happiest and most friendly people always greeting us with a smile and making our stay enjoyable. The view was also spectacular - it is a well set up place with a great view. They taught us how to crack open coconuts, and we got to see the preparation of an umu and they also took us out to the reef to go snorkelling. The food was spectacular here also - the dinner included in the price was delicious every night (even for a picky eater like myself). There was also a good range of lunch options and a great range of cocktails! Try and be there on a Friday night so that you can be there for the fiafia night - lots of fun!! Overall an amazing experience, definitely recommend to all and hope to go back one day!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights, early August 2013. Our overall opinion of this resort is that it is excellent compared to other accommodation on Savaii, and probably the best value for money on the whole island.

The food is a very high standard. Lots of free range food like chicken, fish, bacon and eggs. The breakfast and dinners were included in the price and were very satisfactory. There is also a menu with more options for purchase at good prices, but the included meals are pretty darned good! Lunch options are also very good, and the best place to eat in the area.

The accommodation was reasonably good. If you can afford to, we recommend the air conditioned rooms – especially their new ones! Worth the little bit extra. We weren’t very impressed with the sunset fales. They are quite small, and some people find them noisy with the waves below. They also get full afternoon sun with no shade and no air con. But this is a novelty and quite a good experience for 2-3 nights.

You can go snorkeling nearby which is reasonably good, or do a charter fishing tour. They usually put your catch on the menu so the guests dine out on fresh fish often!
The staff are very friendly. You can get to know them, and they get to know you too.
The beach is a bit small here unfortunately but adequate.

Very safe place. The Samoans are lovely, friendly and trustworthy. Just have your common sense with you as always.


Here are some tips for your travels from our experience:

You may want to consider avoiding going to Savaii at all unless you have enough time. Travel distances are quite long and getting to Vaimoana takes 4-6 hours as it is on the other side of the island from where the ferry docks. However, you can also book a small plane from Apia, which charges around $1.30 tala per kilogram, and only takes about 15 minutes. Definitely worth checking out! It lands near Vaimoana too.

There isn’t heaps to do at Vaimoana, or any other resort. Not a bad thing if you want to relax and not do a lot. There aren’t a lot of places nearby so you’ll need to rent a car or taxi around if you want to go places.

Manase is the most popular area on Savaii, but after visiting it we preferred Vaimoana as the value for money is excellent. There are lots of poor accommodation at Manase, and the good places like Le Lagoto are horrendously expensive. If you are just after a relaxing holiday doing not too much, Vaimoana is better than all these places, and you can always take a taxi to Manase to spend the day there. It is an hour drive and costs about $70 tala each way.

Take a pocket knife for coconuts. Also, having a small torch or two will be handy. Take heaps of mosquito spray and sunscreen, but we found the mosquitos not too bad.

Take your own special foods, such as herbal tea, coffee, salt, sweetener. Take your own snacks as most grocery stores only sell rubbish food like chippies with MSG, and plain biscuits. Just be aware of customs at the airport and declare if unsure.

Room Tip: The air con rooms are the best. Ask for their new ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas2NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asau
25.2 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
32.6 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
32.7 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
18.0 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge

Property: Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Address: Main Island Road, Asau, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Asau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Asau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Va-i-Moana Seaside Hotel Asau
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge Samoa/Asau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing