We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
31
19
12
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
19
12
5
7
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 74 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2008

With any holiday its all what you make of it. This resort in Manase, is about 40mins drive from the 1.5hr ferry across from Apia/Upolu. (Stock up in Salelologa because there is nowhere else to). When we stayed at Vacations it was the off-peak season and we stayed in one of the beach front open-air fales which was $90Tala each a night, this included a delicious cooked breakfast of eggs,toast,jams etc,a piece of paw paw and tea or coffee. It also includes a dinner, which is a basic campfoody meal of roasted potato/boiled onion/carrot/etc and some meat in gravy.The stuff mum used to make which always seems to deliver a good sleep.
There is a lunch menu which you can purchase items from,strange cheeseburgers and such.
The male/female toilets and showers are shared, and its generally a peaceful,relaxing time. Heaps of trees providing much needed shade. The bar closes quite early, so we found a really cool little bar two resorts down (walk along the beach)at Janes Beach Fales, which was happy to stay open while it had customers, and had a fully stocked bar of pretty much everything.

About 10minutes by car down the road is the newish upmarket Le Lagoto resort, (opp the dive shop) which during the off-peak season we paid $10Tala to use their facilites,including an infinity pool. Snorkelling here was really good, and much safer. They would also come pick us up and drop us back home for free. The food here is excellent also with lobster meals costing $50Tala and really amazing cocktails $15Tala each. So it was pretty good to spend time between the two, and of course, the unforgettable Janes bar.

I think Vacations is exceptionally cheap, and really good if you just wanna be left alone to relax in the sand, its pretty safe and secure. Its also relatively close to other areas of interest on the island when you feel up to an adventure.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Pandy_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

we have stayed at vacations 3 times but last year when we went back we couldn't belive how they have changed this place, and not for the best. they have squashed in a few more fales and have put 3/4 walls on the fales and full doors, so the whole look and feel of the fales hs changed. so when looking/booking on the internet be aware that they haven't updated the photo's they are still displaying the original beautiful fales.

vactions used to be my favourite place, but we ended up canelling our booking after seeing the 'new fales' and the rude staff and stayed at the place next door; regina's'.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank sasa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2007

Our family of two adults and two children aged 13 and 10, and my sister and her husband ,stayed here for a week in October 07. The staff were friendly ,welcoming and polite. Breakfast and Dinner are included in the very reasonable price, the meals are huge and we all struggled to eat them, and we are big kiwi eaters.The breakfast was a cooked meal every morning. We also purchased lunch in thier open air resturant each day for a very reasonable price. The accomodation is open air fale stlye, which I was apprehensive of when booking, but our whole family settled in very quilckly and with the heat it was the only way to go. And in fact the matresses on the floor were very comfortable. The whole place is very secure at night with a security guard on site. The Toilet and shower facilities were very clean and tidy, be warned the showers are a pipe coming out of the wall delivering a cold fresh shower, but it is so hot this is totally appropriate. The owners were lovely people and great to talk to about the samoan way of life. The beach is lovely with the fales being right on the sand, the tide at this end of the beach does get quite shallow, but it is not far to where it is deeper. The snorkleing is safe for younger children, and the older ones and adults can swim out further to the reef for even more fish life. This is a great place for families just to chill out, and one of the most beautiful places on Savaii. Make sure you take a trip up the volcano and meet da craterman...it will be an experience I guarentee.. At a great family holiday at a budget price!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank savblancgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews