We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2010

My wife & i spent 13 days in Samoa,with 9 of them at Savaii Lagoon. In hindsight we should have stayed all 13 there.The staff were all very friendly & managers Christoph & Patricia were so welcoming. when we arrivedi had a stomach upset, but Patricia had all the medications & in no time i was tucking into the fabulous seafood meals cooked by christoph.
We dined at Savaii every night as well as having the odd afternoon snack on the famous Lemon cheesecake.My wife had a wonderful massage from Patricia. It was sad to leave, as we had made so many close friendships with the guests .
Every evening we would watch the fabulous sunsets over a few drinks with our new friends.
I enjoyed the snorkling & Kayaking on the lagoon
We went on several tours with other guests & enjoyed them,particularly the Tapas making.
Satisfied guests Ron & Joy

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bulliron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 562 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2010

Just spent 5 nights at Savaii Lagoon Resort and i must say it was brilliant. The location itself is amazing and the accomodation was just what we were looking for. Well set out beach houses right next to the lagoon. The more up market Le Legoto is further down the beach but lacks the relaxing feel of Savaii lagoon Resort. Also if you stay at Savaii Lagoon resort it you have the lions share of the beach. The hosts Christoph and Patricia are very nice people and nothing is a problem for them if you need something or some help. Alot of people like to eat down at Le Legoto Resort of a night but after trying both i would highly recommend eating at Savaii Lagoon Resort, the staff are very friendly and Christoph is something of a genius in the kitchen, i loved the food we ate there and the chocolate cake was the best ive ever had anywhere. If you are going to Savaii there is no compromise, the best place to stay is Savaii Lagoon Resort, Thanks to Christoph and Patricia we loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigandBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Our 5 night stay at Savaii Lagoon Resort was the highlight of our 14 day vacation in Samoa. We found the resort to be in one of the best locations in Savaii with an excellent sandy beach & good snorkelling. A nice balance between being professionally managed by Christoph & Patricia and a laid back atmosphere. It was exactly what we were hoping for - with an option to self cater or eat at Ti'otala (on site), Le Lagoto Resort or Pizzas & bikes both next door, and the added bonus of having safe drinking water on tap in our rooms.
We ate at Ti'otala, Chris' restaurant, one night. Having booked at breakfast not knowing what fresh delight would be on the menu for that evening. (Chris very proudly only cooks fresh local produce & seafood and has a limited blackboard menu each night, except Sunday) Only an hour later to find out that a couple of local fishermen had just brought in some fresh crayfish which Chris offered to us for dinner!. Prepared with Thai Green Curry and served with fresh coriander from Savaii's own Lata Plantation, and steamed rice. The aroma and flavour of the meal was superb and how fresh was that!
PS He also makes an excellent cheescake and good brewed coffee

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevSue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed at Savaii Lagoon Resort for 6 nights, travelling with our son who was 14mths.
Our rooms were everything we hoped they would be. Clean, spacious and a view of the ocean. What more could we hope for. The location was perfect. The beach in front of the reosrt, is white sand and the water is clear, clean and very lagoon like. Yes - just like the travel brochures! There is a large swimming hole beside the resort in front of Le Lagoto Resort that was awesome for swimming in, even at low tide. The snorkelling straight out from the resort was fantastic. Taking our own snorkel gear saved money on hireage and we could snorkel any time we liked (although you can hire it from across the road at the padi dive shop). The German couple who run the resort are very passionate about it and they run a small restaurant - which had lovely fresh food - vegetarian or seafood, although it was a bit on the pricey side and had a limited range of food selection. It was good to have the option to eat at Le Lagoto resort which was next door. It had a fairly extensive range of foods from $10tala entrees to about $28 tala mains. Also, there is take out pizza next door too, which was yummy and bikes to hire! It was great to have the kitchenette in the rooms - really just a microwave, fridge, toaster and jug, very tiny but still useful - as we took some of our own supplies and had our own lunches each day which saved some money. We spent most of our time hanging out, swimming, sunbathing in front of our bungalow and it was great to have our own umbrella area, where we could leave our belongings all day and know they were safe. This made things easy with our son as we wandered from room, to beach to water - all day! The resort was small, chilled out and we always felt safe there. The owners are an absolutely lovely NZ couple who are really passionate about keeping the resort, clean and well maintained. One of the best things about the resort was that it had safe drinking water - so we could drink from the tap. We saved some money and time, from not having to buy bottled water!
We travelled around the island one day and were pleased to discover that we really were staying at the best spot in Savaii! Ideal for children too, as the separate bedroom was a godsend. It's right next door to Le Lagoto Resort which has a cocktail bar and happy hour each night. For us, Savaii Lagoon was the perfect compromise - as we got very affordable accomodation, yet we could walk 30 seconds along the beach and hang out at the next door cocktail bar. We would recommend it for anyone wanting to an affordable, laid back holiday filled with swimming, snorkelling, sunbathing, peace, quiet but still a few of home comforts. For affordability, location plus, friendliness plus - its a winner! Thank you for sharing this piece of paradise with us. We definitely hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzeTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

What a fantastic place, and definitely the highlight of this trip. The only problem was we only stayed for two nights - next time I'll be sure to book well in advance and stay a little longer. Our 'building' was clean, spacious and very comfortable with the bonus of a 'semi outdoor' shower. Two steps from the front door and you're on a pristine white sand beach...a few more steps and you're in the lagoon where the snorkelling was superb. As with many beaches on Savaii and Upulo, you need to work around the tides to avoid damaging the coral (and yourself).
We dined both nights at the onsite restaurant and enjoyed the two best meals we had during our holiday - Chris uses fresh local ingredients to conjure up wonderful meals - the food here is streets ahead of every other restaurant we tried.
The Savaii Lagoon Resort is a little piece of paradise - we're already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We can't speak highly enough of the Savaii Lagoon Resort. It's located on a terrific beach. The rooms are comfortable, private and scrupulously clean (as something of a fanatic about hotel cleanliness, this is something that matters to me - but it's probably the cleanest place I've ever stayed). It's also a fairly small resort so it doesn't have the same corporate, generic, factory-like feel of so many beach resorts. The German managers, Patricia and Christoph work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. Christoph runs the small restaurant at the Resort and every day (except Sunday when the restaurant is closed) he lets the guests know what local produce is available and asks everyone for their preferences (he's a great cook--- and the food is fresh, locally grown and tasty). The breakfasts are good too. They employ local staff from the village and have built good relationships with them. They also provide clean, filtered water to the local village --- something that potentially saves lives. There's also an emphasis on environmental sustainability (e.g. guests are given information about how they can contribute to keeping the lagoon in good health; conserving water, and minimising waste). Overall, it would be difficult to find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank falstaff1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We recently took our two children, (18 months and 12 weeks), to Savaii Lagoon Resort in Samoa and can't recommend it enough as the perfect family holiday spot. It is such a safe lagoon and the water is beautifully warm, our 18 month old spent the best part of 6 hours a day in the water and palying on the beach. The bungalows were exactly as they are represented on the website, and being self contained made family dinners easy.

We had been sick of visiting places that showed crystal clear waters on the brochure, only to find that not the case when we arrived. Savaii Lagoon is even better than it looks in the photos with crystal clear water and white sand. There was no need for a mask and snorkle to see the fish as the water is just so clear.

The bungalows really are beach front which we found great for sneaking in for a swim when the kids had a day sleep as the monitor was well in range.

It was such a friendly place with both the locals and staff being extremely helpful and accomodating. Most other guests who were there had stayed at Savaii Lagoon Resort at another time and loved it so much they returned with other family members. We certainly will be one of those repeat guests!

This really is the ideal spot for families and ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKS1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
232 reviews
21 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
231 reviews
0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fagamalo
416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i WS2381, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: $118 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing