We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We booked for four nights thinking we might run out of things to do but looking back I could have easily stayed twice as long. The environment at the resort is pleasant and relaxing. One slows down to the pace that family life should be and life becomes simple - swimming, snorkeling, walking, reading, laughing, eating.
Savaii takes only four hours to drive around and there are many activities around the island. Hiring a car is a good option. The coast roads on Savaii are narrow but are sealed with little traffic and as long as you drive to the slow speed limits (e.g. 25mph) it's very safe. Signposting is not good and sometimes it is hard to find places. Next time I think I'll take a guided tour to the places I could not find.
We found the managers Christoph and Patricia friendly and helpful.
December is a hot time of year in Samoa but as long as you can swim and have some air flow air for sleeping at night then it does not take long to acclimatize. No need for air con, the ceiling fans are fine. The first few nights I had some of the best sleeps I've had for a long time, with the faint roar of the Pacific's waves on the outer reef.
The tropical breakfasts were very nice, just the right amount with a range of extras e.g. eggs, etc available if you need them. Christoph cooks some tasty dishes and I'm sad we didn't stay longer to try more of them - there's always next time.
The rooms were cleaned daily fairly and were hygienic but could do with a periodic deep clean as there is a grime and dust buildup in some places e.g. doors and window sills, which is not a good look.
Cats howling all night during the last two nights were annoying. There appeared to be at least 3 adult cats and a number of half grown kittens. Christoph reckoned only one cat belonged to them but it must be a concern to the resorts and the rich local wildlife, if they are allowed to breed.
Considering the overall pleasantness of stay I think it is good value and I'd like to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleni_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Savaii Lagoon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 543 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2009

We've just had 8 nights at this resort and found it absolute heaven. The hosts Christophe and Patricia were just the most wonderful couple that looked after us superbly, nothing was too much trouble. We had to leave at 4.30am to get the 6.00am ferry and both of these wonderful people woke us up that morning and waited for the taxi to arrive with true dedication. Christophe was the most innovative amazing cook which was mainly fish done in so many different ways and that suited us down to the ground! We particularly liked his really yummy chocolate cake and cheesecake and for lunch each day we had such fresh salads with lettuce, tomatoes,mint and olives and feta cheese. We met some interesting people whilst there and dinner time was always lively with much discussion about travel. We loved being able to just walk out onto the beach and swim or snorkel. The only drawback is that you have to wait for high tides before snorkelling as it is a bit shallow especially with an abundance of staghorns to swim over. We loved sitting on the beach every evening watching the sunset and enjoying a beer with our feet lapping at the water's edge. We took the bus to Manase a couple of times and also walked the 30 minute distance most days to use the internet and buy some supplies. We only had one meal at the fancy Le Lagoto Resort next door. The Le Lagoto looked very nice to have a cocktail at night but they closed down for a week over the Xmas period which was disappointing as we wanted to try their marinated fish and fish curry. However, next time - we do plan on going again sometime. This is a holiday of true relaxation - we kept pinching ourselves to find this gem of a place! All the best of luck and thankyou so much Christophe and Patricia in your new venture. Hilary & Butch

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2travellers09062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

When my parents visited I wanted to book them into a really nice place where they could have a little bit of 'western' comfort in between staying at my house and in fales.

And 'western' it is. When we arrived we were greeted with a scowl - not your usual warm Samoan smile (The reason I'm writing this review is that I just saw the scowl again at the supermarket. It sent a shiver down my spine, and I thought this place has really left an impression on me!)

The rooms are clean, the shower's hot and the security is good. If you want a little milk for your coffee, you'll have to pay extra on top of the already steep rate.

If you need to escape Samoa for a few days, then perhaps this is the place for you. If you need to see a friendly face while you're Savai'i Lagoon I recommend walking across to the restaurant at Lagoto where the staff are great or get a pizza from Seki'a Pizza next door (the best pizza in Samoa!).

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malie_387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2009

Savaii Lagoon resort provides complimentary creamer sachets in the bungalows for a daily supply of tea and coffee. There was no need to purchase this milk for tea and coffee. The extra milk was understood by our managers to be for cooking purposes. Each bungalow has self contained cooking facilities in addition to an on site restaurant. This incident obviously was a misunderstanding.

Unfortunately the guest drove into the resort in a manner which was not as considerate as it could have been, (perhaps because of driving a strange vehicle) thereby causing concern on the part of our managers resulting in this initial unfriendly look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

My husband and I and our 10 month old infant son have recently travelled to Samoa and enjoyed a wonderful holiday, staying for 10 nights at Savaii lagoon resort. We made this our base and explored the island from here. We were so impressed with our stay here, that I am attaching a copy of the letter we sent to the owners. This destination is perfect if you are travelling with children and they accomodated our needs exceptionally well.
Dear Margaret
Patrick and I have now returned from our wonderful holiday in Samoa. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at Savaii Lagoon and wanted to write to you to let you know how impressed we are at the management of your resort.
Our wonderful hosts, Christoph and Patricia, were professional, open hearted, never too busy to share with us their extensive knowledge of "everything samoan" and extremely friendly, making us feel valued and very much at home.
They are wonderful people and they made our holiday very special and memorable for us in every way.
The food that Christoph served, was completely first class and we know that to try and match the quality and taste hear locally to us, back in Australia, would be impossible. We feel that our holiday was given a definite luxourious quality, by the food we ate at the resort and all the finer details that Christoph and Patricia bring to their management of savaii lagoon.
We will be highly recommending a stay here to everyone we meet who is travelling to samoa and we will endeavour to return for another holiday.
Thankyou to a wonderful team, from a family who has been more than happy with the service and stay at Savaii lagoon

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missyNewSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Visited Samoa at various times but only 2nd time on savaii.. Wife samoan born. Resort tops. German managers Christoph and Patricia very friedly and helpful. Christoph very good cook mainly fresh fish served in his restauant Ti' otala. Try Masimasi and his cheesecake and his Guglehupf! Food so good that guests from the resort next door dine there. Breakafast fresh fruit etc served as always by bretty smiling young ladies. Staff all very friendly and helpful. We rented the Garden Bungalow. Lovely could quite easy live in it. Full kitchen , bretty flowers decorating the bed, and a sexy outdoor shower/wc. TV coud only get TV 1 but who needs it! Less than 10 secs to the white sandy beach. Lots of shady places to hide from the sun. Snorkeling great. Plentyful beautiful marinelife nibbling on your legs. Sunset is something else! Take plenty of sunblock! Easy to get around by taxi or hire a bikef rom next door. Andy next door also makes the best pizza (Pizza Hut watch out). If you are after a drink pushbike to Racis Beachbar a swiss owns it, about 30mins walking or 5 mins taxi. Experience tought us to let the resort order the taxi! Internet is only about the same distance away but note its only dialup. Suggest to take your own nibbles chips etc, hard or not able to get them. No newspapers and if you want to cook your own meals bring your own food from Apia or oerseas. All in all the best holiday for a very long time. Another tip, Christoph has a tip box for all the staff on the counter of his restaurant kitchen. Will be back! Hope and Eric

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwiswissAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in the superior waterfront bungalow (if you can afford to I would only book this one as it's really so much better) and we felt like we were in heaven. It was incredibly hot and air conditioning would have been a bonus, but to be literally several footsteps away from the most delicious beach and lagoon was magical. The location is truly superb and I thought the snorkelling was really good - you just had to time it right with tides etc.

The new managers are definitely quirky and putting their own spin on the place. They were very helpful and friendly, and the owner cook is doing a good job in general with the meals. The breakfasts are great, dinner a little overpriced but very fresh and tasty. The pizza place next door is well priced and delicious too. And as many have said the cocktails at the Le Lagoto next door are a nice treat. And the ice-creams from the shop across the road were a welcome relief on many an afternoon , oh and morning and evening!!!

The only negative was that the German managers discouraged too much interaction with their local staff by the guests. It wasn't overt but was definitely obvious. We felt uncomfortable on several occasions when we were chatting to staff and the owners came by and subtly pushed the staff away and took over the conversation.

But overall it is definitely worth staying and I hope that as the new managers make more of an impact they don't lose the intimate magic of the place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We also had a lovely time at the Savaii Lagoon. The beach was lovely and the snorkeling pretty good, (though not fantastic). The superior bungalows were spacious and clean with great bathrooms. But, most of all, the friendly, slightly eccentric, German hosts and the other interesting people we met over meals made this the highlight of our trip. We felt right at home and felt a sad and genuine affection saying good bye to our hosts, after only three days. The manager was also a great cook and there was also a good pizza place one side and internet access and more good food at Le Lagoto on the other (no need to go to Manase for internet either) .

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llinderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
229 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
405 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: $124 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing