We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We´ve stayed on our honeymoon trip at Savaii Lagoon and we loved every single day. The german couple Patricia & Christoph, who are running this place, are "super dooper". The people working at the resort are also very kind - geeting breakfast served to the room every morning ... what can you say!
We stayed at the premium hut right in front of the beach. Although there is no air-con, who would need one in paradise, the view reimburses for everything.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RueSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 545 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

It was great! the units are on the lovely white sandy beach front with all tide warm swimming in a sheltered lagoon, with a good population of inquisative colourful tropical fish, (no sharks). Excellent clarity for diving further out on sailing ship wreck with Savaii Dive shop across the road.

The units were pleasingly simple and clean, of concrete block construction with good thermal mass properties, tiled floors and natural through ventilation via loover windows and moskito screens suplimented with a roof fan and high pitched ceiling. Electric Air-conditioning was purposely excluded from the design to enhance natural clean living.

One feature of the Superior units or Honeymoon suites is a semi outside bathroom courtyard, with a roof over half the area and the other half open to the sky, protected by moskito netting. These bathroom courtyards contain a garden and are quite private but allow you to shower vertually outside in the natural sunlight and ventilation. The showers have good pressure and hot water on tap if required which is quite a luxuary in remote locations.

The beds are comfortable, linen changed regularly and the samoan maids take a pride in decorating them with flowers!

The staff are friendly, and a tropical breakfast is provided each morning, consisting of Pawpaw, tropical fruit, half a loaf of (very yummy) local bread for toast, NZ butter jams, honey, and milk for tea or coffee.

The units have a small kitchen with fridge, microwave and electric frypan and toaster so you can cook your own meals if you want to. However there is a place that makes pitzas next door, a shop across the road which sells fish and chips or chicken and chips, and an adjoining Resort with a high quality resraunt where you are welcome to go for a meal. They put on a Samoan feast once a week with a roast pig and island dancing which is worth going to. They also sell Pena-caladas by the jug (very nice!!).

The Savaii Lagoon Managers are very obliging, and if requested will order fresh fruit and vegetables and fish for you from the local vendors. The also stock coke cola and the local beer for guests but you need to ask.

While we were there, Bruce McCallum the brains behind the resort, from New Zealand was there busy building a kitchen and small restraunt for the Managers to run for the benefit of guests. So there will be more quiseine options in the future.

The water supplied to the kitchens and handbasins is filted and treated with ultraviolet light and is good quality pleasant to drink. When Bruce first set up the complex the local villagers kept coming in asking if they could please fill containers for drinking water. Bruce asked the village ladies how they found the water and they all said it was very good, as their children did not get sick anymore. So Bruce put a treated water supply tap out at the gate so they could all come and help themselves to treated drinking water any time they liked at no cost! I know he won a few browny points for that!

The locals are very friendly good people, very much influenced by the Christian teachings of the early missionaries and the strong family ties within their local village and one feels very safe and welcome.

Insect life was pretty mild. I did not see any cockroaches or big centerpeeds or fire ants that I remembered from my youth at Apia. Moskitos do not seem able to get in the units. Moskitos were of the small non-buzzy variety, few in number but would bite your legs if you sat out at night without repellant. Bites were minor, no Maleria or other narsties. There are local grass snakes, they are not poisonous and I did not see any.

In the water, the worst you were likely to get was a coral cut. From my youth at Apia, Stone fish which bury themselves in the sand and have very poisonous spines if you tread on them did not appear to be about. However while it is prudent to wear sand shoes when swimming their were no reports of any local incidents. The local dive shop operator in over 3 years of diving about 5 time a week has only ever seen one shark and that was mile from Savaii Lagoon. So overall swimming is pretty safe.

Would we go back again? Yes tomorrow! It was very relaxing and refreshing I returned to work feeling like a new person.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Admiral-Ashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from our six night stay at Savaii Lagoon Resort. We were lucky enough to be allocated one of the two brand new superior beach front fales. Our Fale was beautifully presented right down to the fresh flowers and leaf arrangements which greeted us on our arrival. The Managers (Patricia and Chris) and Assistant Manager William went out of their way to make us feel welcome and took care of all forward transfers and advised us on ferry times etc with precision which gave us great confidence in their advice. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they were always available and without being intrusive always seemed to have five minutes to spend with us to make sure our day had been successful and ask about our plans for the day ahead. The daily breakfasts which were incorporated in our tarrif were beautifully presented, the fruit fresh and the bread plentiful (enough for lunches most days!). Having Seika Pizza just outside the main entrance to the resort was a boom and the pizzas devine. La Logta restaurant just a walk along the beach was great and many enjoyable evening meals were partaken there. The beach and water in the lagoon was clear and clean and the tropical fish although small, were colourful and plentiful. The coral was some of the best we have seen anywhere in the Pacific. The sunsets were fabulous - altogether a perfect stay in a 'little piece of paradise'.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My partner and I stayed with our two children at this lovely beach. The accomodation is very clean and the tropical breakfast each day was simple but ample. Chris and Patricia, the managers were extremely obliging and generous with their time. They were a wealth of information and gave an extra insight into the local ecology and culture.

We sat in the garden looking for bats over the evening listening to the locals singing and praying in the balmy air. We saw bats too in the distance.

The diving was fab. I managed to get in 12 with Dive Savaii, conveniently located across the road. Fabien and Flavia are professional and friendly divemasters. There is the coral enrusted wreck of the Juno only 12 meters from the surface. I saw turtles almost every dive. On one day dolphins rode the bow wave. We went on a snorkelling tour to see the most amazing walls of coral and fish.

Pina Coladas at the neighbouring hotel restaurant (Le Legato) became very addictive. Beware! The pool at this neighbouring hotel was great too but you need to eat and/or pay for the dip- fair enough.

To be fair the beach cottages are close together-however if you keep things to a respectful level it shouldn't be a problem. The proximity to the beach is excellent.


I can't speak highly enough of the friendly staff who anticipated our needs before we asked. I would stay again and recommend others to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iuv2dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Savaii Lagoon Resort is on a very nice beach, snorkeling is possible during high tide and the coral is quite good just off shore. Staff and owners were very friendly.
Spacious bungalows with comfortable beds and with everything you need including fridge and TV.
We traveled by car for 12 days around both Samoan islands, visiting and sleeping in different places and found this place one of the best.
Recommend the food and Pina Colada from the next door resort.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny_and_Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed at Savaii Lagoon Resort in late May 2008 (yes, awhile ago, but I'm researching our next S Pac trip which prompted me to write this review!). Our stay was 3 nights, the bungalow was fine. Very stark -- bright white interior, with harsh flourescent lighting -- but quite OK considering the heat. Bedside lamps with warm flouro bulbs would be a massive boost to comfort, though.

The bungalows are truly beachfront and the beach is meticulously groomed every morning. The resort caters to simple needs; breakfast is fruit and some bread and toppings. The kitchenette was handy although our self-catered meals during our time on Savaii were basic of necessity. Le Lagoto's restaurant/bar next door was a real god send.

Our stay was impacted by a large and fairly noisy family group. Not that they were doing anything inappropriate, but the jaw-by-cheek proximity of the bungalows and necessity to keep windows open meant we were subject to every detail of their mealtime discussions and evening activities. Something to keep in mind if you are seeking a quiet retreat.

We loved walking around the bay in the evening; the resort in in the midst of a village and a quiet stroll provides a real lesson in Samoan daily life. Next time on Savaii we would probably bypass Savaii Lagoon and check out Stevenson on Manase's beach villas, on the opposite side of the bay. From the vantage of kayaks (rented from nearby) they looked great -- very Samoan and 'beachy'.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikauTrampr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

What a fantastic place to stay. We were two groups from a wedding party. We stayed in rooms next to each other, which shared a deck. It was great!

The wedding was a Le Lagoto, which is right next door. This place has a bar and restaurant that you can use. It is literally over the fence! Most of the wedding party stayed there, but they all wished that they had stayed at Savaii Lagoon Resort. It was half the price, and our rooms were right on the water.

Andy, the Manager, is lovely. He is extremely helpful and makes you fell very welcome. The ladies that work there are also very friendly, and will always stop to chat. The staff are what makes this place so great.

Our room had a microwave and electric frypan. This was all we needed to cook our breakfasts and luch. We saved a lot of money this way, and had fun buying local ingrediants for meals. The fresh bread and fruit provided each morning were lovely.

I recommend organising a Permit before you go to Savaii, to bring meat with you. We would've had much nicer breakfasts with bacon! ha ha ha... but I left it too late to organise a Permit.

The drive from the Ferry is approx 40min - 1hr, so be prepared to pay $60 TALA for a taxi. HINT: It is well worth getting an airconditioned taxi!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiChrissie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
231 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
227 reviews
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
407 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: $123 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing