We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good beachfront stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Nikau
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A good beachfront stay”
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed at Savaii Lagoon Resort in late May 2008 (yes, awhile ago, but I'm researching our next S Pac trip which prompted me to write this review!). Our stay was 3 nights, the bungalow was fine. Very stark -- bright white interior, with harsh flourescent lighting -- but quite OK considering the heat. Bedside lamps with warm flouro bulbs would be a massive boost to comfort, though.

The bungalows are truly beachfront and the beach is meticulously groomed every morning. The resort caters to simple needs; breakfast is fruit and some bread and toppings. The kitchenette was handy although our self-catered meals during our time on Savaii were basic of necessity. Le Lagoto's restaurant/bar next door was a real god send.

Our stay was impacted by a large and fairly noisy family group. Not that they were doing anything inappropriate, but the jaw-by-cheek proximity of the bungalows and necessity to keep windows open meant we were subject to every detail of their mealtime discussions and evening activities. Something to keep in mind if you are seeking a quiet retreat.

We loved walking around the bay in the evening; the resort in in the midst of a village and a quiet stroll provides a real lesson in Samoan daily life. Next time on Savaii we would probably bypass Savaii Lagoon and check out Stevenson on Manase's beach villas, on the opposite side of the bay. From the vantage of kayaks (rented from nearby) they looked great -- very Samoan and 'beachy'.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikauTrampr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    69
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
149
276
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westie, Akl, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2009

What a fantastic place to stay. We were two groups from a wedding party. We stayed in rooms next to each other, which shared a deck. It was great!

The wedding was a Le Lagoto, which is right next door. This place has a bar and restaurant that you can use. It is literally over the fence! Most of the wedding party stayed there, but they all wished that they had stayed at Savaii Lagoon Resort. It was half the price, and our rooms were right on the water.

Andy, the Manager, is lovely. He is extremely helpful and makes you fell very welcome. The ladies that work there are also very friendly, and will always stop to chat. The staff are what makes this place so great.

Our room had a microwave and electric frypan. This was all we needed to cook our breakfasts and luch. We saved a lot of money this way, and had fun buying local ingrediants for meals. The fresh bread and fruit provided each morning were lovely.

I recommend organising a Permit before you go to Savaii, to bring meat with you. We would've had much nicer breakfasts with bacon! ha ha ha... but I left it too late to organise a Permit.

The drive from the Ferry is approx 40min - 1hr, so be prepared to pay $60 TALA for a taxi. HINT: It is well worth getting an airconditioned taxi!

  • Liked — The friendly staff, and the beach being right on the doorstep.
  • Disliked — No airconditioning.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiChrissie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Having yet to experience Samoa and 'Island life' Savaii Lagoon resort was the perfect place to start and spend our holiday. The location was prime and the views were spectacular.

The locals were very warm and friendly, we were lucky enough to be invited to some village events. Although we were a wee way from the main wharf, our location was very close to some great facilities such as swimming with the turtles and scuba diving - which is a must! Also on offer were some local tours, which were well worth doing as some of the attractions wouldn’t have been easy to find without some local knowledge.

After seeing the sights early on, the remainder of our trip was spent lazing around the resort. It’s an easy stroll out of your fale and straight onto the beach front for days filled with activity of snorkelling, swimming, kayaking, volleyball or petanque (kindly provided by the resort). Otherwise we were relaxing in the shade provided by the generous umbrellas and the great beach chairs (some true kiwi ingenuity)

The days stretch on forever and Savaii Lagoon resort and their staff help to make every minute of your stay count, I would thoroughly recommend anyone experience this slice of paradise, as a group of nine we were all more than catered for and came away with fond memories

  • Liked — The location and views
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Months have passed since our visit and we still think back to Savaii Lagoon Resort as a paradise and one of the best beach spots we have found. We stayed for a week ,travelled around the rest of Samoa, and then returned for another three days.
The accommodation is just what you need for a beach holiday, there is a basic kitchen for some prepare your own meals (who wants to pay for a restaurant meal for EVERY meal they eat on holiday). Breakfast is included and there is a good restaurant in the neighbouring resort if you want to "eat out".

The staff were fantastic and very helpful and kind when one of our little girls got sick.

We also did some diving with Fabian and Flavia (Dive Savaii) just across the road. A very good operation and some good dives. Warm water - I am a softy and I did it without a wetsuit!

We don't "do" or enjoy the big resorts (pretty much the same whatever country you are in). At Savaii Lagoon you get the perfect beach with great snorkelling (saw a turtle on my last swim), The staff are genuinely friendly and know you and your kids by name and the accommodation is in a perfect location with the mod cons you need without being contrived and touristy.

We have travelled a lot and can appreciate Savaii Lagoon for the undiscovered paradise that it is. I hope it does not change because we will definitely return one day.

  • Liked — Perfect beach location
  • Disliked — What is there not to like?
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bananacorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2008

We stayed at Savaii Lagoon in November and can say that this was the highlight of our trip to Samoa. The setting is perfect picture postcard, right on a beautiful sandy beach and good for swimming and snorkeling. We enjoyed the self contained facilities, they were complete luxury after staying in a more traditional fale in Upolu.

The breakfasts are more than we can eat.
There were two more bungalows being built but the owners who were there were very considerate towards guests and it did not detract from our holiday. The staff are very friendly and always ready to chat, probably to practice their English.
We used the kayaks and dinghies provided when we had enough of snorkeling and there is even a library in the office. I had forgotten to take a book so this was a bonus.
Our son loved the swimming with the turtles so we went there a couple of times. They bring out pawpaw to feed the turtles. Someone told us that pawpaw is not always provided, so I suggest that you ask for some. It is included in the price.
Shop across the road provides basics but it was adequate. We took a lot of snack food with us and also dried vegetables although locals came around selling tomatoes, bok choy and beans for just a few tala. The restaurant and bar next door was handy when we did not want to cook for ourselves.

  • Liked — Location right on the beach
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiSunlover8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

The staff was friendly and helpful and try very hard to please. But there was lots and lots of noise around, as it's located right next to a village. I can understand how this makes it more exotic, but for an ultimate Samoan village experience we could have just gone or driven by for 5 mins.

There was lots of construction work going on and they are building new bungalows right now, which meant the sea view in front of our bungalow was blocked by the new construction and there were around 10 construction workers each day in front of our window making lots of noise. We had to close the windows as there was no privacy at all.
The main disadvantage is lots of noise from the people living in the village and the ongoing construction.

We probably wouldn't come back again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — In the middle of a construction zone with no end in sight
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank golofon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2009
We strive to ensure that our guests are comfortable at all times and during our building in the quiet season we always conferred with our guests as to where they would be to ensure that we did not detract from their holiday in any way. This review was most surprising as there was no complaint from these guests. Our beach is absolutely beautiful and it is surprising that they would wish to be in their bungalows during the day. The only noise was laughter as a floor was being concreted. if there was a problem, the fair manner to have it addressed would have been to speak to us but this did not happen, which is extremely disappointing. Our guests have been most happy and all have taken a great interest in anything going on as will be seen in the other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewZealand
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We stayed here in July of this year for 8 nights with our 2 kids, 2 and 7. SLR is on a lovely stretch of beach, with easy swimming for the kids and good for a snorkel just off shore. Dinning can be done at the resort just next door or SLR has a BBQ area as well as cooking facilities in your fale. The fales are well appointed with a separate bedroom and lounge area, they are kept clean and tidy by the friendly staff. This is a great place to stay and relax. The friendly managers will help you organise tours etc. We really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fijitime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
219 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
386 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Property: Savaii Lagoon Resort
Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing