We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Samoa with children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Samoa with children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

One of the things that attracted me the most about staying at Savaii Lagoon Resort is the fact that you can drink the tap water and with 3 children this is a major plus. The resort itself is on a wonderful lagoon and at high tide the swimming and snorkelling is fantastic. At low tide its not so great right in front but there is a small pool been dug into the sand outside Savaii Lagoon and in front of Le Lagoto right next door there is a really large pool dug into the lagoon which means you can swim in any tide. For children the snorkelling is fantastic, you don't have to go very deep at all to see a lot of fish. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, really lovely every time we ate there, and breakfasts while slightly limited were nice - the smoothies were a great addition. Sarah and Wayne were fab. Really helpful. friendly and knowledgeable. All the other staff were lovely too. We thought the room was great, nice size considering there are 5 of us and beds comfortable. We did not really take advantage of the cooking facilities but we spoke to people that did and its great to have that option. Small things like beach towels being available and a good selection of books and mags help make your stay enjoyable as well. Because its small you do tend to get to know the other guests which is great too. It would be really nice to see some slightly healthier options on the kids menu.... it was either something and chips or pasta and when you are there for 5 days - you tend to either have lunch, dinner or both there, thats quite a lot of chips!!!! Oh and we are not fans of the Roosters, I spoke to some people who were not bothered by them, but they did wake us up most days. If you are a light sleeper pack earplugs!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyGrant32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello Kirstygrant32,
Thank you for posting your review. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the stay at Savaii Lagoon and that you thought all the staff were friendly and helpful.
To cater for children, we also offer child size portions of the main menu at a corresponding price, and I apologise if this was not explained to you by the restaurant staff. We will address that issue with them. As for the rooster, some like him and some do not. Most guests say he should stay. However, as the rooster belongs to a family in the village, there is unfortunately nothing we can do to curb his exuberance. It is the one thing which is out of our control. We are sorry that you found him to be troublesome. Should that be the case, regretfully, ear plugs would be the only answer. Best wishes from the Savaii Lagoon Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    64
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
142
266
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We walked into this hotel without a booking and the staff was really helpful and friendly to accommodate us. Very large room with all the facilities for self-catering. The beach is really nice. Breakfast was very good (ask for the fruit smoothy!).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here, and here's why...

- Lovely hosts who would do anything to help.
- Local staff are all friendly and helpful.
- Rooms are HUGE
- Rooms were cool, no aircon but lots of louvre windows with permanent netting and a fan and the rooms were fine.
- Rooms are self-catering with microwave, fridge, toaster, electric fry pan etc if you want to do any self-catering and constant supply of cold water (without having to buy environmentally unfriendly bottled water).
- Food was fantastic - menu changes daily depending on local produce available.
- Tap water is drinkable! Really, it is!
- Breakfast (included) is cereals, toast, fresh fruit and delicious smoothie.
- Beach was clean and sand was soft.
- Water was warm, great snorkelling (note: very tidal and you can't really swim/snorkel around mid/low tide but there is a pool in front of next door's Le Lagota that you can cool off in).
- close to activities (run the Glass Bottom Boat, Dive Savai'i for diving and snorkelling across the road, car hire next door at Le Lagota, provides friendly local tour guide, pizzeria across the road, local shop/dairy across the road)
- wifi in the bar/restaurant
- everything clean - the rooms, the toilets, the bar, the restaurant etc.
- fantastic Fiafia night, very authentic and really high quality (compared with another I saw at another resort anyway).
- nice variety of guests ... quite a few families but also some couples too. Wasn't a party-party atmosphere but not boring either!

Really like the ethos of the resort too - they work with the village.
- They only employ local people
- They have implemented a water filtration system not just for the resort but for the whole village so that you can safely drink from the tap.
- They negotiated the first marine reserve of it's kind in front of the resort which benefits the tourists (better snorkelling) but also the village (better fishing as breeders have reserve to breed in plus more tourism).

Highly recommend this resort as the best to stay on when visiting Savai'i.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach are lovely but if the cost worries you, the garden bungalows are still very, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwilassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We will go back. It was relaxing, reasonably priced, very pleasant people, helpful staff, excellent tour guide, very clean rooms, good food, beautiful relaxing snorkelling right at the shore - what more could you want!

Room Tip: we had the beachfront Fale which we really loved. I would try and get this one again
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nameerfud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello Nameerfud,

The team at Savaii Lagoon resort thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday. Should you wish to holiday with us again, please advise us that you are a returning guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is our second visit and like many others who have visited, it won't be our last.
We love the intimacy and friendliness of this resort.
It's hard not to relax here and enjoy the delicious fresh seafood and mixture of traditional and western food.
Nothing is too much trouble for Sarah and Wayne and Margaret and Bruce and all the wonderful staff who are friendly and always remember your face.
I would love to keep this place to myself too as it is nothing short of 'Heaven on Earth'

Room Tip: All rooms are Western style with fans. Either Beachfront or Seaview would be my pick but all rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JocelynMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello JocelynMcG,
Thank you for your review. We feel privileged that not only did you choose Savaii Lagoon for your wedding, but also that you wished to celebrate your first wedding anniversary with us. Warmest wishes to you both and we look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Have you ever stayed somewhere that you loved so much that you are torn between wanting to rave about it to everyone and hoping no one will ask you where you stayed so you can keep it all to your self? Well that's how I'm feeling right now in writing this!
I had the pleasure of a 6 night stay at Savai'i Lagoon Resort recently with a friend and we just loved it. Not many places are able to accommodate friends travelling together but this place managed it easily with the separate bedroom bungalow.
If you are looking for a fancy 5 star experience then this isn't the place for you. But, if you are looking for a beautiful location with friendly, relaxed staff who serve great fresh food, make fabulous cocktails and are genuinely interested in making sure you get to learn about their way of life and enjoy your holiday then I can't recommend this resort highly enough. Add in the great snorkelling and it's easy to see why they get so much repeat business.
The managers go to great effort to ensure that they hire local people and value add to the local villages (which the resort feels a part of) for example with the water tank they built while we were there to ensure the village has ongoing access to a clean water supply... It's that sort of place and that made it the perfect place for me! Yes the village rooster might wake you - but really thats just part of the fun!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanniBirchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello DanniBurchall,
Thank you for posting this review. We are very happy that we were able to provide quality time for you and your friend. You were very special guests and we thank you for your patience and understanding, which enabled us to complete the water tank near your bungalow to allow us to move forward with our project of ensuring the continuing supply of fresh clean water, not only for guests but also for Fagamalo Village. We look forward to your return. Warmest regards to you both and once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

At the beginning of June we left the New Zealand winter for a week at Savaii Lagoon Resort, exactly 2 years since we were there last.

The warmth of the Samoan weather and ocean were matched by the welcome of the delightful owners Margaret and Bruce. Margaret is the consummate host, always ensuring the happiness and comfort of her guests. Bruce is irrepressible in his enthusiasm to build and improve the resort. We are looking forward to the opening of 'Dave's Place', the floating bar Bruce will build in front of the restaurant.

The accommodation is simple but comfortable and very clean. The open roofed showers are a delight.

The food is also simple, (the dinner menu changes daily), and utilises fresh ingredients from the surrounding villages and of course the ocean. In terms of quality the food is good and tasty.

One of the highlights of our week at the resort was the Fiafia night put on by the resort’s own staff. Their pride in their culture was very evident and authentic.

Savaii Lagoon Resort is the ideal place to unwind and forget the pressures of home. A must do is to hire snorkel gear to explore the myriad of tropical fish in the coral reef directly in front of the resort. The gear can be hired from the dive shop, run by a German couple, just across the road from the resort. The shop also runs snorkel and scuba tours for the more adventurous.

The resort also has a couple of kayaks for use, although they are looking a bit worn. However given the heat, our preference was to spend more time in the water rather than on it.

Sipping a pre dinner Tropicana cocktail, watching as the sun sank slowly behind the horizon, became a daily ritual for us, and is but one of the great memories we will take from this place.

We are definitely going back.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to the beach so having right on the beach is not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello David S,
Thank you once again for an excellent review. It was good to see you both. It was a coincidence that we were at the resort for your second visit also. We are happy that you and your wife enjoyed Savaii Lagoon, and to know that we ensured your enjoyment, is pleasing. We will be looking at bringing in more kayaks soon, so thank you for bringing that to our attention. . On your next return do ensure that you tell our reservations that you are a returning guest. We always like to offer a special to say thank you. Dave's floating bar may be built by then! Thank you from all the Savaii Lagoon team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Property: Savaii Lagoon Resort
Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing